We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not family friendly!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not family friendly!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked a suite for my family and I booked a room with double beds for my mother, dad and brother. We were very happy to be away for the first time together for Thanksgiving. My parents checked in one day before us and they checked in with Roxy. My brother(34 yrs old) warned me about a lady at the front dest with a very bad attitude , while he waited to ck in Roxy was cking In a guest and she was sarcastic,not helpful and not friendly.My poor brother on vacation , standing in line waiting to ck in and hoping he doesn't tick off the lady at the front desk... Roxy. We checked in the next day with Roxanne. Roxanne was so nice, so helpful, so accommodating. We went to key west after cking in and got back to the hotel at 9:30pm ,as we all walked towards the one and only tiny elevator in the lobby, Roxy watched....once we all got to our own rooms, my husband
decided to go back to the lobby and get a few more towels for our room. When my husband got to the front desk and asked Roxy for extra towels she accused him of having extra guest in the room , they got into a disagreement, Roxy insisted on knowing our room number, then she gave my husband 4 towels and because he is a senior at 65 Roxy insinuated he may not be physically able to get them up to his room! I felt terrible for my husband. We paid 1000.00 to be insulted? Never again will we stay at a momma, poppa hotel , how can they keep a person like that on staff? Even her coworkers dislike her. The lady is prego too,that poor baby with a mean spirit like that for a mom. We loved hawks cay, tranquility bay,and Sheraton key west. Even without the demon seed Roxy at the front desk, there's so many beautiful resorts in the keys, for the same amount of money and fabulous trained staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ikenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I am truly sorry if anything at all occurred to mar your stay with us. This incident was thoroughly investigated at the time and was found to have started with a major misunderstanding and, due to the second hand discussions, escalated beyond belief. Anyone reading our reviews will see that what you have portrayed is certainly not the normal experience. That being said, we do apologize that your family came away with that opinion and especially regret that you have allowed it to sway you so completely that you felt the need to make a personal attack and upset a pregnant mother to be. We are a family hotel and have always welcomed all families.Most come back time after time. Thank you for the kind words regarding other associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    166
    37
    19
    10
See reviews for
268
314
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My 16 daughter actually found the hotel on line and we are so happy she did! We found out the owners are from Minnesota and so are we, so we knew it would be a great place. :) We stayed in a suite and just loved it! Spotlessly clean and updated with stainless steel and granite. Super comfy king bed with pull out couch in living room. Coach was memory foam and our two teenagers said it was terrific. NOT your grandmas pull out couch! Beach was out the front door and just beautiful. Local restaurants to visit are Leigh Anns, Sunset Grill & The Boondocks. Avoid the restaurant next door....I'll leave it at that. Our only complaints were the hot tub was broken our entire stay, upstairs neighbors were easy to hear walking around and the smoking on premises was a big negative surprise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
It is so nice to hear from our wonderful guests! We are all thrilled that you had such a fabulous stay! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

And that bar and restaurant make a lot good. They make it all a very nice place to hang out for a few days. Also nice is that the hotel is right at the beach. Negative is the very small room. Fier use by 4 persons it is actually too small

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you, Deiderik, for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. I might suggest that you try one of our suites for your next visit. It has a separate master bedroom (king bed!) a full size kitchen & bar with full size appliances and all equipment, a complete living room w/state of the art queen sleeper sofa. if you read our other reviews, it is well worth the difference in price for the comfort. We appreciate that you stayed with us and hope you will do so again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Key Colony is a laid back, primarily residential community with very few businesses. People can be found walking, jogging all around this community in safety. The property overall is very clean and nicely maintained. All staff was helpful and pleasant.

Other reviews have mentioned the next door bar and grille, which is quite convenient. We did not eat next door, so can't comment. Three Mojitos rang up at $27. A nice feature is a short fishing and observation pier at the water side of the bar, open for fishing and enjoying the site of fish at night with two underwater lights.

Two negative comments though.. The beds (we had to move rooms during our two-night stay, so we had four beds to sample) were very hard. The other comment is price. Our average room cost for the two nights was about $230 per night. A bit steep, although the location is awesome. We may or may not consider going back. Between the price and the hard beds...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HeZ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, in general. Our location is one of the best in the keys! I'm so sorry you found the beds to be a bit hard for your taste. They are new and it is, of course, impossible to select a bed to fit the desires of every person (hence, so many bed types! :) We went with firm as most people prefer that. maybe we can get an additional foam top for your next stay. let us know! Our price comparisons in the area show that we are well within range of all of our competition and lower than most. Since there is such a demand for nice places to stay in the Florida Keys, one can expect the price to be higher than, say, a tourist area such as Orlando. Again, we appreciate that you chose to stay with us and we hope you will do so again. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us to continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Glunz Resort. The resort is right on the ocean which allowed us to spend time relaxing by the water, watching dolphins, and watching the sunrise/sunset. The resort was full but did not feel crowded. We were able to enjoy the heated pool, the comfy chairs and the grill. The newly remodeled rooms were exceptionally clean. I appreciated the plush towels and the Keurig coffee maker.
We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you, Julie! We are so glad that you & your family chose to stay with us for your vacation. It's hard to beat a nice, clean room on the beach with all the comforts of home! Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at a few other places in the marathon area and this is by far our favorite. First, when I called to make a reservation (so that I could ask about the rooms) they were so sweet and helpful. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready yet, so they gave us drink coupons to go next door - then came and let us know in person that the room was ready.
The rooms (ocean view suite) was fantastic - we were on the top floor but you could hear the waves coming in - so relaxing! Beautiful decor - recently renovated, fresh looking. Gorgeous beach, which is hard to come by in the keys. Totally stocked kitchen so you can make a gourmet meals if you wish - though we highly recommend walking down the street to sparky's landing.
I haven't even mentioned the sunrises that you can watch from your room - just incredible! We will be back soon with some family. Can't wait!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DMK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
You made our day with that glowing review! We're all so happy that you had a wonderful stay; that is always our goal and it makes us all very happy every single time we accomplish it! We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

A little hotel on the Ocean. Our room was nr. 202 with sea view. Friendly reception staff, parking and wifi is free for the guests.
There is a narrow balcony that gives access to all sea view rooms, two plastic chairs available for every room on this balcony.
The room we had was good in size, the beds very comfortable. Air-con, ceiling fan, TV, small refrigerator,microwave, coffee machine,hair dryer available. There is no closet, but only 3 big drawers between the 2 beds, and few hangers beside the refrigerator. Towels and room service provided every day. Unfortunately breakfast is NOT available in this hotel. There is a Bar restaurant just next to the hotel, but our one time experience in this restaurant was not good at all. There is no basic cutlery available in the room (just to prepare a small snack), so the only option available to have some food, is to drive somewhere else.
There is a small pool and jacuzzi pool. The beach is small but nice.
If you book there, try to avoid room 202, as it is over the pool entry area and the metal door slams every time someone access the area (really annoying).
We were surprised to find out that walking barefoot in the room is a BIG NO. Our feet got black every time we forgot it :-(
All in all, the best things about this hotel it is the location and the staff service.

A tip for Dinner: Try the "Sparky's Landing :: Fish n Cocktails"

Room Tip: Avoid beach view rooms that are close to the pool door and the restaurant. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christosDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. It is your comments that keep us alert to anything we need to address or adjust. Just by clarification, we don't own the restaurant and will pass on your comments regarding it. For future information, we do have fully equipped deluxe suites with a separate king bedroom and full closet, a completely equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. If you prefer the coziness of a smaller room, then be sure to ask our front desk for anything you may need. While we don't actually have true kitchen facilities in that room, (just small fridge, microwave and Keurig one cup coffee maker) we DO have things we can lend you for your stay; one need only make that need known. Since your corner room had an additional window, that meant you were minus an additional set of drawers for personal storage. I appreciate the mention of the "clanging"; we already took care of that on the gate so your comment helped us to improve already! In addition, we have purchased a new commercial cleaning system to help with the floors. While they are very practical and lovely at the beach, the porousness attracts the dirt, as you found out. We are putting this system into use even as I type. I would love to have you return so you can get another perspective so contact me, personally, next time. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.6 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Property: Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing