We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for one night!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for one night!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am quite the easy going person when it comes to lodging. I read up on the Lonely Planet that it was trip back to the 1970's well not much has changed including the stained floor and archaic kitchen. Use this place as a drop off it was over priced and would not stay again. Key Biscayne is boring and overpriced nothing to do and not a lot of helpful people. Go to the park and make it a day trip!! from a tried and true Canadian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    22
    16
    17
See reviews for
35
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

if you just want a nice quiet getaway with a quiet beach and heated pool; this is the place. Bring your own food and drinks since it's a low key place, small - sweet and peaceful. Hope it stays this way even with all the big development happening next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieTinMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Owners of this place maintain three things: the pool, the lobby, and the garden area. These are very nice. The room is another story. The floors are terrazo with the finish long worn off -- so it's basically concrete. The beds were mediocre at best, and the blankets had holes in them. Several drawers in the kitchen were literally coming apart at the joints. Old plumbing (functional but highly unpredictable hot water in the shower). Tiny tv. Lots of ants in the kitchen because the windows are not sealed properly. Everything looks vintage 1992, when Hurricane Andrew came through. On the plus side, the windows are heavy duty. With the window air conditioner on, the construction noise was not very loud. Not sure how noisy the rooms by the gardens would be as they are closer to the building.
In the parking lot, there are several large potholes that require drivers to slalom to avoid them. Note that with the construction on the high rise condos going on next door, if you want to face away from the construction, you need to get the basic room. Facing the garden or pool, you will be looking at the high rise. (Our room had construction trailer view). The few ocean front rooms have decks that are more splinters than wood. Also they are almost subterranean. You have to climb up to the beach. No telling what they look like inside.
The cottages are closest to the construction but they looked nice from the outside. They probably back up to the construction fence.
The beach. Yes it has a sandy beach. No waves but lots of seaweed. Also, when it thunderstorms, a lot of trash surges in, I guess from inconsiderate boaters. One day a bulldozer cleared most of the seaweed away, although of course they can't get the seaweed out of the water. We did rent an umbrella (they do provide beach towels on request) and laid out on the beach one day, which was pleasant.
The staff we met were all very nice, including the cleaning crew (who did what they could). If the Owners would invest in a complete overhaul of the rooms and parking areas, they would have a place worth commending.
And if this isn't enough, they do not take reservations on line and will not send you a written confirmation in the mail. You take your chances that you'll have a place to stay.

Room Tip: Consider if you would rather face the garden and the high rise next door under construction, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolina_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Biscayne hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

An Absolute Gem - You will Love It...I'll say it again. This is a retro motel/hotel on the best beach on Key Biscayne. The atmosphere rubs off on all the guests, with the pool and beach just steps away. You will think you are on a small island in the Caribbean and not next to Miami Beach. I have been coming here forever and it never disappoints. It's not the Four Seasons, but who cares.

Room Tip: The pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've been staying at the Silver Sands for years (since 1988). The one thing you can say about the Silver Sands is that it's consistent. It's not fancy, but it's such a gem because it's comfortable and quiet (except for the construction next door right now), right on the beach and just a great place for a get-awayI There is a refrigerator and microwave, and the courtyard rooms have a table and chairs outside, so you can sit out and have your own picnic. The pool is a good size with tables/chairs with umbrellas. It's walking distance to the Ritz Carlson, grocery, shopping and restaurants. Again, it's not fancy, very basic but I feel lucky that I've had this place to go for so many years where I can be right on the beach and about 15 minutes from Miami. I'm so glad that they didn't "sell-out" when the Sonesta group wanted to purchase the property.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are $20 more a night but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for 3 nights for several years during the Sony Open. We book the room a year in advance. When we showed up to check into our 'courtyard room', we were informed that we had a parking lot room and that was the only one available. The room faces the construction project which begins at 7am. It was the only parking lot room on that side of the building (156), it is isolated and backs up to the laundry room. It was the worst room in the motel!
When we tried to get an explanation on why we didn't get our 'reserved' room, the manager said all the rooms were full and if we wanted he would cancel our reservation with no fee.when we asked 'what were we suppose to do then?' He told us to 'go to the Ritz Carlton'. We think someone else had the parking lot room and was switched into our room.
What makes matter worse is that we had 'confirmed' our courtyard room twice during the past year.
We felt the management was extremely rude dealing with the whole situation.
The room itself had trouble with the door closing and then we had trouble opening the lock with a key and had to replace the key! It felt much dirtier than the room we used in the past. All in all...very disappointed. The only positive was the location to the tennis tournament.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KraZe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed there two nights. Good price, good area and really nice people. The room was clean and furnished (microwave, coffee maker, a fridge and a TV). The swimming pool was great and the beach 10 meters from the room: GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathilde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#44 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Property: Silver Sands Beach Resort
Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1607
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing