We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummed- Miami has closed Jimbo's for Good”
Review of Jimbo's - CLOSED

Jimbo's
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Bummed- Miami has closed Jimbo's for Good”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We ventured out to Jimbo's on April 14, 2012. We payed the $5 entrance fee to get into the park... only to find a fence erected around most of the remains of Jimbo's and "No Parking Anytime" signs all about.

I'm bummed, I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. They've used this location for many TV shows and movies (Dexter, among them). We got a few pictures of the remains before the City clears everything away

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank classicdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A must for fans of Old-School dives.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Bike over to Virginia Key on a sunny afternoon and you will be rewarded by an ice cold can of brew sold straight out of a shipping container turned bar. This place appears to be a junkyard, but if you look closely you'll see it's actually a real Old- Florida hang out steeped in lore...and cat urine.

The folks running it were so friendly and authentic. Take short hike out to the point once you have your beer or sit on the rickety dock out back waiting for the manatees to show up. This was the most down-home place I saw in Miami. Maybe it's the only place left.

(Bikes don't have to pay the entrance fee for the park. Even though the sign says - Everyone pays $5...no exceptions.)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
410 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Cold beer and bocce”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I've lived in Miami over 30 years and finally gave in and drove out to this dive on Virginia Key. There is no food here, and there should not be. The surroundings are filthy with ill cats and dogs, plus bad aggressive raccoons, so we did not get any smoked fish. The beer on ice is the best, although the proprietor ripped us off $1 in change. Don't wear white if you plan to sit anywhere. The joint is certainly colorful and we took some photos. We were taken for tourists and we let them think that. There is a shaded bocce court - what better way to while away an afternoon than a game right next to the gorgeous water, drink beer, and smell the weed. Great place to ride your bike to.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have been to Jimbos twice, both times we have been to Florida. The fish is excellent, and the atmosphere is great. We were not too scared off to bring children back the second time. There is a pretty lagoon out back where we saw a manatee splashing around from a distance.

  • Visited June 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Makes A Great Story”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This place is a total dive beyond anything you have probably ever experienced. It is a collection of shacks, burning garbage, junked furniture, and characters who are "high" on booze and marajuana. The surly "waiter" pulled out a slab of smoked tuna (we had our choice of tuna or salmon), gave us a paper towel, and a container of hot sauce. You could pull out a cold soda or beer from a cooler. You then plopped down at whatever makeshift table and chairs you could find. We were immediately surrounded by feral cats trying to get our fish. I am giving this place 5 stars not because it is a good place to eat but it is an adventure we will talk about for years to come. Not for everyone though!!! Be sure to tell the gate keeper to the park that you are going to Jimbo's as he then won't charge you the $5 park fee.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimbo's also viewed

 
Key Biscayne, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing