We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza Restaurant - CLOSED

The Plaza Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We ate here twice. Wonderful food and nice staff.
Next year (2013) we'll be back!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iagoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
247 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“should have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

key biscayne has many good restaurants. the plaza opened a few years back and every winter, when we visit, we have been meaning to give them a try. we dined there recently with a friend and it was somewhat disappointing. the service was very slow even though the place was nearly empty. the food was okay but not great. my guess is that this place will not make it. if you want really good Italian food on the island try Costa Med.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food and very courteous waiter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I were in Key Biscayne after a Carnival Cruise on the Liberty. We spent 2 days here and the very first restaurant we tried was the Plaza. He had the Veal Vitello Parmigiana and I had the Lasagne Bolognese. From the moment we arrived our waiter Fabio was terrific. We sat outside on the terrace and their was a cool breeze flowing. The temperature was about 84 today. Food was not only great to eat but was reasonabley priced as well. $25.95 for Veal and 15.95 for my Lasagne. Alot to offer in the range of food from steaks, to italian, to seafood dishes....Relaxed atmosphere not too stuffy. Would recommend to anyone and if ever back in Key Biscayne I would not hesitate to go here again for a meal. :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Snooty Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Will NOT go again. Food was terribly expensive for what it is, service haughty and underperforming. Much better places to choose from here on the Key - like Forno & Fornelli, recently opened Italian place who really try to please and make you feel wanted as a customer!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A downhill direction??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Not a completely satisfactory experience. The table was never set properly, we had to ask for butter, we were never given or offered the vinegar and oil that other tables had inside, we were never asked whether we wanted regular or sparkling water, we we never asked if we wanted wine or cocktails, we were never told about the specials the cesar salad lettuce was not fresh and it was overdressed, the eggplant parmigiana veal parmegiana and veal limon were good, the veal saltimbocca was fair at best. The service was cold as though they didn't care whether we were there or not. These folks have really lost their charm.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza Restaurant also viewed

 
Key Biscayne, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing