We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional and safe snorkeling experience”

John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$198.99*
and up
2-Day Miami South Beach Adventure from Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A beautiful state park that features land and undersea adventures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hallandale Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
210 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very professional and safe snorkeling experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We brought four adults and two preteens down to the park for snorkeling. It was very well organized, reasonably prices, and very professional and safe. The conditions for this trip were great, which hasn't been every experience at the Park, but this visit was superb. Check out the weather for any dive or snorkel trip before going out on any boat going out of Key Largo! It can be great, or it can be disappointing. But when it's good, it's very good!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,882
    1,414
    542
    171
    84
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Glass bottom too hot”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The park is nice but the center was closed. We went for the Glass Bottom Boat. It became very hot and I didn't, but many of the passengers got sea sick. It was rough, but the temperature at the reef on the boat became unbearable. We did see beautiful fish and a dolphin played with our boat for a while. We also saw a couple of sea turtles.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank StLMOWaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Snorkel Trip”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I went out on the long afternoon snorkel trip. There was a total of 12 people on board including ourselves. The weather was slightly overcast, which was actually welcomed as it keep the heat down. The Captian took us to 3 different reefs, and at 2 of these reefs we were the only boat there. The third reef was crowded and not as nice, although it was the location with the statue "Christ of the Abyss". I think we paid about $45 each with the snorkel equipment, how can you beat that! This trip comes highly recommended from us. We got to see lots of sea life including a sea turtle and a moray eel. Great time and the staff was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Big A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable Fun for family”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We enjoyed visiting this State park. There's something for everyone. We rented a boat and enjoyed the experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajord
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to snorkel”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is a really nice place to snorkel. Lots of fish and reefs to look at. The water's are shallow and clear, which is great for snorkeling.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing