We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$198.99*
and up
2-Day Miami South Beach Adventure from Orlando
More Info
$939.99*
and up
Independent 3-Day Harley-Davidson Tour from Miami
Ranked #4 of 72 things to do in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A beautiful state park that features land and undersea adventures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Arden, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This and Looe Key are hands-down the best snorkeling in the Keys! The cool thing about Pennecamp is that there is no need to charter a boat. There is a fee to enter the State park, as with any State park, but it is worth it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Dutchldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,926
    1,438
    551
    174
    86
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I went camping here for 5 Days. The camp site was perfect. The bathrooms and showers were clean. And they had a great selection of things to do. But only had time to do one of the things they had to offer. We went there for a purpose. Scuba Diving!!! And it was Amazing!!! The crew was great you can tell they care about you. Which to me is five stars regardless of what we saw. The Captin, Dan, was a ball and was very nice and extremely helpful. The first mates Mike (17 )and Nick where great. Truly the nicest most helpful they could possible be.( we dove multiple times) and the trainer Betsy was also great. We dove with her twice she was very nice and informative. So now that you feel what the place and people were like..... The diving was extraordinary We saw so many things. Many shark's, turtles, squads,and the reefs were beautiful. I truly recommend this place to all people looking for a great vacation. We didn't get to do it our self's but we talked to others that stay by our campsite. Which said that the trails and cannoning were very enjoyable. They also had snorkelling and they had this huge glass bottom boat just to name a few . I check the prices they are very reasonable. So we will be back to try the rest. Hope I was helpful in providing you with a good look as to what to expect.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatieAnne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not beachy”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a lovely well-maintained park, but there isn't a lot of sandy beach if that's what you're looking for. The snorkeling trip though was as good as any I've done in the caribbean.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Bull shark”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went on the deluxe snorkel trip and saw a bull shark it was amazing to see this creature for the first time in the wild the tour was beautiful and tons of fun

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neener125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“March 3, 2014”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My daughter and I walked several trails in the park and along a couple of the beaches while my son went scuba diving. They had kayaks and other equipment to rent but we did not have time for that here. They also offered several tours including scuba diving.

Unfortunately some of the boardwalks through the mangroves were damaged and we could not get to a few areas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank raybyerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing