We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of American Beach

American Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of nine sites along the African-American Heritage Trail, this area founded in 1935 was Florida's first African-American beach.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Bbcrdexesebsexrsrssexetxextestextestestestestestextexdead? Sad place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice uncrowded beach that you can drive on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The sand is soft, so 4x4 is a must. There is a sign that says you need a permit, but there is no obvious place to buy one. The beach is quiet, uncrowded and beautiful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Breathtaking beach with much history. Never anyone around. You can walk for miles. Birds, shells just great can't say enough

Helpful?
1 Thank chinapalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Friendly People, I love this Beach and I never see a crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I've been going to this Beach every May for about 4 years and I will be going again in May 2012. I misplaced the address of the Lady that I talked to a few years ago and she lives on Lewis Street and grew up in the area. We talked for along time and she was very Helpful. I Metal Detect ( in the Water ) and she would remember me if anyone knows whom I was talking to. please let me know her address. I took her a Gift last year but could not find her, she might be in her late 40's. I park at Burney Park and never had any problems. I was scared the 1st time ,since I didn't see anyone at the Main Entrance to the Beach around Lewis Street where the Metal Plaque used to be on the Building. It's too sandy for me to drive on the beach since I only have a 2 wheel drive. gosports1@aol.com

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank walker1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint Beach Town - full of history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

So worth the visit... the town is cute and quaint. There is great shelling on the beach and the largest sand dune system in North America.

Helpful?
3 Thank raineenyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Beach also viewed

 
Amelia Island, FL
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to American Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing