We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumpdeliocious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verandah

Verandah
Reserve with OpenTable
Verandah is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 154 Restaurants in Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the tranquil Racquet Park tennis facility, diners view the natural canopy of live oak trees from their table at the Verandah restaurant, specializing in southern inspired fare and fresh traditional seafood. Bringing the bounty of the local Atlantic Ocean and neighboring farmers directly to plates of members and guests, the Verandah features an array of the areas freshest seafood in an inviting, family-friendly setting. Take a seat in the bar for the perfect place to end your day or begin your evening with a selection from our approachable list of wines. Gather at the Verandah for happy hour after a day of professional instruction on our acclaimed Har-Tru clay tennis courts or before sitting down to the bounty of the sea in our dining room.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Scrumpdeliocious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has it all - cool atmosphere, exceptional service (Sam) & scrumpdeliocious seafood with a southern flair. The corn soup, corn muffins, crab cakes, BBQ shrimp, fried green tomatoes, pecan crusted snapper, blue crab topped grouper, Patz & Hall Chardonnay, and vanilla bourbon ice cream (w/ a shot of bourbon on the side) were all ridiculously phenomal!!! HIGHLY recommend!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WooHooWineWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    75
    51
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very stylish, with super attentive service. The cream of corn soup was wow-that's-good good. The salad and the fish medley were both very good but nothing to get excited about (unlike the soup).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardbondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Verandah, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on The Verandah! It sounds like you appreciated our most recent renovations and we absolutely love that you found the staff to be super-attentive. We couldn't agree more about the cream of corn soup (it's delicious!), but we're sorry to hear that our other courses didn't knock your socks off like the soup did. Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The "New" Verandah was a huge disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Omni has destroyed The Verandah Restaurant. Other than fish, the new menu has little variety, the portion sizes have been cut in half, the kitchen is slow to put out the food and they've increased the prices.

The restaurant's most delicious staples -- the house salad, Fernandina Fried Shrimp, garlic whipped potatoes and vegetable medley (among others) are gone. The famous Amelia Mud Pie is now just half-melted chocolate ice cream in Oreo crust -- not even close to the original recipe. They even stopped selling frozen drinks from the bar.

Everything was bland -- the chicken, the fried green tomatoes and even the oysters. If you've never had a tasteless fried oyster you can find it here. You can get better fried shrimp at Long John Silver's. They were small and fried to a crisp golden black.

For vegetables, the new focus is on corn & brussel sprouts, the bread basket is corn bread (no variety of rolls), and the "cole slaw" was a handful of house salad covered in a little dressing. I've never seen cole slaw with lettuce in it before. From first course to last, the food was consistently horrible.

I am a resident of Amelia Island and have been eating at The Verandah for over 30 years. I always ranked it in my top three local restaurants. On average, I have eaten at it about once a month. Take it from a local, if you are visiting from out of town there are now at least 20 better dinner options. Don't waste your money here -- you'll be missing out on all the other great local restaurants. RIP Verandah.

Also, ignore any reviews made prior to January 2013. They are for the original Verandah -- not the Omni's recently "re-launched" restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Verandah, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We sincerely apologize that your most recent visit at the Verandah was an unpleasant one. Your comments have been shared with both our Director of Food & Beverage and our Executive Chef, and they will certainly appreciate your feedback. We did recently freshen up Verandah’s menu, focusing on locally-sourced seafood with a southern twist, but the staples that you refer to, like the fried local Fernandina shrimp, are still offered on our Sunday Supper menu. We deeply regret that you found the other courses to be subpar and the overall meal a disappointment. Thank you for being such a loyal customer over the years. We hope that your past experiences will outshine your latest one and that you’ll give us another opportunity to win back your devotion once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, CA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant w/ Southern twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ate here while staying at the resort. Seafood w/ Southern flair. Really enjoyed our meal. Service was VERY attentive. Set in a nice setting by the tennis courts.
Started w/ the deviled eggs & fried green tomatoes. Both were very good. Followed w/ the Catfish and chips. Good, but probably could have been seasoned more for my taste.
Wines were very reasonably priced.
Would eat here again if I ever return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westphillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Verandah, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive feedback on the Verandah. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and you received attentive service! The deviled eggs and fried green tomatoes are both fabulous but I'll share your comment on the catfish with our chef. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Save your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everyone in our party of 9 agreed that this was absolutely the worst meal we've ever eaten at The Verandah. We had reservations and were seated within 5 minutes of arrival. As locals and before renovations were completed with the re-imagined menu, The Verandah's food was good and the service was attentive. The renovations are nicely done with an Asian flare, but the food was terrible and the service was even worse. Our wine arrived quickly, but after ordering, we waited about 30 minutes as our food began to dribble out from the kitchen. Several of us got cold food. The ahi tuna I ordered was cold, over cooked, and included veggies that were grilled and over cooked. An order of steak for a family member was not cooked to order. Two ordered chicken. Neither one liked it. While we sat to enjoy our wine after dinner (2 bottles of red wine) dishes were being cleared from the table. Overall, the whole evening was disappointing. Until the menu gets better, we'll consider other local restaurants first.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Verandah, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate you giving us your feedback and for being a loyal guest at the Verandah but I'm deeply upset you did not enjoy your recent dinner with us. I'm glad to hear you were seated promptly and like the renovations but I apologize that the food was not cooked properly and your service was poor. Management has reviewed your feedback and will adjust our services based on your review. I hope your many positive experiences with us in the past will allow you to give us another chance to improve your latest dinner with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verandah also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing