We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took us back to a simplier TIME”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Colony Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Colony Beach Motel
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stumbled into this Motel by a Billboard sign on the highway. I had became ill on our way to Key West.with respritory problems..We were going to stay one night, they head out ..The staff was so very nice and our room was like something from the 1950's..We fell in love with this motel and the view..The day we were to leave we desided to stay there for 4 more days, and upgraded to a suite.. instead of staying in Key West...We did daily trips from Key Colony..I can't wait to return...If you are looking for a Hotel with lots of amenties and modern rooms, well I would look elsewhere...But if you are a person who wants to be in a layed back friendly and clean motel ...You should check this one out.

Room Tip: ask for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 257 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

I wouldnt stay here again the carpet looks unvacuumed, bed sheets had blood stains on them and the shower heads hardly had any water coming out of them. To top it all off there was heavy drilling and pounding. when we checked in the girl at the reception failed to inform us that the room next to us was under construction! I am never staying here again!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank pot2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The first sign of trouble was that they had forgotten to mention that some of the roooms were undergoing construction repairs. Then, our reservation for a king size bed was kindly ignored due to the fact that those units were the ones undergoing the repairs. Once we got to the room they assigned us, we realized that the refrigerator was not working. After notifying the staff, we were "upgraded" to an ocean view room. Wow! To our surprice and amusement, the next morning we woke up (thanks to the noise made by the construction workers) with a bunch of creepy crawlers in both beds. Yes, the beds were full of bed bugs! After showing the owner the bugs, and the blood left on the blankets from the dead ones, he kindly agree to drop the charges for the night and offered to show another room. No, thank you! Never again, would I visit this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank b_garcia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Sorry, but people that rate this 4 or more stars have never been to a true 4 start motel or were drunk the whole time. Other than the great location on the ocean, there is nothing 4 star about the place. The owners and/or people at the desk were great and accommodating. The location is great. The basic functions (a/c, water, toilet, TV and lights) all worked, but the place is simply old and for the most part-out-dated. The mattress was on top of a board and slid all over the place. There was no shampoo and no hair dryer like you would expect in a 3-5 star operation. The wireless access for computers worked on one side of the building or in lobby only. It just looked old and tired. The prices were great, however.

Room Tip: If wireless access needed be sure to specify that as half the motel cannot provide that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diverdavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We return every year. Was married on this beach and will celebrate our 5th anniversary on this beach. Haven't missed a year since it became our wedding grounds. Be back in Dec 2012 to celebrate 5th anv.. on 01/01/13

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barmama05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Had a great time when we were here,Great rooms Good company & lots of food & drink. Can't wait to return in Jan. 2013. It will be our 3rd timeLookimg forward to see everyone again

Room Tip: Love the shower, could of had a football game in there.Rooms are cleaned everyday & Very nice pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We are returning for our fourth straight year here. Our suite needed a new carpet last year because of a stain. . Nicer places to stay are nearby, but this beach and pool are superb. We have never encountered bugs or anything else unpleasant.

Room Tip: Upstairs is a bit more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spokybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
0.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
14.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.7 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Colony Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Colony Beach Motel

Address: 441 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Key Colony Beach Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing