We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I just got back from staying at the Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel (5 days 4 nights). It was a great place to stay. Clean rooms, service was nice, and great view. There was a gym there small but thats all you need on vacation. Beach was nice, pool, and hot tub. Also right next door to Cabana so can enjoy a night life next door!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks, Sam! We really appreciate the great review and are so glad you had a wonderful vacation. We'll see you next time you come down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 816 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sad to be back to winter in Chicago! We spent 4 beautiful days at the beautiful Glunz Ocean beach hotel! Our family, including 3 adult children (in their 20's) truly enjoyed this fabulous one of a kind property. The amenities and service exceeded our expectations including heated pool, hot tub, relaxing hammocks and fishing off the pier, spectacular room and suites, updated kitchens, comfy beds and decor and furnishings fabulous.
The staff was extremely friendly with helpful restaurant and happy hour recommendations.
We definitely will be back with more family members!
Thank you for making our family vacation memorable, cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Suites on ground level beach side fantastic for families and proximity to beachfront and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Nothing warms our hearts more than knowing we have helped to provide a memorable vacation experience. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! We appreciate you and your family and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I am the skeptic of our couple; my mate was pretty thrilled when he opened the door to our suite and showed me through. We were main floor, opening right onto the beach front, as I had wanted, January 8th to 11th.

Impressive: Very comfortable king sized bed, with equally wonderful pillows. Even the pull-out couch in the living area was memory foam and perfectly comfortable, with the soothing sound of the ocean swells.

Impressive: Kitchen accouterments-High end appliances, beautiful dishes and cutlery, plus dishwasher!

Impressive: Right on a private beach. HEATED swimming pool. Hot tub. Loads of sand area, along with chaise lounges and umbrellas.

Impressive: Quiet, which was what we desired. Also, VERY family friendly--kids, grandchildren, lots of games to set up on the sand. Safe, as well, as property is bounded by pier at one end and rocks at the other end, so your children can play without worry.

Impressive: Great staff, so friendly and helpful. You feel like you know them by the end of your stay. No question or query goes unnoticed. They really do go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

Impressive: Within excellent travel time of awesome snorkeling, museums, even Key West, this motel is smack in the middle of everything Key related you could want.

Impressive:This location has everything you need to stay in, as well. We wanted a grill and found not only propane, but also charcoal--what a dream. We had one night in with charcoaled steak and lobster we did ourselves. Lovely.

Impressive: We learned when we were there that the owners were about to take over the adjacent restaurant, which already provides room service. While we never ordered room service, we went for dinner there on our last night, and the New York Striploin (with portobello gravy) was heavenly and perfectly cooked. We did not expect such a romantic ocean side dinner.

All in all, a 5 star experience in a motel atmosphere. Who knew?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redamazonsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

I love your writing style! You're right; who knew! Thanks for sharing your experience so others will find us! We'll look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and i stayed here December 9, 2013 for two nights prior to departing on a cruise out of Fort Lauderdale. This hotel was perfect. I'll start off by saying what a friendly, helpful staff they have, willing to accommodate your needs and offer great suggestions of things to do and places to eat in the area. But i must say you dont need to go far the best food we had was right next door at the beach bar/restaurant, and they also supply the room service for the hotel :).
It seems like this was an old motel which was VERY nicely renovated, comfortable beds, nice shower and other modern fixtures. We upgraded to ocean view definitely worth the small fee, view was amazing and so close to the water. Nice pool and jacuzzi right on the beach too. Good size hotel, never felt overcrowded and everyone was friendly. Not a huge resort and we really enjoyed that. I've been to other hotels and resorts in the keys but will definitely be stating here again when we return. Location was approximately 3 hours south of Fort Lauderdale and an hour north of key west.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emw6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

WE really appreciate such a glowing review! Thank you and come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family and friends have been enjoying Ocean Beach Club for close to thirty years. We have always enjoyed the rooms, key's weather, beach, ocean, pool, hot tub, bar b q grille, pier and pier bar. Now that the Glunzs have added their touch to the entire resort, we'll have a even more enjoyable stay. We are counting the days and hours to return to the newly remodled Glunz Ocean Beach Resort. Last year we were there at the very end of the Glunz's remodeling and renovating of the resort, WHAT A JOB THEY'VE DONE !!!!! We can not wait to return this year ! Keep the beers on ice!

Room Tip: Ocean views and oceans sounds are certainly more desireable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

How fun, Joe! We appreciate the loyalty of people such as yourself and your family. Thank you for all of the nice comments! We look forward to having you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Take what seems to have been a 1960's style motel on the beach - add a well done renovation and update - sprinkle some good and friendly service. That's our take on the Glunz. A nice beachside place - not the Four Seasons - but very pleasant.

We stayed in a two queen bed standard room on the ocean side. Very nicely renovated with bright happy seaside colors, comfy beds, nice amenities, and very nice tiled bath. Not a huge room but fine for a couple - could be tight if you have 3-4 in the room.

You are right on the beach - 50 yards to the water with a nice little pool in between. Depending on the time of year and day of week you might be bothered by noise from kids at pool but maybe you brought them? And you can just amble down the beach a bit further away.

Only significant negative for us is lack of breakfast options close by. There is a good enough lunch-dinner place next door (give me a beer, a 20 yard walk, and an ocean view then I don't get too fussy about the food - had an excellent blackened mahi for lunch and a less memorable dinner) and you can drive to many others including breakfast places.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your very nice review! We value your feedback. You will be happy to know that we just bought the restaurant next door and we plan to start serving breakfast soon! Next time should be just perfect for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We looked far and wide for a place o stay on a trip to Key West. Everything we found was super expensive and way below par for the price. So we decided to stay an hours drive away from KW wnd found the Glunz hotel. The price was within our range and we didn't expect much, but we found was pleasant in every respect. The staff was warm and welcoming, the room was a decent size, clean and the shower had glass doors (no shower curtains for us - it's most unhygienic) and happily it had no bedspread that we imagine has felt hundreds of guests, but nice white linen . It was a lucky find even tho it's not luxurious

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraschipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
4.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Key Colony Beach
Price Range: $275 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing