We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far more than we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Far more than we expected!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I am the skeptic of our couple; my mate was pretty thrilled when he opened the door to our suite and showed me through. We were main floor, opening right onto the beach front, as I had wanted, January 8th to 11th.

Impressive: Very comfortable king sized bed, with equally wonderful pillows. Even the pull-out couch in the living area was memory foam and perfectly comfortable, with the soothing sound of the ocean swells.

Impressive: Kitchen accouterments-High end appliances, beautiful dishes and cutlery, plus dishwasher!

Impressive: Right on a private beach. HEATED swimming pool. Hot tub. Loads of sand area, along with chaise lounges and umbrellas.

Impressive: Quiet, which was what we desired. Also, VERY family friendly--kids, grandchildren, lots of games to set up on the sand. Safe, as well, as property is bounded by pier at one end and rocks at the other end, so your children can play without worry.

Impressive: Great staff, so friendly and helpful. You feel like you know them by the end of your stay. No question or query goes unnoticed. They really do go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

Impressive: Within excellent travel time of awesome snorkeling, museums, even Key West, this motel is smack in the middle of everything Key related you could want.

Impressive:This location has everything you need to stay in, as well. We wanted a grill and found not only propane, but also charcoal--what a dream. We had one night in with charcoaled steak and lobster we did ourselves. Lovely.

Impressive: We learned when we were there that the owners were about to take over the adjacent restaurant, which already provides room service. While we never ordered room service, we went for dinner there on our last night, and the New York Striploin (with portobello gravy) was heavenly and perfectly cooked. We did not expect such a romantic ocean side dinner.

All in all, a 5 star experience in a motel atmosphere. Who knew?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redamazonsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
I love your writing style! You're right; who knew! Thanks for sharing your experience so others will find us! We'll look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    190
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
304
352
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and i stayed here December 9, 2013 for two nights prior to departing on a cruise out of Fort Lauderdale. This hotel was perfect. I'll start off by saying what a friendly, helpful staff they have, willing to accommodate your needs and offer great suggestions of things to do and places to eat in the area. But i must say you dont need to go far the best food we had was right next door at the beach bar/restaurant, and they also supply the room service for the hotel :).
It seems like this was an old motel which was VERY nicely renovated, comfortable beds, nice shower and other modern fixtures. We upgraded to ocean view definitely worth the small fee, view was amazing and so close to the water. Nice pool and jacuzzi right on the beach too. Good size hotel, never felt overcrowded and everyone was friendly. Not a huge resort and we really enjoyed that. I've been to other hotels and resorts in the keys but will definitely be stating here again when we return. Location was approximately 3 hours south of Fort Lauderdale and an hour north of key west.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emw6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
WE really appreciate such a glowing review! Thank you and come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDON, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family and friends have been enjoying Ocean Beach Club for close to thirty years. We have always enjoyed the rooms, key's weather, beach, ocean, pool, hot tub, bar b q grille, pier and pier bar. Now that the Glunzs have added their touch to the entire resort, we'll have a even more enjoyable stay. We are counting the days and hours to return to the newly remodled Glunz Ocean Beach Resort. Last year we were there at the very end of the Glunz's remodeling and renovating of the resort, WHAT A JOB THEY'VE DONE !!!!! We can not wait to return this year ! Keep the beers on ice!

Room Tip: Ocean views and oceans sounds are certainly more desireable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
How fun, Joe! We appreciate the loyalty of people such as yourself and your family. Thank you for all of the nice comments! We look forward to having you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Take what seems to have been a 1960's style motel on the beach - add a well done renovation and update - sprinkle some good and friendly service. That's our take on the Glunz. A nice beachside place - not the Four Seasons - but very pleasant.

We stayed in a two queen bed standard room on the ocean side. Very nicely renovated with bright happy seaside colors, comfy beds, nice amenities, and very nice tiled bath. Not a huge room but fine for a couple - could be tight if you have 3-4 in the room.

You are right on the beach - 50 yards to the water with a nice little pool in between. Depending on the time of year and day of week you might be bothered by noise from kids at pool but maybe you brought them? And you can just amble down the beach a bit further away.

Only significant negative for us is lack of breakfast options close by. There is a good enough lunch-dinner place next door (give me a beer, a 20 yard walk, and an ocean view then I don't get too fussy about the food - had an excellent blackened mahi for lunch and a less memorable dinner) and you can drive to many others including breakfast places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your very nice review! We value your feedback. You will be happy to know that we just bought the restaurant next door and we plan to start serving breakfast soon! Next time should be just perfect for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We looked far and wide for a place o stay on a trip to Key West. Everything we found was super expensive and way below par for the price. So we decided to stay an hours drive away from KW wnd found the Glunz hotel. The price was within our range and we didn't expect much, but we found was pleasant in every respect. The staff was warm and welcoming, the room was a decent size, clean and the shower had glass doors (no shower curtains for us - it's most unhygienic) and happily it had no bedspread that we imagine has felt hundreds of guests, but nice white linen . It was a lucky find even tho it's not luxurious

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraschipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked a suite for my family and I booked a room with double beds for my mother, dad and brother. We were very happy to be away for the first time together for Thanksgiving. My parents checked in one day before us and they checked in with Roxy. My brother(34 yrs old) warned me about a lady at the front dest with a very bad attitude , while he waited to ck in Roxy was cking In a guest and she was sarcastic,not helpful and not friendly.My poor brother on vacation , standing in line waiting to ck in and hoping he doesn't tick off the lady at the front desk... Roxy. We checked in the next day with Roxanne. Roxanne was so nice, so helpful, so accommodating. We went to key west after cking in and got back to the hotel at 9:30pm ,as we all walked towards the one and only tiny elevator in the lobby, Roxy watched....once we all got to our own rooms, my husband
decided to go back to the lobby and get a few more towels for our room. When my husband got to the front desk and asked Roxy for extra towels she accused him of having extra guest in the room , they got into a disagreement, Roxy insisted on knowing our room number, then she gave my husband 4 towels and because he is a senior at 65 Roxy insinuated he may not be physically able to get them up to his room! I felt terrible for my husband. We paid 1000.00 to be insulted? Never again will we stay at a momma, poppa hotel , how can they keep a person like that on staff? Even her coworkers dislike her. The lady is prego too,that poor baby with a mean spirit like that for a mom. We loved hawks cay, tranquility bay,and Sheraton key west. Even without the demon seed Roxy at the front desk, there's so many beautiful resorts in the keys, for the same amount of money and fabulous trained staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ikenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I am truly sorry if anything at all occurred to mar your stay with us. This incident was thoroughly investigated at the time and was found to have started with a major misunderstanding and, due to the second hand discussions, escalated beyond belief. Anyone reading our reviews will see that what you have portrayed is certainly not the normal experience. That being said, we do apologize that your family came away with that opinion and especially regret that you have allowed it to sway you so completely that you felt the need to make a personal attack and upset a pregnant mother to be. We are a family hotel and have always welcomed all families.Most come back time after time. Thank you for the kind words regarding other associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My 16 daughter actually found the hotel on line and we are so happy she did! We found out the owners are from Minnesota and so are we, so we knew it would be a great place. :) We stayed in a suite and just loved it! Spotlessly clean and updated with stainless steel and granite. Super comfy king bed with pull out couch in living room. Coach was memory foam and our two teenagers said it was terrific. NOT your grandmas pull out couch! Beach was out the front door and just beautiful. Local restaurants to visit are Leigh Anns, Sunset Grill & The Boondocks. Avoid the restaurant next door....I'll leave it at that. Our only complaints were the hot tub was broken our entire stay, upstairs neighbors were easy to hear walking around and the smoking on premises was a big negative surprise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
It is so nice to hear from our wonderful guests! We are all thrilled that you had such a fabulous stay! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.6 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Property: Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing