We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for. You get a lot here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for. You get a lot here.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

And I'm sure you pay a lot here. And you get it.

If you are reading reviews of the R-C in KB, either price doesn't matter to you, or your company is paying and price doesn't matter to you. Either way, this place is wonderful.

My company paid for me to stay here 3 nights. First, great location, if being convenient to South Beach is not important. Thin but long, decent beach; two pools; nice gym; and all the gracious common areas you would expect. If you are here for the Sony Open Tennis, it's about a mile away with a shuttle running all day with no traffic. Perfect.

And everytime you turn around you bump into a cheerful employee holding a door, wishing you well, asking to help and otherwise going beyond what they're paid.

My room was large with high ceilings, a kitchenette, a bathroom the size of a bedroom (but no where near the shower to hang a towel...and no where in the shower to put soap...??) with turn-down service and chocolates. Nice.

That said, if they offer you #264, and you want a view of something other than the front driveway, ask for another room.

I had one wonderful breakfast (got the "continental buffet" which is the full buffet minus hot things), a truly memorable seared ahi tuna salad for a lunch, and a tasty mexican scallops dish for dinner at the beachside cantina restaurant.

Again, if you can afford it, or someone else can for you, and you want to be on Key Biscayne, the Ritz fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nagled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    465
    209
    116
    59
See reviews for
670
644
35
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just returned home last week from another great 9 night stay. We had club level accommodations and the staff could not have been more attentive to our every need. Wilson and his young professionals made our stay thoroughly enjoyable! The food presentations were very good. The staff at the beach were excellent as well. My son did eat at the lobby restaurant and bar a few times and again the staff and food was very good..The only suggestion I have is upon check in we were not offered a room upgrade and we were charged for internet service in the room . As a GOLD rewards member I am always upgraded and the staff usually knows there is no charge for the internet. The desk staff should be made aware of the Gold/ Platinum Ritz carlton status so that the guest does not need to request these things.(Since my spouse had already unpacked , we did not make an issue of this., but in the future it would be nice to be greeted as a return gold member guest..Overall a great stay and we look forward to returning next year at the same time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisa1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We are frequent travelers having been all over the world including The Americas, Europe, Africa and ASIA: the Ritz Carlton in Key Biscayne

It seems like the general manager is absent or inept because the staff is uncoordinated and badly trained if at all. I come from Los Angeles, and I am staying there with my mother who lives here in Miami and my aunt who is visiting from Italy.

First, the breakfast buffet is sub-par: it looks very small, limited offering and non professional chefs, it could be compared to the "buffet" you find when you go on a college trip to a dinky hotel. Obviously the prices are RITZ CARLTON's prices.

The pool area looks very messy, not very inviting.

We went outside to ask for a taxi and the valet asked us where we needed to go, we said to an island location within Key Biscayne and there it started the UNUSUAL haggling: this valet comes and tells my mother who is in her sixties, with a tone I would not use with my teenage niece, that there is no way we can find a taxi unless we go outside of the island because taxi drivers do not want to drive inside the island. On the other hand... because he was a "good hearted" guy MAYBE he could see if SOMEHOW he could find us a cab... It was clear we had to pay him something so he could do us this FAVOR. Unbelievable! We were so shocked about this type of blackmailing in a $500/night LUXURY hotel that we left on foot. While we were leaving a taxi cab was approaching the hotel and we stopped it, he immediately took us to the location where we wanted to go to.

The overall impression of this very expensive hotel is that there is very little, if any, supervision and training of the hotel staff. Not worth staying here at all.

There are plenty of equally high-end, newer and better run hotels all over Miami. For instance, my cousin and her husband are staying at the Betsy in Miami Beach: centrally located, great service, wonderful room, plenty of restaurants all around, white beach...

In summary this hotel needs to have much more involved management to prevent this CHEAP and TAWDRY activity that my family was UNFORTUNATELY exposed to.

Room Tip: Our room has the view of a roof of what seems to be a large warehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie S, Executive office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Bianca d,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your feedback about your recent visit. We are very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and would be most appreciative for the opportunity to personally speak with you.
Kindly contact the Executive Office at 305-365-4500, at your convenience, should you wish to discuss your stay further.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This place is what you expect a Ritz-Carlton resort to be. Comfortable, convenient, and very nicely appointed all around. The location is great if you want to be away from the busy Miami streets and simply relax at the beach. The staff, naturally, is very helpful, as you would expect from this kind of facility. But I found them to be excessively nice, if there can be too much of a good thing. I got tired of being asked many times what my name was, where I came from, if I was enjoying my stay, etc. These annoying repetitive questions were asked over and over again. I am quite certain that I will be helped by their wonderful staff whenever I need and seek for help, but I do not want to be disturbed with their incessant interrogation. Kudos to the ladies at the breakfast counter at the bar who limited themselves to a good morning, a smile and fast service, and to Sandra at the beach, with whom WE initiated a conversation. That is enough. Whoever is training these guys went overboard and now has an army excessively “nice” people. I know some people find that this kind of “fake nice” is good. I prefer a more distant attitude. Let's face it, it is all impersonal anyway even if they treat you by your name for the brief moments you are with them. So, turn the chatter and hand shakes down please!

Green Features: They say they have environmentally-friendly practices, but you quickly notice the tremendous waste in excessive packaging when you order meals, the absence of recycling containers in the room or in common areas, to relate a few. There is certainly room to improve.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel and were very impressed. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are great -- very comfortable beds -- modern and oversized bathrooms, great grounds and 2 pools. The employees were all friendly and they were busy as the hotel was sold out due to a tennis tournament. There are 2 things to watch: (1) your wallet as the prices are very high, and, (2) the beach is, well, fair and the chairs could have been more comfortable.

All in all, a great stay, a great hotel, and very well run. Special kudos to Alex, the Concierge, and Alex, the Sous Chef! Chef Alex cooked us our fresh Mahi Mahi that we caught the day before while deep sea fishing, and Alex the Concierge made all of the arrangements for us. Make sure you ask for Alex!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winelover0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

At first I have to say that I have been to the place several times in the past and I basicly love this Hotel a lot. The Hotel is very nice and idealy located for the Tennis event we visit each year. But more and more I get the impression, that tey take advantage of the fact that during the tournament the Hotel is full anyway. We paid over $700 per night for a standard double room facing the village and on that side of the building the noise is quite strong. Breakfast and even the umbrellas at the beach where not included. All in all the Hotel needs to be a little refurbished. If you take close look, the cushions are dirty, the chaires chipped, the sunbeds at the beach are horrible and also at the pool you could expect some more space between the chairs and some nicer furniture.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelproette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie S, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Travelproette,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We truly value your loyal patronage and apologize that this stay did not meet your expectations as in past visits. Your overall satisfaction is very important to us and would be most appreciative for the opportunity to personally speak to you about the issues and concerns. Please contact the Executive Office at 305-365-4500, at your convenience should you wish to further discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a five night stay. The weather was beautiful and the hotel and staff were most accommodating. Upon arrival we were thrilled when the front desk granted my request for a room upgrade. We are Rewards members and were using points for the bulk of our stay.

From the concierge to the housekeeping staff, we were impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff. I special "shout out" to Omar in the mens spa. My husband said Omar has a way of making you feel like you are the most special guest at the Ritz. That means a lot considering we were there with all the tennis celebs in town for the Sony Open!

Is it expensive? Yes. But frankly, it is the Ritz Carlton so you should have a clue before you book this type of luxury hotel. Overall, a wonderful stay and we would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fran60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,070 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Address: 455 Grand Bay Drive, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Hotel Key Biscayne
Key Biscayne Ritz Carlton
Ritz Key Biscayne
Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing