We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our first Cuban cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casavana

Casavana
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Kendall
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our first Cuban cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our visit to the Kendall, FL Casavana was, for us, a very unique experience. Having traveled to the Caribbean a few times, we have sampled much of that cuisine but we've always wanted to try Cuban. We've had some so-called "Cuban-style" sandwiches, etc. in SW Florida but never true Cuban dishes. This visit allowed us to taste two wonderful dishes, one fish and the other beef and both were scrumptious! The beans and white rice and plantains were also wonderful as was the fresh bread. Although the restaurant was very busy and many families and larger groups waiting to be seated, the two of us were shown our table almost instantly. Our server was so personable and helpful with the menu, asking us if this was our first visit. Service was relatively quick, the food was hot, and the soup might have been the best we've tasted. Upon our return to South Florida, we will certainly come back to Casavana!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MotownMarshallFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    10
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Another great meal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went for Christmas Day Lunch with my partner and his parents. They are so organized they had us sitting down within 15 min. The food was out quick and everything was FRESH and HOT!
If in the area....this is a great place to check out for Cuban Food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miamimickey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best mariquitas in Miami!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been eating at Casavana for many years and have never been disappointed. Try their fried plantains with garlic sauce. They are the best. The white rice and beans is delicious. They also make great soups. The steaks are very tasty and so is their grilled chicken.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miamimama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the Best Cuban Restaurants in Miami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ladies and gentlemen this place rocks the city of Miami. There are two ways of eatiing here, one is the express window where you can order a cuban coffee with the different cuban pastries they have available sucha as Empanada (meat, ham and cheese and chicken) or croquetas, pstelito de guayaba etc. my favorite is Empanada de Carne (Meat Empanada) make sure you add "Green Tabasco Sauce" Delicious!!! The other way to enjoy this restaurant is to dine in, they have a wider selection of food such as Palomilla Steak, ropa vieja, Special Cuban Sandwich and many more. Service is great, prices are reasonable and the restaurant has a good setting. They have few locations around Miami, make sure you locate your map to locate one near to you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for locals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Ate dinner with friends. Authentic and tasty Cuban food but one of the menu items was not as expected (was supposed to be chicken with Mango sauce but it was not). Worth eating there if you are in the neighborhood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJF01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casavana also viewed

 

Been to Casavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing