We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful reef!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park

John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$208.99*
and up
2-Day Miami South Beach Adventure from Orlando
Ranked #8 of 118 Tours in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A beautiful state park that features land and undersea adventures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful reef!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

One of the best we've visited anywhere. Lots of fish and well worth the trip to Key Largo to snorkel here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ME24SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,571
    1,289
    497
    156
    75
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sea sick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice park; $10 a car to enter even though we were going there for the glass-bottom boat tour. The tour was average; in fact, they warned us that people get motion-sick staring down into the tilted windows of the bottom of the boat. I didn't believe this would happen to me, but I found myself stumbling outside and sucking on peppermints (they handed them out) with an unbelievable amount of other passengers who didn't believe it would happen to them, either. Also, I kept looking for their beach...until a staffer informed me I was on it. Their 'beach' area is tiny, rocky and coarse. Not someplace I would want to snorkel off the beach. A guess this is endemic to Key Largo's beaches; that's why they have snorkeling trips to take you far out. As my husband couldn't swim, we missed out. All in all, a little boring, especially considering how far in advance we had to show up to buy the tickets to reserve our space on the boat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wicket41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A grat place for the novice...and the more seasoned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you take the tour boat out to a reef, you will get a birds eye view of what is usually reserved for divers or snorkelers. If you snorkel at the beach, you'll see amazing fish and often stingrays!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AFishingMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling in the Keys!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I didn't have time to really do a lot of exploring, but the time I did have was fantastic for snorkeling. Lots of fish to see, including Tarpon, lobsters, Parrott-fish and more.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Stop in the Keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped specifically for the glass bottom boat ride over the reef, it was fantastic! The boat was huge, very clean a d the crew was knowledgeable, friendly and very well presented. Had a great time saw plenty and liked it enough that I plan to return when I come by this park the next time. Also stopped at the visitor's center and thoroughly enjoyed the reef recreation there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing