We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed here after hubby booked it as a surprise. It is so beautiful. Staff is excellent and treat everyone like royalty. Dining at Aria was excellent , loved the breakfast buffet. Spa services were amazing, had massage, mani & pedi. Morning yoga on the lawn is wonderful. Rooms were incredible, but what do you expect, it IS the Ritz!! Cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brimin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,745 - 1,751 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2007

Just returned today from a week at the Ritz on Key Biscayne. Very nice property. Beautiful grounds, very lush. Public areas are really nice. Service was possibly the best I have ever seen. Location is so-so. Key Biscayne leaves a lot to be desired. Major downside is the clientele while we were there, but that is beyond the control of the hotel. We paid for the conceirge/club level floor which was very well worth it even though our floor was actually 14 while the club level was 9.

PROS:
- phenomenal service. Best I have ever seen. Staff was just so incredibly attentive and universally pleasant. We have stayed at many RItz/Four Season properties and while the service has always been good, this place was the best by far.
- Food on property was excellent. Great wine. Cioppino was outstanding with a great, but pricey, wine list. Cantina by the pool/beach was also very good.
- Library Bar was really nice. We did not use it nearly enough.
- Club level. There is really no reason not to pay for this. The food is great, the service wonderful, and the convenience is too material to pass up. Plus, I really believe that from a cost standpoint you probably spend less with the club level service.
- Fitness center pretty good. Didn't use the spa services, but it was really beautiful. Wish I had had the time to get a massage!
- Unlike many similar hotels/resorts, there were enough chairs around the pool if you arrived at the pool by 10:00 AM and the pool staff couldn't have been more helpful.
- For runners, great sidewalks and each end of the island is a park so plenty of places for runs, long or short.
- Not sure if this is true of all rooms, but ours had a small fridge, sink and microwave.

CONS:
- Rooms were small.
- Bathrooms have louvered doors = NO PRIVACY. This was an annoying drawback.
- Valet parking was $30 per day.
- Gratuities are automatically included on everything and it isn't always obvious. Our first night, I over tipped the waiter by about $70 for dinner because I did not know the gratuity was include - my stupid fault, but please.
- Key Biscayne is pretty boring, limited upscale restaurants, no real shopping, and South Beach is a pretty good drive so it is not a convenient dining/shopping alternative.
- Pool is not really a negative, but it was not as large as I would have liked. If you do not have children, try hanging out at the adult pool.
- Beach is mediocre at best. It is a short beach with okay sand, no real waves, and a lot of seaweed, although the staff did seem to do a decent job keeping it cleaned up.
- I think this goes without saying, but this is not an inexpensive resort. Drinks are very expensive as are dinners.

Overall, a wonderful stay and a very nice property. The only reason we will not go back is that we really prefer Florida's west coast (Naples/Marco Island) over the east coast. People are just too rude, obnoxious (at this Ritz kids were completely unsupervised by parents and out of control!!!), and disrespectfully demanding on the east coast. After 25 years of going to both of Florida's coasts, I should know better, but if you are from the east coast (New York, DC, Boston, etc.), you will probably feel right at home.

Couple of helpful tips -
- Around the pool, the chairs closer to the beach get a better breeze, and, thus, are a little cooler in the hot midday sun.
- Try Archie's Pizza less than 1/2 mile from the Ritz. It is really simple, but really good. Caprese "salad" was wonderful.
- As mentioned above, go for the club level - it is worth it.
- If you like to run/walk, go towards the park on the south end of the island. It is nicer, the beach at that end is nicer.

Good luck!

The Billiken

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Billiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We have visited the Ritz Carlton Key Biscayne every summer since they opened in 2001. Simply put, the service at this hotel is top notch. Stay on the Club Level for even more detailed service as well as complimentary food and drinks. We booked through whatahotel.com and got an awesome upgrade and a resort credit. You simply can't go wrong with this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ritzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

The hotel is lovely and clean and family friendly and there were a few (very few- say 3 out of 100+?) really nice helpful people (hence the reason it got 2 rather than 1 'star') and a typical Marriot Ritz; not a tremendous amount of character but lovely and presumably predictable, unfortunately not in this case. The service was TERRIBLE not even standard. The staff (front desk primarily) were rude and out of their depth on every level. We had a supervisor complaining to us as we arrived about the fact that he had a report to print out for the night and he must have information from us (that was already in his posession- odd) to complete this report. Another employee speaking (badly) about another guest as we approached the desk and that guest left it. A woman that literally did nothing but scowl- perhaps a weird form of attempted snobbery. We had to ask for things 2 and 3 times- call me crazy but for me the point of a 5 star is that they anticipate your needs-(at least in my previous experience) and most importantly- you don't have to think [!] -not here. Maid service was hit and miss (which we didn't mind as long as it was clean but it added up). Finally, when I asked the night manager if there was a problem with the phone network (messages were lost- then popped up a day or 2 later) he was dismissive. I mentioned (nothing more) that it wasn't the first problem we had had and perhaps they could 'up their game a little' - his immediate answer was another hotel- Bizarre- I am still amazed at this. Even his subordinate - when we did actually finally make a complaint-asked if he could upgrade us. Kind, but we really didn't want a room upgrade; we just wanted proper service.

We were terribly disappointed as this was our main family holiday for the year. We saved the time (most relished) and money (which I am more than happy to spend on quality! but frankly not here) to go and have a great time with our little girl but there was a terrible struggle to get really basic stuff- (such as a pre-booked cot in the room). The day was nearly saved by a great manager who had been off duty for 3 or 4 of our 5 nights there but unfortunately it was too little too late. The few nice people were a housekeeper that was sweet to our little girl, a European hospitality manager/guest liason [who made every effort - basically, just did her job well], and the pool attendants that were great fun and hugely helpful (no pretence just friendly, enthusiastic and helpful despite sweating miserably for long hours in the heat of early Fla summer). Other employees just seemed to present service with $ in their eyes. It is hard to explain this but this was service with one intent - not to serve/ensure your comfort/ or do their job, but to make a very quick $. This included valets, bell men, some maids. There was no finesse or style to it and it made us feel uncomfortable.

I would be hard pushed to stay here again and having already been asked repeatedly by several friends and colleagues, I cannot recommend it. There are typical sur charges on top of your room - $30 Valeting (plus tips), umbrella hires, anything and everything has a charge and tips are expected on top. We were prepared for this - not the bad service.

I do not know if this will effect my ever staying at another Ritz again but I do not see this happening in the immediate future.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Reviews_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton while he attended a conference at the hotel. Literally every person we came in contact with at the hotel gave us first class treatment. Our room was beautiful, the grounds were impeccably kept, and the pool areas were very nice with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. There are 2 large pools - one that has the "beach-like" entry that's really shallow leading out into a deeper area (popular with smaller kids), another that was about 5 feet deep all over (almost all adults) and a small kiddie pool. Each large pool has a bar area right next to it with wait staff circulating throughout the day with "snacks" (pretzels, frozen grapes, etc). We were very well taken care of during our stay. Inside the hotel, a band played music in the main lobby every night we were there. The atmosphere was terrific. Overall - a wonderful experience. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlondieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

If you're looking for excellent service, convenience, good food, good drinks, comfortable clean rooms this RC may be for you.

We spent a great 3 days here and had a great time, not doing too much except eating, drinking, swimming and sleeping. And we went for a nice bike ride to the end of the key. And the Spa was good.

The service was great, really nice, generous and courteous staff. We came here rather than go to the Carribean because it was an easy convenient flight from NYC and we don't need a lot of entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorker2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

First of all, this is a nice property if you've never stayed at a Ritz Carlton. But if you have......Well.....

Pros:
Great bed, tasty Sunday Champagne Brunch (very expensive, but worth it!)........for the most part friendly staff. The property is beautiful, and they burn the most deliciously fragrant Mango scented candle in the common areas (I bought two to bring home!!), Cantina Beach restaurant

Cons:
No kiddie pool, a toddler had an accident in the main pool(her mother cleaned her in the pool and there was waste in the water), and no staff member stopped her.......the club level lounge was a HUGE disappointment (food selection, the size of the room, very unattentive staff except for a few people, tables went uncleared for long periods of time, no dvds for guest use).......the spa wasn't inviting at all, no spa menus in guestroom, and it's hidden off of the lobby entrance......no local attraction magazines

Bottom line

Been here.........going to Ritz Carlton Cancun or Molasses Reef next year. If you want a REALLY great resort experience in FL, go to the Ritz Carlton Grande Lakes in Orlando....there's no beach of course but you won't miss it!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank tres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,198 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 212 in Miami Beach
287 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Address: 455 Grand Bay Drive, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range: $423 - $1,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Hotel Key Biscayne
Key Biscayne Ritz Carlton
Ritz Key Biscayne
Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing