We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Amelia Island
North Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location for families”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the Sailmaker townhouses with family for a long weekend. We had an end unit 2nd floor townhouse which gave us a great ocean view. It is a short walk to the beach and to the pool.
Our unit was very nicely decorated and clean.
We had other family members staying on a ground floor unit and there unit was much darker with not as nice a view so if you can do the stairs I would stay on an upper floor. Beautiful area.

Room Tip: Would choose an upper floor for better views and an end unit if you can do the 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelkms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Ritz was overfilled for conference so took a room here as alternative. Offered full access to Ritz amenities and facility, but no daily maid service without extra fees. Condo was a little dated, but ocean front and spacious for the entire family. It was very clean and had a well appointed kitchen. I was able to have a tab at the Ritz as though a regular guest. Great place with kids, but if just individual or couple, Ritz is better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I had planned to attend a plastic surgery meeting at the Ritz on Amelia Island and the room block was full. The Ritz referred me to Summer Beach Resort. I had to cancel 24 days ahead of the meeting. Ritz had no problem with a refund. When I called they politely emailed me that since I was within their 30 day restriction I would "only be charged the deposit" which was over $450. A $450 dollar penalty for a 2 day stay cancelled 24 days in advance.

Room Tip: Just say no. They are obviously scammers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This review is on Summer Beach Resort in Amelia Island. My Fiancee and I won a stress free vacation to this resort from Central Florida Lifestyle Magazine. We were ecstatic, we have been to the area before and were looking forward to making time to visit again. We picked up our gift basket and looked at the stipulations that were stated with the gift certificate.
They had more than several black out dates, every holiday almost the whole summer and spring break, Christmas, you name it, it was blacked out. That was not a big deal we figured we would follow the stipulations and find a time that they stated on the certificate that would be available as long as they were not booked up, which is absolutely understandable. So we went ahead and called to see if they had anything available, in which they stated that they had several rooms available; we even chose a weekday. We then stated we had a gift certificate that we won from a magazine and the reservationist immediately stated that she was unsure she would be able to accept it. She then stated that we needed to speak to her manager that would not be in until Monday. After careful review we were 100% sure that the dates we were asking for were not black out dates and that they had more than enough available rooms for the time period we were trying to reserve. Monday comes and my Fiancee calls and asks directly for the manager who signed the gift certificate, to inquire about making reservations for the upcoming week. The manager comes on and is immediately short and rude with my Fiancee. She states that they are booked up, in which my Fiancee states the reservationist just stated they were not. The manager immediately states that they give out 20,000 thousand gift certificates out and cannot accommodate anymore gift certificate related rooms. She did not give anymore explanation and flatly stated we are not going to accommodate you. I don't know about anyone else, but we were truly looking forward to a stress free two night get away, we were not looking to be treated like a second class citizens. So with that said if you have any type of a gift certificate that you may have won or received as a gift from Summer Beach Resort, you may want to think twice about tying to redeem it....in fact you may just want to go ahead and give it away or throw it in the thrash.

Thank you for reading and I do hope you have a better experience than we have.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank gibby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Summer Beach Resort is a wonderful choice for location, luxury and value on Amelia Island. Views toward Summer Beach can be subjective however, due to the fact that units are individually owned. All of the units that my family have stayed in were beautifully decorated and had wonderful views of the ocean. Staying at Summer Beach allows you to feel that you are at your own private beach condo, instead of feeling as if you are in a hotel. All areas of the resort are lush and beautifully landscaped and maintained, and are all very private and gated. Our family's favorite unit has been Sea Watch, due to it's large size (three bedrooms, three and a half baths, and over 2000 square feet) and great oceanfront pools. The resort is located near the town of Fernandina, but is situated far enough to escape whatever crowd might be at the north end of the island. In my opinion, Summer Beach, due to it's accommodations and location, and th Ritz- Carlton, simply because it's the Ritz, are the two best choices for a great vacation on Amelia Island.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Acuraowner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We had both plumbing and AC problems. It took the owner 24 hrs to get someone out to fix the AC and the repair guy didn't bring what he needed. The resort office did move us to another unit, thankfully, but it was an ordeal moving. The repair people both told us the owner did not have a history of keeping us his properties. This is a shame because the resort office was very helpful and the area is beautiful. The condo association clearly has low standards.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miltoneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

My daughter and I just returned from Amelia Island for a mother/daughter getaway. We chose Summer Beach Resort for our accomodations and were very pleased with it. I would recommend them if you're looking for affordable, available, and clean units.The ladies at the checkin center were friendly and helpful. The unit we stayed in (at Ocean Place) was clean, comfortable, large, and well-decorated right down to the seahorse handles on the bathroom cabinet! The price was much more affordable than the Ritz and Amelia Island Plantation. Although we used the spa services at both of these other resorts, everything we needed and wanted was right there- plenty of beach and shells, lounge chairs delivered to the beach, heated pools, bikes delivered to our unit, and close to grocery and restaurants!

  • Liked — affordability yet nice
  • Disliked — didn't have a spa
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank JanMarie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amelia Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
6.6 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
4.6 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
654 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,435 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Beach Resort

Property: Summer Beach Resort
Address: 5456 First Coast Hwy, Amelia Island, FL 32034-1802
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Amelia Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Amelia Island
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Summer Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Beach Hotel Amelia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing