We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Walker Villas Eh... Plantation Yes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the beach walker villas in the plantation and our particular unit was average. I believe these are individually owned. These villas seemed to be the oldest of the surrounding villas which explains the small bathrooms and balconies. However this would also be the reason they are more "affordable" than other island properties. The pool and walk way to the beach were very nice and well kept. The plantation itself was beautiful with an abundance of live oaks, fishing ponds, golf course, parks and walking trails. Great for bike riding! Most disappointing to me personally was the beach itself. It is very "shelly" not the kind of sand you dig your toes into and they seem to be fighting erosion like many others on the Atlantic coast. My advice would be to check out other properties on the island if your budget allows if not the beach walker is certainly not horrible by any means , they are just your average older condo units.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank mycaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

loved the area and lots to do however the rooms were really tired loved having the kitchen and patio cleaning service good reception area under renovation but everyone tried to be very helpful good golf packages good spa great beaches overall very nice appears that the renovations made to hotel will really be spectacular

Room Tip: ask for sea view and do not worry about the higher floors there are elevators to help with lugga...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is our third trip to AIP. The past two stays we have stayed at the hotel, however as much construction is going on, we opted to rent a villa. We also wanted the freedom to have a light breakfast and simple lunches without having to go to a restaurant and deal with waits - the beach was calling! We had a place at Sea Dunes Villas, which is about 1/2 of a mile south of the hotel. Our one BR condo was spacious, clean, well appointed and stocked with all the necessary utensils. The view from our private balcony was spectacular.

Activities are varied, with great golf (2 stunning courses), tennis, and of course the pool and the beach. Sea Dunes shares a pool with some of the condos in the area. Pool was heavily patrionized, especially with families. The children loved the in-pool fountains. The poolside cafe food was good, and the service very good even when they were slammed with patrons.

If you like to cycle, whether it be just peddling around the community, or serious cycling, there is great biking. A1A has a good bike lane which you can use North to Fernadina Beach or South all the way to Mayport.. Both routes are scenic and flat.

As this is a gated community, safety and security were good, so we had no worries about leaving our bikes on the bike rack or concerns about our car. Within the Plantation itself, traffic is light, favoring cyclists, pedestrians, and golf carts. The roads are simply beautiful with live oaks and spanish moss overhanging the roads.

The staff was extremely professional. Our villa was cleaned daily, and the front desk very accommodating. We enjoyed the Veranda restaurant and the shops were interesting and well stocked.

Overall, this is our favorite spot to get away and relax and play. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailor6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Villas of Amelia Island Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your thorough review and excellent rating of the Villas of Amelia Island Plantation. It's wonderful to hear you took advantage of our resort amenities and found your experience enjoyable despite the renovations taking place next to the current hotel and conference center. We look forward to you continuing your tradition of visiting our beautiful property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our first trip to the Villas of Amelia Island. Our family found our three bedroom condo quite beautiful and a good value for Spring Break. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was sufficient to allow us to create some basic meals. If I were coming for the first time, here is what I wish someone would have told me:
1 - The only 'free' umbrellas and chairs are in front of the main hotel. If you plan to use any other part of the enormous beach, you need to bring your own. The 'free' umbrellas are limited and are taken down if the winds kick higher than 10 MPH (or so). (but the non-free umbrellas can stay up fine).
2 - There are no beach towels available in any of pools near the villas, but are available in the far south pool (with a sign saying don’t take the towels from this area). (Note - we took them to our pool... sorry!)
3 - The kids club was a lot of fun for our 6, 8 and 10 year old. No need to be anxious about room.. there was plenty!
4 - The resort passes are not waterproof (though they look like they are). Mine disintegrated on the 3rd day while swimming.
5 - Cars are a pain to drive around, but the go-carts were a GREAT thing to have around.... Highly recommend getting one.
6 - All rooms have internet (good). The internet is hard wired... this is somewhat BAD if you have an iPad! (I knew this ahead of time and brought a wireless router.. but be prepared!)
7 - Take advantage of the free programs... the Smores on the beach were AWESOME!
8 - Bring bug spray. Something (actually, about 20 somethings) bit the heck out of my legs on the beach.
9 – The hotel is kind enough to incorporate an automatic 20% gratuity into most purchases to save you the embarrassment of having to add two numbers together without a calculator. Even when you do have bad service (we were not thrilled with the Verandah), it’s 20%.

This place is great for families and felt safe. We would return again IF the following is addressed....

When we arrived in our Villa, I didn't find a recycling can. We found in the 'about us' guide that the resort was an 'award winning' facility and that they care about the environment. (I wish I copied down the exact statement). It said that any member of the staff would be glad to take your recycling if you were unable to find a proper receptacle.

Guess what.... <beginning of rant > there was not a SINGLE VISABLE recycling can ANYWHERE on the ENTIRE resort... just plan trash cans with tons of plastic and aluminum tossed away. I asked no fewer than four members of the staff, which included members of the pool, beach, and housekeeping teams. Without exception, every single member told me with a straight face 'we don't recycle'. OK... I am not some tree hugging hippie, but I do know right from wrong. This resort is enormous and should be ashamed to call themselves 'award winning', but clearly don't give a hoot in any way about recycling. This should be a no-brainer…. Provide the cans and don’t lie about caring about the environment <end of rant>

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Villas of Amelia Island Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your thorough review of our property and your excellent rating. Currently the complimentary umbrellas are portable and sensitive to windy conditions. For an additional fee, guests may purchase the stationary umbrellas that are similar to purchasing a cabana. Complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas are available in front of the hotel only. Our other beach locations have on-call supervisors with an additional fee for rentals. We apologize about the lack of towels at your villa location. Towels are available at the Dunes Club pool and your concern will be brought to the attention of our executive team and community managers. We are happy to hear you took advantage of our island hoppers (golf carts) to navigate the resort, not only are they convenient but fun! Currently all villas have hard-wired internet, but adding WiFi is consistently examined. All hotel rooms at the hotel include complimentary WiFi.

You raise a valid concern in regards to recycling, unfortunately recycling bins are not placed at the villa communities, however, you will find bins at the reception center, conference center and at The Verandah restaurant. Our staff actively participates in paper, plastic and metal recycling and the use of clean and green products is seen throughout our resort whether it's in our housekeeping department or at The Spa. We utilize reclaimed water on our Audubon Certified golf course; participate in the Project Planet linen and towel re-use program; and energy management systems in our hotel rooms. The management and staff of Amelia Island Plantation are continually finding ways to improve and better protect, restore and conserve our natural resources. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights in a 3 bedroom villa. The unit we were assigned was very dated and musty and in need of repair. The dryer was broken,carpet stained and dirty, we had problems with kitchen faucet, bathtub,screen doors that fell off the track, sliding glass doors that did not work well.We spoke to several people at the front desk, including a supervisor, who either couldn't help us, or promised to get back to us and never did. We eventually had the room rate adjusted, but it did not make up for an uncomfortable 4 nights. The restaurants were pricey and not very good. Service was friendly but seemed unorganized. This place was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Villas of Amelia Island Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property and your patronage, we take your feedback and concerns very seriously and appreciate your detailed experience to address your concerns appropriately. We are committed to improving our villa accommodations by working directly with each villa owner. Your comments have been forwarded to our rental properties team as well as housekeeping, engineering and front office staff. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort, inconvenience and lack of response you may have experienced while visiting with us. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again so that you may experience accommodations and service levels that are indicative of our high standards. Please contact us directly if there is anything we can do further to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This penthouse "villa" condo with 3 bedrooms was ideal for our family. On the beach, beautiful ocean breezes and views, warm pool with bar & grill. The 3 couples stayed here with kitchen, roomy balcony, liv-ding room, 3 bed/4 baths for the cost of one hotel room down the road. The staff had lots of kids programs, plus there's golf, bike rentals and much more. Omni recently took over and is renovating. We recommend to groups who like sharing space and fun in an informal yet very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were a group of guys staying for a 4 night golf vacation. We stayed in the Shipyard building, 3 bdr, 3 bath condo...

Room had a great view overlooking the pool with the ocean in the background. However.....no towels are provided for the pool...no chairs at the beach....you're expected to bring your own!

Shuttles take you everywhere....wait is 5 minutes to 35 minutes...hard to tell....

Good news for golfers...both courses are very nice---uncrowded when we were there....but mucho construction going on (no clubhouse!!).

For the price we got---not a bad deal----breakfast buffet is excellent---omelettes, meats, smoked salmon....but I wouldn't be hurrying back....

P.S. Our "Resort Fee" was waived....I've heard it can be $ 40 per person per day...if that's so---outrageous!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank par44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visit_OAIP, Manager at Villas of Amelia Island Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

It was our pleasure to host your golf group. Here at the Villas of Amelia Island Plantation and Omni Amelia Island Plantation we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service, championship golf and first class amenities. Currently towel and beach chair service is "on-call" at the Shipwatch villa location due to occupancy levels. Property shuttles may also be called to any location throughout the 1,350 acre resort and community, and generally operate on a 15-20 minute advance notice. We apologize if there was a delay in your service.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, the golf courses and breakfast buffet at Sunrise Cafe. In regards to the resort fee, Villa units are charged $40 per day, not per person. Thank you for your review and your patronage. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amelia Island hotels
7.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
660 reviews
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,429 reviews
7.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,496 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
507 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas of Amelia Island Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of Amelia Island Plantation

Address: 39 Beach Lagoon Rd, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amelia Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amelia Island
Price Range: $155 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas of Amelia Island Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas of Amelia Island Plantation sprawl across 1,350 beautiful and isolated acres, along Florida's north eastern coastline, and adjacent to the historic city of Fernandina. The Villas overlook the blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean on the east and the Intracoastal Waterway on the west. Though private, secluded and protected by a gated entry, the location is a convenient 45 minute drive away from downtown Jacksonville and 29 miles from Jacksonville International Airport. Each villa is independently owned, therefore unique and different. Units come in varying sizes and locations, including ocean view, resort view and tennis view single guest rooms, as well as one-, two- and three-bedroom units, ideal for larger parties, and feature fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, spacious living rooms, multiple baths and private bedrooms. Most complexes have at least one pool. Only guests booking units through The Villas of Amelia Island receive exclusive access to resort amenities of the Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Villas of Amelia Island Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Of Amelia Island Plantation Hotel Amelia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing