We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"Beach it like it's 1965"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"Beach it like it's 1965"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This quaint, retro motel stands in its own little tropical haven surrounded by the overpowering condos on the beach. Walking distance to restaurants and other conveniences, this lovely and well-maintained property is right on the beach in Key Biscayne. Your choice on Key Biscayne is either the Ritz-Carlton for $700 plus per night or the Silver Sands for under $200 per night --- same beach! Take yourself out of a bourgeois mentality and enjoy the simplicity of this comfortable, clean little step-back-in-time. Over look the fact that everything is not perfect or high-end in this motel and that there are no swans swimming in the entrance…kick back and enjoy the lovely garden area, clean pool, and ocean-front amenities of this sweet spot in Key Biscayne…"beach it" like it's 1965!

Room Tip: Choose a court side room for a nicer view and poolside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    55
    22
    16
    17
See reviews for
36
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Undisclosed Location
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We were staying at a luxury hotel a few blocks down the waterfront but wanted something a bit lower key where we could prepare some meals and escape to a quieter place. That's how we found the Silver Sands Beach resort. It is a one-story complex with several standalone cottages nestled on the ocean front in between high-rise and high-priced resorts. It was the perfect little beach cottage. We had a patio in the front with a table and there was a small kitchen with sufficient equipment, an electric stovetop, a microwave, toaster and a coffee maker. There was no oven but we had what we needed to cook simple meals. The walkways leading to the ocean were tree-lined and it was a little oasis. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. So much so that when our taxi didn't arrive one of the staff offered us a ride to a local restaurant. The cottages were very well-made the exterior was a board and batten construction and the interior beams in the ceilings were quite impressive. This oceanfront resort was clearly made to withstand a storm. The pool was simple and nice and the beach was much less crowded than at our nearby luxury hotel. The rooms were simple, a little dated but perfectly adequate. It did not have amenities such as a spa or a gym but it really didn't matter as we could get those down the street. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean. The patio was very private and we could make a nice meal and enjoy dining alfresco listening to the sound of the ocean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Agent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The tub leaks from the handles when you turn on the water not to mention the water fills up to your ankles because it doesn't drain. The beds were quite small and the sheets were very uncomfortable. Looked more like a cheap motel for $40/night then $200/night. There are no food services on ground, only vending machines. They have a total of like 5 beach chairs. The pool is NOT heated. I was fairly disappointed after my boyfriend went through the trouble of planning a special birthday weekend for me. At least we know where not to stay. Miami beach has better places with full kitchens and right on the strip for half as much.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cassie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Biscayne hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

If you come to Key Biscayne you only have a couple of lodging options. The Ritz Carlton is just down the beach from here and 4x the price. I was there during the day for business and it is everything you'd expect: overpriced, stuffy, dull and full of the worst kind of people. It was so refreshing to return to the simplicity of the Silver Sands each evening. The rooms are basic for sure but there's a microwave, fridge for drinks and my room was spotless. Beds were decent. It was great to be able to park right next to my door. The landscaped courtyard is pretty with grass and palms, and the pool was idyllic. Best of all, you are right on the beach just a few steps from your room. Walk a couple of minutes up the road and there are coffee shops, restaurants and all that. My interactions with staff ran the gamut from very pleasant and accommodating to terse and basic. So stay here if you like throwback simplicity, a nice pool and beach. Just don't expect the Ritz.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The room was very dated and I had many "sugar" ants in my kitchen area. Floor was very sandy. No breakfast. Pool attendant was gone for over an hour at noon and then rude upon return when I inquired about a pool towel and why there were so many wild iguana. If you want an outdated motel with very average service at $160/night this place is for you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aclone422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Have stayed in the rooms and the on property cabins. Yes, it's dated but super clean and efficient. Being able to walk a mere 10 steps to the sand and ocean is a miracle. The pool is small but again, so well kept. The courtyard landscaping is a joy when viewing for the cabin's deck. So private. However....there is now construction on the south and west. The noise begins at 7:00 a.m. and the dust is everywhere. It's a monolith of a high rise on the south. What a shame.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wyldej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Me and my GF stayed here for one night. We read all the reviews of what a gem it is well its not! We paid 153.00 with tax for a courtyard view and there was not view. The all the chairs and umbrellas where put up and it was totally dead. There is no place to even have a drink or get one like there advertisement says and when asked the lobby personal they said that was a long time ago. My friend ended up walking to the Ritz Carlton down the beach to get a 17dollar Bloody Mary. The hotel looked clean but the floor was covered in Sand and there was not even any glasses or anything in the cupboards. There was another couple down from us that was there for the same event and they actually had cockroaches!!! Yes I understand you are in Key Biscayne but the rooms are still way over priced and there advertisements are very misleading.

Room Tip: Buyer Beware was quiet because no one stays there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Hotel Urbano
#52 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Property: Silver Sands Beach Resort
Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1607
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing