We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best buy in the Keys!”
Review of Continental Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Colony Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Continental Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best buy in the Keys!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I have been coming here for over ten years. We always stay in the same unit with the ocean view. There has only been one rate increase in that time and it is still very reasonable. There are lots of restaurants in Marathon but we always go back to the same half dozen or so. Never had a problem with getting a table or the food and service. The Continental Inn staff have always been pleasant and accommodating. Having a full kitchen allows you to save money and eat just like you were home. I highly recommend the Continental Inn for anyone wanting a nice place to stay in the Keys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mckay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    106
    24
    11
    24
See reviews for
101
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaca, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I cant say too many negative statements about the Continental Inn. I believe the housekeepers work very hard and try to keep the units as clean as they can. You cant help but feel like an outsider however, when you travel to this area of Florida. It has an heir of wealth that comes from all the snow birds dying to get away and pay big bucks to stay down south. If you are looking for a nice beach to sit/ lay in sand, this isnt going to impress you much, along with the constant seaweed that drifts ashore. ( That is mother nature) But, very nice deck for relaxing and taking it easy. Nice washers and dryers. Extremely crowded restaurants very close near by. Good luck getting a bar stool or seated to eat quickly in the peak season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonjudgemental13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Continental Inn in Unit 14 over Thanksgiving. Very nice, clean unit facing the pool. The unit has a full kitchen and there is a grilling area down by the water. The pool is well maintained and it was a delight to swim each morning and then walk down to the beach. This location is very quiet and off the main highway. Very restful and would go back again and again. This property is right on the Gulf and can't be beat for the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife, daughter & I stayed at Continental Inn for three nights (Feb. 2-4, 2013). From the minute we drove off of the Overseas Highway (HWY 1) and made the turn left into Key Colony Beach, we were impressed with this tranquil little city. Key Colony Beach is an exclusive island city surrounded by canals, ocean and multi-million dollar beach & canal homes, condos and boats etc.

This area also has lots of dedicated, paved walking paths on the street for those who enjoy walking in the mornings and evenings. We were surprised to see so many groups of residents and vacationers walking around this very pretty area. there is also Sunrise Park right next to the Continental property.

We stayed on a first floor unit. Our unit was very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable and the small kitchen unit was complete with essential utensils, pots, pans, cups etc. along with a full-size fridge, stove, microwave & sink. Our unit also had a small kitchen table with four chairs, a flat screen TV with cable and WIFI internet. The AC worked well and we also has two ceiling fans over the beds. The bathroom was on the smaller side, but very functional and clean.

Although we didn't use the pool, many people did and it looked clean and inviting. The rooms were also cleaned daily and trash was taken out. The staff at the Continental was professional and courteous.

The property and parking lot of the Continental was very tropical with lots of lush plants & palm trees with well manicured landscaping throughout. Of course, the property is directly on the ocean with your own little private beach to walk down amongst the million dollar homes on the beach.

The beach area is well manicured with lots of chairs, a couple picnic tables and they even have two weber gas grills under a tiki hut to grill your own food, which we did several times. The views of the ocean just steps from your room are not to be believed.

Key Colony Beach is also minutes away from the Dolphin Research Center, The Turtle Hospital and close to Bahia Honda State Park and many other cool things to see and do in this area.
The next time we are in the Keys, we will be staying here again, as we highly recommend it if you want a quiet, beautiful place to stay in an exclusive area on the ocean.

Room Tip: If possible, select a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank racer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at the Continental Inn for two nights Feb 1 & 2, 2013. This inn is like a hotel built in the 60's but maintained beyond belief. I believe all of the rooms have a full kitchen in them. Not some 20" stove with tin foil under the burners but full electric kitchen stove. Side by side refrig, and over the stove built in microwave. All cookware, plates and glasses included PLUS cookware to use for grilling your steaks under the tiki hut while you look out over the ocean. The rooms measure 27 X 16 and include two queen beds or a king size bed plus a sofa, chair and small kitchen tables. This place is clean as can be as well as the bathroom (spotless). The rate was $150 per night. The hotel has a nice medium size pool with max depth of 5 ft. The hotel has three tiki huts that look out over the atlantic ocean that you can sit under. One tike hut has two or three huge gas grills for anyone to grill on. Nice palm trees and the beach chairs are very nice. Wonderful view of the sunrise. The beach is very small with only 10 ft of sand between the water and the seawall. The staff was great. Many people book this place for weeks at a time or even several months every year. Very quite, well maintained (beyond belief) and only 50 miles from Key West as it is located in Marthaon on the Flordia keys. We will be back !!!!

Room Tip: Are room for $150 was a pool side room. Ocean view rooms I believe were $175 and they are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgey1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were here for four nights in December and enjoyed it very much. We normally stay at another spot on Key Colony which is under renovation but gave the Continental a try and will return. Our room (second floor about hallway between the pool and beach) was roomy and very clean. I loved the little balcony on the back and we have a view of the ocean and the pretty pool and landscaping of the complex next door. The furniture was a bit outdated but the whole setup was very 'Keysy" and nice. Ocean view out the front as well. The kitchenette was well equipped and I loved that there was a little care package! Laundry area as well.

The beach area was clean and had plenty of loungers. Overall just a very laid back, quiet place and super relaxing and a good value.

Room Tip: second floor on the left side of the complex has nice balcony views. Look for a room closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family recently stayed at the Continental Inn in the lovely town of Key Colony Beach, Florida. It was very clean, comfortable, and affordable. The location was perfect. We stayed in a room just one back from the more expensive beachfront room. They call the room one of the poolside rooms but it was not next to the pool. It was close to the ocean and we were able to see the ocean just by looking out from our room door! The inn had no place to fish but they did have a fish cleaning table on one corner of the beach. Having the choice of the pool or the ocean within 50 feet of our room made our stay extremely enjoyable for our children. There were plenty of beach chairs and lounges and with the room so close to the water there was no lugging your personal beach or pool stuff far to enjoy the water! We cooked on the gas grills located in a tiki hut right on the beach and ate at picnic tables also located in huts on the beach. We met people who have been coming back year after year and I can definitely see why. We plan on coming back and staying in the Continental Inn in Key Colony Beach very soon!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
0.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
5.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 mi away
Key Colony Beach Motel
Key Colony Beach Motel
#2 of 2 in Key Colony Beach
250 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 1121 West Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing