We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Terrific Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Glunz Resort. The resort is right on the ocean which allowed us to spend time relaxing by the water, watching dolphins, and watching the sunrise/sunset. The resort was full but did not feel crowded. We were able to enjoy the heated pool, the comfy chairs and the grill. The newly remodeled rooms were exceptionally clean. I appreciated the plush towels and the Keurig coffee maker.
We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you, Julie! We are so glad that you & your family chose to stay with us for your vacation. It's hard to beat a nice, clean room on the beach with all the comforts of home! Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 798 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have stayed at a few other places in the marathon area and this is by far our favorite. First, when I called to make a reservation (so that I could ask about the rooms) they were so sweet and helpful. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready yet, so they gave us drink coupons to go next door - then came and let us know in person that the room was ready.
The rooms (ocean view suite) was fantastic - we were on the top floor but you could hear the waves coming in - so relaxing! Beautiful decor - recently renovated, fresh looking. Gorgeous beach, which is hard to come by in the keys. Totally stocked kitchen so you can make a gourmet meals if you wish - though we highly recommend walking down the street to sparky's landing.
I haven't even mentioned the sunrises that you can watch from your room - just incredible! We will be back soon with some family. Can't wait!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DMK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

You made our day with that glowing review! We're all so happy that you had a wonderful stay; that is always our goal and it makes us all very happy every single time we accomplish it! We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A little hotel on the Ocean. Our room was nr. 202 with sea view. Friendly reception staff, parking and wifi is free for the guests.
There is a narrow balcony that gives access to all sea view rooms, two plastic chairs available for every room on this balcony.
The room we had was good in size, the beds very comfortable. Air-con, ceiling fan, TV, small refrigerator,microwave, coffee machine,hair dryer available. There is no closet, but only 3 big drawers between the 2 beds, and few hangers beside the refrigerator. Towels and room service provided every day. Unfortunately breakfast is NOT available in this hotel. There is a Bar restaurant just next to the hotel, but our one time experience in this restaurant was not good at all. There is no basic cutlery available in the room (just to prepare a small snack), so the only option available to have some food, is to drive somewhere else.
There is a small pool and jacuzzi pool. The beach is small but nice.
If you book there, try to avoid room 202, as it is over the pool entry area and the metal door slams every time someone access the area (really annoying).
We were surprised to find out that walking barefoot in the room is a BIG NO. Our feet got black every time we forgot it :-(
All in all, the best things about this hotel it is the location and the staff service.

A tip for Dinner: Try the "Sparky's Landing :: Fish n Cocktails"

Room Tip: Avoid beach view rooms that are close to the pool door and the restaurant. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christosDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. It is your comments that keep us alert to anything we need to address or adjust. Just by clarification, we don't own the restaurant and will pass on your comments regarding it. For future information, we do have fully equipped deluxe suites with a separate king bedroom and full closet, a completely equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. If you prefer the coziness of a smaller room, then be sure to ask our front desk for anything you may need. While we don't actually have true kitchen facilities in that room, (just small fridge, microwave and Keurig one cup coffee maker) we DO have things we can lend you for your stay; one need only make that need known. Since your corner room had an additional window, that meant you were minus an additional set of drawers for personal storage. I appreciate the mention of the "clanging"; we already took care of that on the gate so your comment helped us to improve already! In addition, we have purchased a new commercial cleaning system to help with the floors. While they are very practical and lovely at the beach, the porousness attracts the dirt, as you found out. We are putting this system into use even as I type. I would love to have you return so you can get another perspective so contact me, personally, next time. Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is actually not a real hotel ,and It is just a motel. It has beautiful ocean view outside, but heavy humidity. All amenities seems to be a little bit old.A little bit disappointing about this and It is not worthy for almost 200 bucks one night. I think

Room Tip: If available , choose the king suite with ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 波王
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We sincerely regret that we did not live up to your expectation. You were here at a particularly damp & windy time which certainly contributed to the humidity. Your feedback is important to us since we use it to make constant improvements. I will write to you privately. In the meantime, we hope you will consider another visit in the future so that you can join the majority of our happy guests! Thank you for providing your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wow! was my first reaction when I stepped through the door through the room and then opened the sliding doors and saw such a beautiful view! We had a suite on the 3rd floor (317). Everything was top notch, towels, pillows, bed, furniture, the whole room! We stayed during Thanksgiving, and we had a surprise present on Thanksgiving Day - A box of Chocolates and a letter wishing us a Happy Thanksgiving! Everything about this place was perfect. The lounge chairs on the beach and pool are super comfy, the hammocks, very nice. They have a very nice little beach, that is pretty rare in the Keys. This place had everything that my family had on our wish list. Pool, Water view, pier to go fishing on. We ate next door at Cabana Breezes a couple of times, including Thanksgiving Buffet, and it was very good. Next time we go to the Keys we are definitely staying here! Oh and The Sunrise - Beautiful

Room Tip: Ocean View is the best. Even though the ground floor rooms are convenient, I think the views are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilmoracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We are so happy that we could fulfill your family's "wish list." Being able to really enjoy your vacation is what everyone wants and it seems that you did! We appreciate your detailed feedback since it helps others to make decisions. Hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

our recent stay at the Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel was wonderful. Great location, close to Cabana Breeze, Sparky's and Key Colony Inn. And only an hour away from Key West if you are looking for a day trip. The hotel room was nice. And it was great to go lay in the hammocks on the beach each morning.
We will visit again!!!!

Room Tip: ocean side has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

It is a pleasure to hear from our guests! Thank you for your comments and hitting the high points. Other readers of reviews appreciate it! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a hotel/motel but right on the beach. Rooms are light & bright, soft fluffy towels, great shower, clean & well maintained & good AC. If available go for an ocean view room.All staff very helpful with a positive attitude towards customer requirements.Location a plus which only added to the overall rating of the property,a definite candidate for future visits.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baddbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We're genuinely happy you found our little piece of paradise on the ocean! Can't beat that beautiful sunrise every day. We appreciate your nice comments and hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $273 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing