We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent locale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent locale”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As you would expect from a Ritz the service at this location was great. The front desk staff were particularly helpful and gracious and the housekeeping and pool staff, in particular, were terrific. As you would also expect, this does not come without a cost. Breakfasts were very expensive. If you eat large at the buffet it is justified, but if you want something small you will pay dearly. I would recommend the club floor which averages out to the cost of the breakfast buffet cost, per person, but puts you on a higher floor (better view) and offers the convenience of multiple food services each day in the lovely concierge club.

The food in the restaurants were okay. The mexican restaurant was very pricey and the food was bland. The rumbar in the lobby is a good concept. The rums are mainstream. If you've never sampled its an interesting assortment. A rum afficiando will be disappointed. No rhum argricole.

Lobby music is lovely. The air conditioning in the public spaces borders on nordic. The heat of the rum warmed my frozen body.

The pools are averaged sized but nicely appointed. The staff was great! The adjacent beach is terrific.

I will stay again when my travels take me to the Miami area.

Room Tip: Club floor - 9th floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    465
    209
    116
    59
See reviews for
670
644
35
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Awesome from ck in to ck out played soccer in the garden, had the best breakfast and kindest server. The guest service agents were kind, did there jobs well, and offered assistance with all parts of my stay. Want to bring my girlfriend there to enjoy Miami and reveal a new perspective to her about how beautiful life can be when you strive for the best. Praying one day to return and play on the beach with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPolo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July 2012 for her Babymoon. It really was a great stay, one that we still talk about to this day. When we stayed it was hot, very hot. And with my wife being pregnant we were only able to last by the pool until around 1pm every day before retiring to the room. We would order room service for lunch and it was fresh and very good, even to our spoiled palates.

This hotel was perfect for our Babymoon because there was an adult only pool for us to relax, yet we look forward to taking our children there in the future because we recall there being a large and great family pool too.

Buffet breakfast was great and not cheap like some buffets. It's what you would expect at a Ritz

Tuna Burger at beachside restaurant was great

Keep your eyes open for HUGE lizards roaming the property. (Not harmful tho)

Lobby bar was a great place to have a drink before dinner

Valet service was quick and friendly

10 minute drive to Downtown Miami for some great eats

20-25 minute drive to south beach

About 30 minutes to Bal Harbor.

*do yourselves a favor. Rent a convertible, drive to dinner in Miami. On your back to the hotel after dinner turn around a take a look at Miami lit up at night. As a New Yorker, there's something about that view that was memorable. Take a look for yourselves.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mequon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent rooms, service etc. The food in the restaurants was very well prepared and the entire staff were very nice. The breakfast buffet had excellent variety and was well organized.
The pool was very good, better than the beach and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. You get the feel of an island resort within the City of Miami. The rooms are large with marble baths. The staff is extremely courteous. The only complaint I have is that the Spa is under construction until October. Therefore, there is no sauna, steam room, or hot tub. There is an outdoor hot tub and they have set up another area for massages. The other issue is that the walls are somewhat thin. Sound from your neighbors does bleed through. Nothing a few mojitos wont fix. Otherwise, the hotel and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travguru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Loved this hotel. We only used the larger pool, as we were traveling with a child. The Adults only pool, or Quiet Pool, looked very relaxing, but we had a lot of fun playing in the 'family' section. The water was perfect, the drinks were good, and the atmosphere was fun and relaxing. THe beach was nice to walk on as well, although the ocean was a little gray for me. The prices for food were pretty steep, as can be expected, but I thought they were a little higher than other RC properties I've stayed at. The Burger restaurant on the beach was by far our favorite. All in all would look forward to returning.
One additional note - my daughter accidentally left behind her favorite 'lovey' - the one she'd had since she was a baby. When we realized the mistake, we called the hotel, and not only had they recovered it, they shipped it back to us quickly - my daughter was very happy to have her pink poodle home safe :) It's that kind of service that keeps us returning to this brand.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stacyike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Almost on the spur of the moment, we decided to spend Labor Day Weekend at the Ritz-Carlton in Key Biscayne to enjoy the magnificent grounds and beach and treat ourselves to a few delicious meals. We were certainly not disappointed! First of all, we have rarely encountered such friendly and helpful staff, from the front desk that so graciously upgraded us to a spacious suite, to the valet who came running to the elevator when he saw us carrying our bag, to the spa front desk staff,, to the tennis facility front desk manager Lisa, to the server at Sunday brunch in the outdoor dining area. We ate dinner our first night at Cioppino in the hotel, and had a wonderful experience fom start to finish. The brunch was one of the best we have ever experienced anywhere, from sushi, to carving stations, the best eggs Benedict, free Bellini's and cappucino's. a whole room just for dessert (we loved the green tea creme brûlée). The beach area is beautiful and our package included free beach chairs and umbrella. There are two pools, one just for adults and the other for kids with a broad grassy area in between for soccer and volleyball. In the evening they had terrific shows for free geared for families with young kids but we enjoyed the Polynesian Show and Animal Safari as much as they did (kudos to the animal handlers who brought out such diverse creatures as a scorpion, tarantula, giant python, wallabee and porcupine. The spa area is under renovation (due to reopen in mid-October) but we still enjoyed a body cleanse, massage, and facial in their friendly temporary facility on the second floor. The fitness center will also be getting all new equipment in the same location. As for the tennis facility just down the road (short walk), they have a terrific daily clinic at 9:00 for $40, $22 if you are a Florida resident, and the best pro's for lessons (we had this great young guy from New Zealand!). All in all, a superb weekend and my compliments to the staff for their incredible congeniality and positive attitude. We will soon be back for sure,and stay longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,069 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Address: 455 Grand Bay Drive, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Hotel Key Biscayne
Key Biscayne Ritz Carlton
Ritz Key Biscayne
Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing