We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Long Key State Park
Ranked #118 of 300 things to do in Florida Keys
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This park was so breath taking. Each of the sites were water front and literally the tide comes to your back door. Beautiful sandy areas to set up in and enjoy the views. Great kayaking and a good map at the ranger station none of the sites are pull through but they are worth the backing in. We were able to stay the night without turning on the air all of the great sea breezes made it possible to enjoy the night air. Only one thing freaked me out and that was the ghost crabs that decided our camp site was home. I had to dodge them whenever I went to the bath house. Well worth the trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Baskets101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    40
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful starry nights”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our first family camping trip. We brought our paddleboards and took our 3 year old and 5 year old exploring all over the place. While paddling we spotted a tarpon, a couple cute little baby sharks, an angel fish, some parrot fish, and my personal favorite an eagle ray. The kids enjoyed romping around in front of our campsite finding tons of hermit crabs to watch. There was a lovely breeze at night to keep us cool. In the mornings we would take a walk at see what creatures would be out to greet us...land crabs. Bathrooms were very clean. Rangers ever so welcome. Oh and the Golden Orb trail beautiful! We took our bikes and rode it at least once a day. We are coming back...I see yearly trips on our future.

Helpful?
3 Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Stephen, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, nice park”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We enjoyed two nights camping at Long Key State Park. All of the sites are right on the water with beautiful ocean views. The sites have water and electricity hookups, but no sewer. The sites are small and the hookups are hard to reach on some sites. You might need an extra long water hose or electrical cord for some campers. But, you can't beat the view or location. We walked right out of our camper on to the beach and snorkeled right in front of our camper. We would stay here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank SCcamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“watch low tide and early check in”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed twice. First time check in was fun, friendly, and I enjoyed it. Second time, even though it was after noon, we could not check in, and it was low tide...and smelly with the grasses. They had no clue who had checked out and would not even think about considering it until later. We we told to hang out until 3 pm. Sites are close to road and noisy...but are waterfront. There is a boardwalk in the visitor area where you can drop into the water when high tide. Being a raft, a hat, a line and enjoy floating around when high tide. Some girl on a bike showed me crabs digging holes. There was a broken soap dispenser in handicapped bath and thus no soap. Ran out of TP too. They are building new trellis over bench. Oh yeah, some loud salsa music was played by some day guests. the first two campsites are teeny. Limited to no shade in most. there is a trailer parking spot. I saw a snake. they picked up a dead rat. lots of wild life...ha!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grouchy Lady at the Entrance!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My long anticipated arrival was ruined by the grouchy lady named "Dee" at check in! All we got was a list of "do nots' upon our arrival. No welcome greeting and no tips on things we must see. Other than that, the park is awesome. We were here to camp and the camping sites were nice. Great views, with a beautiful sunrise every morning! Bathroom number one is old but the other two seem fairly new. All of them were clean. At one point bathroom number one ran out of toilet paper, and Peter, the nice ranger, fixed the problem. I would highly recommend this park and hopefully "Dee" will be in a better mood.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Key State Park also viewed

 
Long Key, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Long Key State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing