We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Need to Look Any Further”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club
Valdosta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Need to Look Any Further”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed in unit B-157 for 5 nights and instantly fell in love with the property! The accomodations were simple yet beautiful. The unit was remodeled a year ago and so comfortable. If you like nice sheets and thick towels, this is the condo for you. The view from the 5th floor was breathtaking. The grounds on the property are spectacular and the pools (yes, there are two) were so much bigger than most condos in the area. There is so much to do on the Island. One of our favorite restaurants was PLAE on The Plantation. Be sure to make reservations. Another great restautant right on the water was Sliders. They have just remodeled and added on upstairs outdoor area that is fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just returned north from our stay at unit B131, a deluxe two bedroom unit. It is a beautiful, upgraded unit with all new kitchen appliances. The unit has an exceptional view from the LR and both bedrooms. Each BR has its own deck and they are great places to lounge, have a cocktail and read a book. We loved having dinner at Bar-Zin which is about a 3 minute drive and also Jade Bistro for some Asian fusion fare. The beach is outstanding and truly one of the best locations I've ever been to. We will definitely ask for this unit next year when we return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAF3546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just returned from our Amelia Island family vacation. We stayed at the Amelia Surf & Racquet Club, unit C132, which is a corner 6th floor unit. The views were awesome!! It had unobstructed views both up and down the beach. It had three bedrooms and three baths, which was perfect for the needs of our family. The full kitchen had everything we needed to cook most meals together and eat at the dining room table. There was also a small table by the window and another table on the balcony. The pools were never very crowded and the beach was nice and not crowded either. Beach chairs are not provided. There are four tennis courts, however, you have to time it just right to use them because they turn sprinklers on them!

We had a wonderful time and I would definitely stay at the Amelia Surf and Racquet again! It is nestled between the Ritz Carlton and the Amelia Island Plantation, right on the beach. It is conveniently located, just a short drive to grocery stores and other shopping. The historic area and the dock are great places to hang out, there are some really nice restaurants. I recommend the candlelight tour at Fort Clinch on Friday and Saturday nights, the Amelia Island Historical Museum, the Amelia River Cruises (view the wild horses of Cumberland Island), Sliders Seaside Grill, The Palace Saloon for a Pirate's Punch and the Waterway Restaurant (I think that's what it was called, it's at the docks by historical area) for a Chocolate Martini!

We also spent a day in St. Augustine (not long enough!) and a day in Jacksonville, but we returned every night to the comfort of our room in the Amelia Surf and Racquet Club.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views, and the room we were in provided views from more than one direction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SHarrisonKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family stayed for a three night vacation in late June 2012 (Room B-131). The view from every room was amazing! Both bedrooms had huge sliding glass doors leading to private balconies. It was fantastic to just lounge around and read (and nap!) listening to the sound of the waves crashing upon the shore. The room was tastefully decorated and clean, very clean. And well stocked with the little necessities you sometimes forget on a vacation (e.g.laundry detergent).

The property was immaculate and well landscaped. A quick little walk over the boardwalk takes you right down to the Atlantic shore. The pools were wonderful.

The other guests were friendly and it was a pleasure talking with them.

My wife and I are runners and there was plenty of opportunity. There is of course beach running, but also, the road leading up to the resort's property is beautiful! Lush greenery forms a natural canopy of trees that shade the winding and meandering sidewalk ( my 3 yr-daughter said it was a "tunnel of trees"). Perfect for a run!

Overall it was a wonderful, down to earth vacation. And well needed!

Room Tip: Building B has pools on either side of it, so you can usually find a quick vantage point to decide w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My family has been going to the Gulf side of Florida for the past 30 years. We were looking for a new place this year and settled on Amelia Island and the Surf and Racquet club, unit B-118. Our stay was from June 16-23. Generally we were pleased with the room, except check-in was at 4pm and our room was not ready until 5. The pools are very nice and are rarely ever crowded. The Atlantic side is naturally quite windy, and the surf can be rough. It is still quite nice, but make sure you bring your own chairs and shade, since the Condo does not provide this. There is a choice of grocery stores and quite a few restaurants nearby. The old Town of Fernandina Beach provides plenty of shopping and eating choices. The best restaurant has nothing to do with seafood, because it is Moon River Pizza. We ate seafood at Crabtrap, which was fairly good. Typically, most coastal area restaurants are overpriced, because they know you are assuming they just caught it fresh. It is no better than what you can find inland. I would definitely go back to Amelia Surf and Racquet.

Room Tip: If you are on the bottom floor, you can walk straight from your patio to the beach. Otherwise you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxedAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed here before in 2010 and our room was dirty... But this time was great, nice and clean. And the staff there is so friendly. Well be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just returned from our week stay and had a great experience! They have just updated there pools and some landscaping. I have stayed at a property on Amelia Island Plantation as recent as two years ago and while it was more updated in terms of furnishing it was more expensive. Amelia Surf and Raquet Club is nestled right next to the Ritz Carlton and is at the safest and most desirable location on the island. The pools are just a few feet away from any condo and the beach is about a100 yards from any condo on the property. Which means a lot if your like me and dragging a family of fours stuff to the beach two times a day! The staff was eager to address any concerns I had ,especially Kim, and made sure to try and place me in the condo that best suited me and my family. Some condos might be a little old fashioned in terms of furnishing, but it's the best bang for your buck on the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amelia Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,398 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
654 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,433 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Amelia Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 4800 Amelia Island Pkwy, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5737
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Amelia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amelia Surf & Racquet Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Amelia Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Surf And Racquet Club
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Island Surf Racquet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing