We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bad customer service. Going downhill. Avoid this hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kendall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad customer service. Going downhill. Avoid this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed here severable times before when visiting family in the area, but this last visit was by far the worst. We were greeted with our welcome kit of granola bars and bottled water as priority club members; unfortunately, the rest of our stay was all downhill from there. We were surprisingly given a room next to the elevator, which frequently dinged late at night and early in the morning. This is an example of how repeat customers are treated--given the worst room in the hotel. Do not be fooled by the manager's responses to negative comments here...in person he could not be less helpful or caring when we approached him with a serious concern. Here are some issues we encountered:

1) At midnight, we received a phone call from someone claiming to be from the front desk who asked for our credit card number due to a computer glitch that affected 30 guests, threatening to kick us out of the room if we did not comply. Yes, we realized this was a scam, but our sleep was disturbed, and we were awake the whole night anticipating more phone calls. When we told the manager the next morning to report this to the police, he claimed that his regular business clients have never reported anything like this before and clearly refused to take this breach of their phone system seriously. He implied that this was our problem and not related to the hotel at all.

2) The front desk's ineptitude to process a different credit card for payment when repeatedly requested. After our 3rd request they finally got it right.

3)The lack of the correct number of towels per room occupants. It took 30 minutes for someone to bring up a towel.

We are happy to see another hotel nearing completion nearby because we WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurasiouxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Laurasiouxie,

I appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at my property.

I wish to extend my sincerest apologies for any and all inconveniences you and your family have encountered, as well as apologizing if you felt those issues were not dealt with in a suitable manner.

With regards to some of the issues you detailed on your review, the phone call you received in the middle of the night is unfortunately a scam that is nationwide and affecting all hotel chains big and small. NBCnews has run several reports and columns outlining the various ways these scammers circumvent hotel security in an attempt to acquire guests credit card information. Regretfully, this is not something local authorities are capable of responding to as it is falls on federal jurisdiction.

At this hotel we take guest’s security very seriously, we do not have an automated answering system for the sole reason of being able to screen callers to ensure we prevent situations like yours from happening. Unfortunately, as detailed by NBC, it is impossible to prevent all breaches 100% of the time. Rest assured, our staff would never conduct business of that nature over the phone. We would always have you come to the front desk during business hours.

As for some of the other issues, I welcome the opportunity for you to contact me directly so that we can discuss it in greater detail. As you can see from the many reviews we receive, customer service is something we take great pride in and many of our guests feel the same way. I would be saddened to know we have lost you and your family to another hotel due to the events of one stay out of the many you have had with us.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kenny Oliver,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    77
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
62
48
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Room very clean, staff very helpful and friendly! Laundry facilities on the second floor. Great vending machines. Breakfast buffet was really very nice. We don't usually eat at the hotel breakfast buffet but this was really great. Items were fresh and really great.
Convenient to Mall just a few blocks up the street with great shops, Ross, Costco, Payless Anna's etc. Don't forget to check out the food trucks on 137th Avenue near to Hotel. Great choices of really well priced food!

Room Tip: Ground floor really more convenient if you are shopping! Pool area very nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolcooper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
carolcooper54,

Thank you so very much for you positive endorsement of my hotel. The detailed review you provided regarding the many hotel features and local shops will be of tremendous benefit to future guests looking to stay in this area.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were in Miami for a weekend sports seminar and this was the closest hotel we could find. And our airline gives points for Holiday Inn Express nights so the choice was obvious for the 5 days we wanted to stay in Miami.

We were happy with our stay. I guess it's part of the Express hotel franchise that you use disposable plates and cups for the (average) breakfast - that's pretty much the only bad thing I'd say about the place. No hotel restaurant but there's several good restaurants nearby - Sea Siam Connection with their sushi/thai menu was our favorite. There's also a bicycle rental just few minute walk away if you're traveling without a car like we were. The surrounding area was okay to explore on bikes - no bike lanes, though. From MIA airport you can get to the hotel using public transport quite easily. It was handy to have microwave and fridge in the room.

It's not near Miami Beach but visiting the Beach by public transport took maybe 1,5h and it was good enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liljis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
liljis,

Thank you for choosing my hotel for your travel needs and for taking the time to share your experience.

The details you have provided will be of great help to future guests. As for the breakfast, you are correct in that it is a brand standard for all Holiday Inn Express hotels. The more upscale plates and breakfast options are reserved for the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Resort properties.

I hope that you return to us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a relatively new Holiday Inn Express location. It is about 30 min drive from Miami beach, so you need to have a car.
Rooms are great and clean, beds are very comfortable, staff is very helpful, breakfast is very good and free every morning and restaurant staff was also very professional and very helpful.
Depending on the day, they either had oranges or free cookies in the lobby, which is nice.
The hotel also has a very nice pool. The staff and hotel were very welcoming and attended all our needed. I would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedOne_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Redouane A,

Thank you for your positive review of my property. The hotel opened in November of 2007 so for you to mention that it looks like new is a huge testament to the dedication the entire team has to making this property special for our guests.

I hope that you return to us soon, the cookies will be here waiting.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Overall the hotel was quite accommodating for what I needed. They offer a free breakfast in the mornings, and the dining facility is open during the day and evening times. It is located within about a 10 minute walk from a big shopping center/dining area , you just have to walk on grass, there are no sidewalks, but that doesn't detract from the overall rating of the hotel.

They have a putting green out front!! That alone almost raised my rating by another star, I'd rate it 4.25 overall!

The only drawback was the location. There is a sign on the road, but it's not lit up. the facility is a few hundred yards in from the main road, it's close to the Tamiami executive airport. I took a taxi from Miami International and we missed the left turn to get to the hotel, but the traffic light 200 yards up was close enough so it wasn't a major deal.

They do have a hourly shuttle, but they have a 5 mile radius limit. The front desk will map out your location in relation to the hotel and that's how they determine the mileage. It is free, so that is a great offset from the limitations.if it's outside, they do go as far as they can and drop you off somewhere safe (My initial destination was 5.1 miles, I walked the 0.1 mile to get to where I needed to).

Nice rooms, I had a 2 queen-size bed room, HDTV on the wall, 30 something channels, the air conditioning worked wonderfully, and the beds were very comfortable. Nice sized bathrooms, but no closets in the particular room I was in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neww0rldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
newwOrldtraveler,

Thank you for providing such a detailed and positive review of my property. I realize that everyone's time is valuable and for you to use your time to provide other travelers with a vivid a precise description of my property and amenities is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Kenny Oliver

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's hard to see this property from the road -- across the way from Tamiami Airport near ZooMiami in South Miami-Dade County -- but it's a great place to stay. Beds are comfortable, rooms are neat and clean, it's a no-smoking facility. Your choice of soft or firm pillows, microwave and fridge in the rooms, everywhere I looked there was something else to contribute to a comfortable stay. Elevators were clean, water in the shower was hot. Less than a mile away are restaurants and stores -- there is a large shopping center within easy driving distance. If you didn't have to be in the neighborhood, you would never give this place a second look, but if you do have to stay over in South Dade and don't want to go to some grubby little hole in the wall, this is THE plece to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Robert L,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. I am glad to learn that you have decided to use my property as "THE" place for your travel needs when you are in the area.

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Coast, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for someone traveling out of the Kendall-Tamiami airport. While there is no restaurant in the hotel, they do put on a buffet breakfast that is perfectly adequate. You won't mistake it for a fine dining experience, but that's not why you stay at a Holiday Inn Express. There is a variety of good things to eat, both hot and cold.

The hotel is clean and neat; the rooms well-appointed, and the staff was excellent. This was not my first stay here, nor will it be the last. I will use it again whenever I travel out of the Tamiami airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmCityAv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIexpress-kendall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
PalmCityAv8r,

Thank you for continuing to use our location for your travel needs. I especially thank you for your endorsement and I sincerely hope that your travels bring you back to us soon.

We'll have breakfast waiting for you.

Kenny Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendall
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kendall Airport Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall)
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kendall Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall
Address: 13475 SW 131st St, Kendall, FL 33186-5818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Kendall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Beautiful Hotel in Miami's Kendall Neighborhood You will love the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall- one of the newest hotels in the southwest Miami area. This stylish hotel is located halfway between Homestead and downtown Miami with easy access via FL's Turnpike & 874/821. Our hotel is conveniently located across from Kendall Tamiami Airport (TMB)- exclusive homebase of Falcon Trust Air- Reliance & Dean Int'l. Easily accessible to major corporations such as Beckman Coulter- Noven Pharmaceuticals and Assurant Group- we are also within minutes of Baptist & Kendall Regional Hospitals- Ministerio El Rey Jesus and Alper JCC. Miami International Airport (MIA) is only 24 miles away. Leisure travelers seeking the sunny fun of Miami will enjoy this Kendall hotel near the Metro Zoo- Gold Coast Railroad Museum- Kendall Ice Arena- Homestead Miami Speedway & Monkey Jungle. London Square- Dadeland Mall and The Falls are within minutes of our Miami-Kendall hotel. Our well-designed Kendall hotel features choice amenities to entice a SMART traveler. We offer an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub area surrounded by fabulous palm trees emitting a tropical ambiance. We also have a Business Center and Fitness Center- as well as high-speed Internet access. Our professionally designed putting green and our modern non-smoking hotel provides you with the best Miami has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Miami-Kendall
Holiday Inn Kendall
Holiday Inn Express Kendall
Kendall Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing