We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast fills for lunch too”
Review of La Carreta

La Carreta
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in Kendall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami
Level Contributor
413 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast fills for lunch too”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Conveniently located in West Kendall with ample parking and a good size restaurant. Quality breakfast with nice presentations and generous portions very reasonably priced. Café con Leche has taste and power. Opens at 8 AM for breakfast and people are waiting outside. Good for lunch and dinner too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmund438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Service and food---- Awful! Will not recommend it ever.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our first visit with 2 of my girlfriends. Our waiters name is Ricardo....and he is the worst. Needs attitude overhaul.Did not stop to ask us if our food are ok. Turns out as he told us that his section is closed and he has been there since 9 am. Understand his predicament...but no excuse for his behavior. We did not ask to be seated in a closed section. Ricardo should realized that he has a job and a paycheck coming. If he does not want to serve his customers, he should resign and not go to work.This is not authentic Cuban restaurant. My Ropa Vieja is no flavor...only pieces of meat and covered with onions. My white rice is undercook...my black beans is hard as a rock. Only positive in this place...cafe con leche is excellent. Otherwise go to another restaurant to spend your money. Not worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheernurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Never invite me again to this place!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Came with a large Family party. Good all Family wanted Cuban Cuisine. OMG! Told waiter I was Gluten intolerant, asked for a Gluten Free menu and he replied " What is that?" From then on was a fiasco for me! The food for the rest was greasy, the presentation of dishes was sloppy. My fish was frozen prior, could taste no fresh flavor. The chicken order was tough. Service was good except the lack of education in restaurant different needs for those like vegetarian or gluten intolerant, allergies.
Anyhow after a bomb of dinner for the seven of us we just talked among all and decided was not worth returning. Do not recommended due to the greasiness on sauces and plating, lack of freshness and flavor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outside take out window”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been stopping here for years. A must stop for us for some great Cuban sandwiches ,medianoches, and croquet as on the way to the keys.
Today and want to tip my hat to the girls at the take out window.
Even though they were very busy and I had placed a very large order
They were extremely pleasant and efficient, it's always a pleasure to make this stop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScoopDuJour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good but inconsistent in every respect.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

La Carreta has been around for a long time. Their staple food is good- cuban sandwishes, media noche, arroz totones ,frijoles, maduros, etc.

Their daily specials are good but if you go too late in the day then not so good. They've been sitting in thd pot. Arroz con pollo but old.

The steaks are very inconsistent. Sometimes excellent other time tough a and nervey and not so good.

Service generally ok but again it's hit and miss. The large staff is not managed very well- so you'll need some luck here.

The price is about average for this type of restaurant and the portion are hearty

This restaurant was better years ago. Like everything else quality seems to deminish with popularity.

You can't go wrong with a cafecito at the outdoor window. A must do if visiting Miami from out of town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauliG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing