We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great mom and pop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Key Colony Beach Motel
Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you want the hiltonholidaysheraton go elsewhere, but lets face it you came to the Keys for sun surf and booze!

Great little location, classic 50's-60's motel atmosphere, rooms clean, beds comfortable, AC. Beach small nice beach STEPS out the door, shade or sun with a great ocean view. I am sitting in one of the cabana's 40' from the ocean as I type this. Got my fill of sun this morning having to share the sand with a small handful of others. Yes as mentioned, it seems like the bathroom has a speaker attached to an adjoining room, so keep the door closed and all is great.
And for a little more than $100/night, I can buy a lot of adult beverages and enjoy them on the beach with out a hassle. ! hour from key west, at 1/3 the price.

Will stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yeskino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We have done some major remodeling and continue more improvements. Our guests are really responding favorably to the changes. As you know, we are a small property in a great location. We wont be satisfied till each and every guest has had the best vacation they have ever had. Thanks so much for kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 257 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have to say that beach was perfect, and the room were clean, can't complain about the service, but the rooms are so noisy that it is almost unbearable. It sound as if some else is in the bathroom too, but it is coming from the unit above and maybe behind or what. Clear as a bell. not good. great location though.

Room Tip: maybe stay on the secondfloor in the 203 block that is newly remodeled. good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clipper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments about us. As you may know we have done a lot of remodeling recently. Most of it was unseen. Under the ground and in the walls. The bathrooms have a common vent system that does allow noise to travel, a lot more than we care.
Once the utilities were done, we started on the rooms themselves. New furniture, new bedding, etc, and new tile floors. Tile doesn't absorb sounds like the carpet did, That, with the new vents, just make sounds travel further. The carryover sounds seem to be confined to the bathrooms. We have a great engineer advising us for the remedy and are addressing this and it should be reconciled shortly.
We enjoyed having you and hope to see you soon John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great people, great place... We reserve our room every year. Nine years running. If u want to stay in the room, then stay at home. We love u guys!!!! John, " B" and Lance!!! Along wih the rest of the crew!!! See ya'll in April!!!!!! Jason and adinah templeton

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATenpleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved it!, Our room was clean and fresh and was just remodeled. The beach was gorgeous!
Talking with some of the regulars, we found out that there was major remodeling done over the summer and new management took over also. We couldn't have had a more pleasant stay.
Oh, there was a wedding on the beach with the reception under the tiki huts, this place is that wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here for 2 nights with a €70 coupon. although this seemed good value we were very disappointed with the room. there was dust all around the room, crumbs on the chairs, hairs and stains in the bathroom. the sheets seemed clean but the bed was very uncomfortable and there were yellow stains on the matress protector. it was very old fashioned and needs renovating but this wouldn't have bothered us if it was clean.

on a positive note the beach and pool were lovely and right on site. there is also a lovely bar/ restaurant next door. the staff were very pleasant. we put up with the room because of our short stay and the we were barelh in it but i wouldn't recommend this hotel for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beccy113456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

the staff in reception are the nicest people . it is very basic with ok rooms, cable tv, noisy air con plus not very good cleaners . the plus side is the beach, the picnic patio, pool,& sunbeds with lots of bird life and an ever changing view. there is a free ice maker also a new washing machine and a tumble drier on site. for a stunning sunset try sombrero beach, for breakfast try stouts, for evening meals try key colony inn , stay off the beach at night as there are what the locals call
' no see um's ' they will bite your feet and legs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshineman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found this place after another place unexpectedly shut down and the hotel next to the place we were originally booked was also booked but suggested this place.We were pleasantly suprised!The rooms were in our price range & clean.Sometimes the WiFi was iffy but we were there on vacation anyway.The beach & view was incredible.Using a different computer so I have no pics to share on here.I wish I did.The staff was friendly & helpful.They were updating some of the rooms while we stayed there but it didnt interfere with our stay.We would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you need to bring your computer, make sure the room you have has a clear signal.Also the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
0.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
808 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
14.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Colony Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Colony Beach Motel

Address: 441 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Price Range: $157 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Key Colony Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Colony Beach Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing