We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump and there is no restaurant and long very disceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dump and there is no restaurant and long very disceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Me and my GF stayed here for one night. We read all the reviews of what a gem it is well its not! We paid 153.00 with tax for a courtyard view and there was not view. The all the chairs and umbrellas where put up and it was totally dead. There is no place to even have a drink or get one like there advertisement says and when asked the lobby personal they said that was a long time ago. My friend ended up walking to the Ritz Carlton down the beach to get a 17dollar Bloody Mary. The hotel looked clean but the floor was covered in Sand and there was not even any glasses or anything in the cupboards. There was another couple down from us that was there for the same event and they actually had cockroaches!!! Yes I understand you are in Key Biscayne but the rooms are still way over priced and there advertisements are very misleading.

Room Tip: Buyer Beware was quiet because no one stays there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    22
    16
    17
See reviews for
35
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property is a step back to how travel lodging used to be. I can't wait to stay here officially. The room to pick is 153 but don't stay there when I will be there. I used to come to the property with my Father and Mother when I was a young child. There was a great restaurant that has since "gone to the sea" with Hurricane Andrew. But other than that, the owners have done a great job restoring this hidden gem. I will write an official review of the place when I actually get to stay a night there. Until then, enjoy Key Biscayne. There is no other place like it in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed in Miami many times over the years for business and was looking for something away from the city, a friend had relatives on Key Biscayne so I decided to take a look out there. First of all Key Biscayne is pretty busy with traffic since there is only 2 lanes in and out and there are very few hotels/motels, but what a pleasant surprise Silver Sands was. It is not a five star resort, but it is a nice clean place with nice well maintained grounds, it reminiscent of the long motor lodges from the 50-60s and it is right on the beach. My room was just a few steps from the sand, what a great place to get away after the work day. And the mini kitchen is nice to have..if you are looking for something a little different, quiet and out of the way, you may want to try here.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the back close to the beach if you don't want to pay a bit extra to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Found this place after navman put me wrong , seemed overpriced for what you got, if you have had a long day or have an early start get a car park room , as some of the locals use the pool, not to any late hours but noise carries after 11. wi fi only in the lobby, small tv in room, apart from that clean, and close to the beach.

Room Tip: car park rooms must be quieter, AC nosiy but did drown out the sound of the pool parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonNzSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am quite the easy going person when it comes to lodging. I read up on the Lonely Planet that it was trip back to the 1970's well not much has changed including the stained floor and archaic kitchen. Use this place as a drop off it was over priced and would not stay again. Key Biscayne is boring and overpriced nothing to do and not a lot of helpful people. Go to the park and make it a day trip!! from a tried and true Canadian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Biscayne hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

if you just want a nice quiet getaway with a quiet beach and heated pool; this is the place. Bring your own food and drinks since it's a low key place, small - sweet and peaceful. Hope it stays this way even with all the big development happening next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieTinMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Owners of this place maintain three things: the pool, the lobby, and the garden area. These are very nice. The room is another story. The floors are terrazo with the finish long worn off -- so it's basically concrete. The beds were mediocre at best, and the blankets had holes in them. Several drawers in the kitchen were literally coming apart at the joints. Old plumbing (functional but highly unpredictable hot water in the shower). Tiny tv. Lots of ants in the kitchen because the windows are not sealed properly. Everything looks vintage 1992, when Hurricane Andrew came through. On the plus side, the windows are heavy duty. With the window air conditioner on, the construction noise was not very loud. Not sure how noisy the rooms by the gardens would be as they are closer to the building.
In the parking lot, there are several large potholes that require drivers to slalom to avoid them. Note that with the construction on the high rise condos going on next door, if you want to face away from the construction, you need to get the basic room. Facing the garden or pool, you will be looking at the high rise. (Our room had construction trailer view). The few ocean front rooms have decks that are more splinters than wood. Also they are almost subterranean. You have to climb up to the beach. No telling what they look like inside.
The cottages are closest to the construction but they looked nice from the outside. They probably back up to the construction fence.
The beach. Yes it has a sandy beach. No waves but lots of seaweed. Also, when it thunderstorms, a lot of trash surges in, I guess from inconsiderate boaters. One day a bulldozer cleared most of the seaweed away, although of course they can't get the seaweed out of the water. We did rent an umbrella (they do provide beach towels on request) and laid out on the beach one day, which was pleasant.
The staff we met were all very nice, including the cleaning crew (who did what they could). If the Owners would invest in a complete overhaul of the rooms and parking areas, they would have a place worth commending.
And if this isn't enough, they do not take reservations on line and will not send you a written confirmation in the mail. You take your chances that you'll have a place to stay.

Room Tip: Consider if you would rather face the garden and the high rise next door under construction, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolina_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#46 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Property: Silver Sands Beach Resort
Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1607
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing