We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Newly remodeled rooms & public areas. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms had refrigerator, microwave, Krueig (spelling?) coffee maker, safe, iron/board. indoor/outdoor restaurant/bar a few steps away!

Room Tip: If you want to wake up and see the ocean pay the extra for it. The Key side is just a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We aim to please! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and with your fellow travelers. The ocean is a mighty draw and I don't think anyone tires of it; so relaxing, yet invigorating! We'll see you on the flip side!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 798 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I wrote a review of this place when we discovered it in March 2009. We loved it back then, but love it even more now. The view and location, as before, are absolutely perfect. The grounds are still immaculate and very well maintained. It is located off the beaten path, in a relatively residential area which makes it quieter and more relaxing than places in the commercial parts of Marathon. The inside accomodations have just been renovated and completely updated...most everything is brand new and nicely done! We stayed in a suite this time (as opposed to a standard room) and had all the ammenities that we could possibly want. The fully equipped kitchen had a stove, sink, full-sized refrigerator w/ice maker, dish washer, microwave, 10-cup coffee maker, garbage disposal, and lots of cabinet space. There was a breakfast bar with 4 comfortable, adjustable stools. The spacious bedroom and the living room had comfortable bed/furniture and both had large screen TVs. The bathroom were completely updated and, as opposed to our last stay, the water temperature ran consistant and could be controlled this time. Other features included great lighting, big fluffy towels, a hair dryer, bathrobes and an ironing board/iron. The office and housekeeping staff were friendly and very accomodating. Due to weather/flight delays, we arrived in the middle of the night, but easily arranged to be checked in ahead of time with a key to our room and parking permit waiting for us when we got there. No hassles at all. The tiki bar/restaurant is still next door and is extremely convenient for good food, drinks and entertainment without having to drive anywhere. BUT! I've been saving the best part for last - the view from our 3rd story balcony, overlooking the beach, the ocean and the crystal clear swimming pool, was absolutely BEAUTIFUL and remains our favorite part of staying there.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a couple days, we recommend a suite as opposed to a room, due to the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJD-BMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

I'm so happy that you found everything to your liking! It is not often that someone will go to so much detail in their review and we really do appreciate it! This truly is the gem of the middle Keys and it is gratifying to be able to share our beautiful hotel and private beach with our friends, old and new. Thank you for taking the time to share YOUR experience and we will certainly look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here after the rooms had been completely rehabbed. My room openned to the ocean and many nights I slept with the window open and AC off. The pool and beach were fun to use. Guests can use the Bar B Q on the side of the building. the lobby has pieces of fresh fruit in a bowl.

Room Tip: this is one place where the ocean (vs island) view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We're very happy that you had such a good time! Thanks so much for taking time to write a little note so others can hear of your experience. Take care until next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April and it was a great choice for us. The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations from top to bottom. Our room was small with 2 queen beds but overlooked the ocean and the pool. It was very clean and new from bed linens to fixtures. No morning breakfast but we had coffeepot and microwave and fridge. There is a small beach with plenty of lounge chairs and some hammocks for 2 around the beach and pool areas. There is a nice restaurant next door with open air seating for the bar or eating. The views are beautiful. Marathon is only an hours drive from Key West and is more "laid back" which is what we liked. My only complaints were not enough hooks for towels and the room was small.

Room Tip: The fitness room should be open soon. If you will pay the extra charge it is well worth it to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amigranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location and ambience are truly beyond compare; close to everywhere but no mass of people to deal with and all the comforts of home and then some! Thank you for mentioning the need for additional towel hooks; we listen to our guests and will be providing them soon. If you need more room be sure to try out one of our suites! They have a master bedroom with king size bed, a full kitchen (and fully equipped!), and a state of the art sofa bed (very comfortable!). The same great ocean view and plenty of room to spread out for 4 people. Again, we appreciate you and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We go the the keys on a regular basis as we live in Ft.Lauderdale and are always looking for a nice hotel. Like to try out different ones but we will definitely return to this one.

The service we have received was beyond expectations and the rooms are just phenomenal. They re-opened a few weeks ago and therefore everything has been completely remodeled and is very very clean and contemporary. We stayed in one of their 1 bedroom suites with another couple and our kids and it was just perfect. The pullout couch is very very comfortable and it seems there was a memory foam mattress on there. We just walked out of the living room and were right on the beach. A bar and fishing pier is right next door with access from the hotel property. The beach is being cleaned every morning. To walk into the water is a little bit rough because of the rocks. But you will have that issue everywhere in the Keys.

To get back to the service. They definitely go beyond the regular service - especially Michael (assistant general manager). I brought down my small utility trailer with a few kayaks but was not aware of the fact that the regulations at Key Colony do not allow trailers on commercial property. Was allowed to keep it on Michael's private property for the night. He definitely went beyond his regular duties. Who would do that?

Anything negative to report? Nothing.
Only suggestion: The pool could use a few palm trees around it to have a nicer ambient there.

It is definitely worth the stay and the staff makes sure that you will have a good time there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manollo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We are so happy you had a great stay with us! Our guests are our best public relations so we really appreciate your comments. I love the suggestion about more palms by the pool and we will check that out. Michael also appreciates your kind words. Thank you again for providing such wonderful feedback; we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Been coming to the Keys for over 30 years and staying everywhere. We wanted to stay at Hawks Cay but couldn't get a room. Initially we were disappointed but upon checking in were very pleased. No restaurant here but one right next door and many others very nearby. Renovations are spectacular, attention paid to every last detail. Our room has every amenity available, all new and impeccably clean. Super high speed internet for free. Pool and spa inviting and also clean and orderly. Excellent beach, plenty of chairs, chaise lounges and hammocks. The staff very eager to make sure you have an excellent experience. Overall this is the best value in the Florida Keys. Expect rates will go up fast as the word spreads. Our stay here was a fraction of what we normally spend and I'm not sure what could have made our stay any better. Plan to return here on all future trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthurmabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

What a glowing review! We sincerely thank you for your feedback and are so very happy that you chose to stay with us. Our single goal is for all of our guests to have a wonderful vacation experience and that your stay will always exceed your expectations. It sounds like that just happened! It was great to hear from you and we look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This property was just gutted and renovated and only opened the week before we arrived. There were still a few units on ground floor under renovations but we were on 3rd floor so any noise they were making didn't bother us except there was quite a bit of drywall dust around our unit and the floors hadn't been washed since the renovations. Couldn't tell by looking at the floor it was dirty but our feet were black with dirt from walking around. We were the first ones in this unit since it was renovated.
We stayed in a one bedroom unit on 3rd Floor (Top Floor). The room we were in was very nice and modern with a sink and makeup counter in one section and then the toilet and large walk-in shower beside it seperated by a sliding pocket door. My only complaint in this area is there is no place near the sink to hang your hand towel. The only hooks or racks were in the seperate section where toilet and shower are which is not accessible when someone is in there.
The kitchen was nice and modern with oven, microwave, sink, dishwasher and all the small appliances you need like coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes and utensils. There was an icemaker in the freezer of the full sized fridge. There is also an icemaker down near the lobby.They supply a small bottle of dishwashing liquid and one packet of automatic dishwasher cleaner. There are 4 swiveling bar style chairs around the kitchen island to eat or drink at.
The couch pulled out into a bed which we used since there were 4 of us. It was comfortable. There is a flat screen tv in the living room area and in the bedroom. There is a safe in bedrom closet to secure your electronics and passports.
We had a seperate patio door that went out on a balcony shared by the 3d floor on the beach side.
Had a hot tub and heated pool which was nice since the weather was not hot when we were there. Beach is small but nice with several loungers and tables.
There is free wifi but it wasn't working right. It would show we were connected but couldn't send or receive any data.. The bar/restaurant right next door had wifi so if you went over by the pool area, you could connect to the restaurants wifi.
They have a workout room that is still being built and wasn't open yet. They have a selection of books in the lobby area if you need reading material. You can access the lobby area from front side or beach side and there are bathrooms in there so you don't have to go all the way back to your room if you are on an upper floor.
They will soon have room service using the restaurant next door. Besides the restaurant/bar next door, there are 2 other restaurants that are within walking distance.
It was a nice place for the price and i would go back again if i was in the area

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eknighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

We so appreciate that you came and stayed while we were still working out a few "kinks"! I especially appreciated your suggestion of a hand towel ring by the sink. That makes sense and we plan to implement it. You'll be very happy to know that our WiFi works perfectly now! (after getting a whole new system!) It is great to make new friends and to get the positive reinforcement that you, our valued guest, have offered. It will be great to see you on the return visit and get your feedback again; we listen! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $273 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing