We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undiscovered gem of a (quiet) beach!”

Lawrenceville, GA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem of a (quiet) beach!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I disagree with an earlier reviewer, who was apparently at Amelia Island State Park the same weekend we were.

We were in a 4x4, and we explored all sections of the park until we found the white sand area, with waves - you have to drive past the protected, waveless inlet where the brown sand is to get there. Almost everyone we saw was fishing but we went to swim and had a great time. The sand and waves were not as perfect as Huguenot (where we went the next day), but the lack of crowds during Labor Day weekend more than made up for it!

If you don't have a 4x4 (a good one! That white sand was tricky even for some of the truck drivers!), I'd say skip this beach because you'll have to walk a very long way, or you'll miss the pretty side of the peninsula.

If you're looking to people-watch, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a (4x4) driveable, uncrowded, low-key beach that offers mostly just sun and sand to play or fish, this place is near perfect.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Southern_Daytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A beach, hard sand, brownish water .. 2$ per person, for what???”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent one day in Jackaonville and were looking forward to visit the Amelia and Talbot State Parks. You can drive with your 4WD along the beach, there are only few people sun burning and fishing, even on labor day. We couldn't figure what is so special here. Had seen nicer beaches for no money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KKBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiln, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time riding the horses. The horses are gentle and trained to walk the trail with little to no guidance by the handler.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay for fishing!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband & I made a special trip to visit Amelia Island on March 14th this year. We were on our way back home from Clearwater, Florida. Access getting to the actual Beach, from the parking lot, is rather narrow, before opening up along the true Beach. There honestly isn't much there, but would be alright if you're a fisherman! The Beach itself & the Ocean is pretty, and there were large rolling Ocean waves the day we visited. There was a pier for the fisherman to fish from. I would have been quite disappointed if I had specificly planned a vacation for this area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not sure what to do here - except Beach access”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to two of these and could not really find any signs or trails - just a lot and access to the beach. pretty though...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank naturegirlcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island State Park also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing