We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verandah

Verandah
Reserve with OpenTable
Verandah is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 154 Restaurants in Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the tranquil Racquet Park tennis facility, diners view the natural canopy of live oak trees from their table at the Verandah restaurant, specializing in southern inspired fare and fresh traditional seafood. Bringing the bounty of the local Atlantic Ocean and neighboring farmers directly to plates of members and guests, the Verandah features an array of the areas freshest seafood in an inviting, family-friendly setting. Take a seat in the bar for the perfect place to end your day or begin your evening with a selection from our approachable list of wines. Gather at the Verandah for happy hour after a day of professional instruction on our acclaimed Har-Tru clay tennis courts or before sitting down to the bounty of the sea in our dining room.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely restaurant. Interesting menu and good wine list. Service very friendly but a little slow. All in all a great evening. The cocktails were delicious and creative . Food came out a little cold but still tasted great. Very fresh local shrimp. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    76
    51
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Our exerience was not great, but would try it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We came here for the Grouper, and were disappointed. Nice atmosphere for a nice dinner out. I would give this restaurant another try, but would stay away from the Grouper frankly. The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. He spent a lot of time with us (and other tables) up front to go over everything. From that point the service falls down. He gave us a very good recommendation on the wine, which we enjoyed. Given the number of tables he had, he needed help from others and they let him down frankly. Service was friendly but slow. They forgot to bring things (e.g., sauces for the fish) and we had to poor our own wine (which was awkward for such a nice place, as they put the chiller next to my wife, which meant either she had to poor or I had to reach across her as the bottle dripped from the ice water). Now back to the food. We started with two appetizers (i.e., the deviled eggs and the Verandah special which was a combination of crab cakes, BBQ shrimp and fried green tomatoes). The fried green tomatoes were EXCELLENT and we wished we had just ordered that. The deviled eggs were bland and disappointing, as were the crab cakes. The BBQ shrimp were very good. For our main course, I had the grouper with blue crab topping that they are known for and my wife had the simply grilled grouper with side sauces. Both grouper dishes were bland and over cooked. Even the crab and sauces could not hide the dryness of the fish. A highlight were the corn muffins - apparently the chef's grandmother's recipe. We took a few of these to go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Verandah, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to dine at The Verandah, but we genuinely wish that your experience could have been better. We do appreciate your thoroughness - it really helps us evaluate our service and gives us an opportunity to see areas where improvement is needed. We're glad that you found your server to be both friendly and knowledgeable, but we do apologize if the rest of the staff failed to execute the finer points of service. Your feedback has also been shared with our culinary team and we trust that they will use your comments constructively so that the next time you return, your experience will be noticeably different. Once again, thank you for the detailed review. Please come visit us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great menu and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The seafood selections were great, servers were helpful, good bar area. Management could add staff for bussing the tables, it was understaffed, yet the young man doing the work was very attentive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeachGolfer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worthy of 5 stars as the food and the service were A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Authentic preparation of very fresh seafood southern style. The shrimp with grits was awesome !!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank caboken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very nice staff but service was SLOW. By the time we got our food which was about 45-50 min after ordering we were no longer hungry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pris34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Verandah, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for dining at the Verandah restaurant. We're glad you were impressed by our staff's friendliness, but we would like to apologize for the long wait time that you experienced during your dinner. The Management team and the Food & Beverage Director have been notified of your review and both are working to improve execution times within the kitchen. We do hope that you will come back and let us better serve you. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verandah also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing