We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful area”

Amelia Island Historic District
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“delightful area”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The area is easily walkable especially using the very good leaflets giving your such much useful information.Also so close to the harbour and all the great facilities there. Boats rides, playing boules!! and enjoying the pelicans.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cyprusfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    92
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland TN
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“We loved this historic town!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came on the 3rd of July and it was very crowded, but still has lots to offer. The view of the river and the walk on the dock was relaxing. We even returned later that evening with our delicious ice cream from a local shop. A great place to ride your bike and see the Island. Our teens enjoyed the novelty shops and the stories and history about pirates. A variety of restaurants
to choose from. We hope to visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LakelandLady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quaint place to go”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went for an afternoon, not a massive amount there but very pleasant, lovely, unique little shops. Parking can get busy but we had no problems find a place to park. Overall a nice little visit for a couple of hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bristolboy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No Drinking Permitted”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family & I have vacationed at Amelia Island for a number of years as well as held business meetings at Amelia Island. In the past we had wonderful experiences; however, this summer was very disappointing. In the past we were permitted to enjoy an "adult beverage" while lounging by the beach. Last week it was as if the police force were earning their income on a commission basis depending on how many tourist they could ticket. Two members in our group received tickets for drinking their "adult beverage" while reading at the beach. No rough or roughty behavior at all was going on. "Reading" was the activity. We personally witnessed the officers going person to person writing tickets to the tourist that were drinking any adult beverages. They were also boasting that they had given out at least 50 or 60 something tickets the day before. I told the officers that we were sorry and did not realize that no drinking was permitted on the beach and that we did not see any signs posted or we would not have had a beverage at the beach. It was recommended that we go to another beach for our vacation in the future. Others at the beach came up & shared their experience with the officers. Neither my family or our business will schedule future trips or business meetings at Amelia Island. We could have done without an adult beverage at the beach; however, I don't care to revisit a place that treats tourist like a 'meal ticket'.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank hank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique gifts for everyone”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent unique souveniers, plus lots of great ideas for decorating your home or beach house. Loved browsing the stores and having lunch on the water.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Historic District also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing