We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up close and personal with gators!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Florida Airboats

Wild Florida Airboats
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Florida Everglades Airboat Tour and Alligator Encounter with Optional Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wild Florida offers the most pristine airboat eco tour in the Orlando area. Located on the beautiful shores of Cypress Lake, at the headwaters of the Everglades. Just a short drive from Orlando, the Disney area, the Space Coast, and the Orlando International Airport, Wild Florida offers the best of Central Florida's most sought after activities: airboat rides, alligators and real Florida experience. Our airboat tour is widely known as the most beautiful ride in town because of it's untouched 4,200 acre nature preserve, free of any development or signs of human life; 100% pure Florida wilderness at it's finest. We guarantee it! Come see for yourself how good it feels to be in the middle of nowhere.But the fun doesn't stop there! In addition to our incredible airboat rides, we offer a tropical bird aviary, restaurant, gift shop and 500 ft sightseeing dock. Wild Florida is owned and operated by one of Florida's pioneer families that knows the meaning of southern hospitality. Day or night, we are prepared to offer individual, family, group and corporate experiences you'll never forget. And if you thought our airboat ride was fun during the day, you should see how WILD it is at night!
Wolfville, Canada
1 review
“Up close and personal with gators!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was the first air boat tour we've taken and were extremely pleased! The 1 hour tour started a bit later than expected, but ran a bit longer and was definitely worth waiting for. Captain Eric was knowledgeable and entertaining and answered any and all questions we had. Lake Cypress is gorgeous! Following the airboat tour was the opportunity to hold a young alligator - did not expect that, but enjoyed it immensely. The inclusion of the Nature Park was a nice bonus. Lovely park! Was great to hear that the place is also a rescue for 'nuisance' alligators and unwanted exotic birds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild F, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Florida Airboats, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting Wild Florida and for the great review. We are happy to be apart of your first airboat experience! Hope to see you again next time you are in the Orlando area!

Thanks again for the review,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    228
    31
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went here for an airboat ride and to explore the animal park. The airboat ride was just OK, I have been on one before. It seemed that the driver was more concerned with getting around the WHOLE lake in 1 hour more then stopping a lot along the way. For us, we would rather stop more. Also, it would be better if they had headsets on the boat that you could just talk into to communicate with the drive as opposed to having to stop the boat, shut it off and take off your ear protection. After getting off the boat you can get your picture taken with an alligator, hold it, but no private pictures of the alligator, they would like you to buy those from them. We did, the price was fine, $25 for a pin drive with ALL the pictures on it. The gift shop if good, prices arent bad and they also sell animal food, $5 a bag to feed all different animals in the park. The park was great, especially for our younger children, and feeding the alligators for me was also very cool. There is a little bbq place there for lunch, which was delicious and pretty reasonable too. It was a great time, would take visitors here again. The animal park to us was the best for the kids. Definitely come here if you want to do more then an airboat ride. The cost of the ride includes admission to the park!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“A fantastic afternoon out in the wilderness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked our trip through Viator and as we weren't driving the deal included return transport from our hotel (I think this can now be booked through Wild Florida themselves).
We spent a few hours there. It is actually located in Kenansville and is around a 45-60 minute drive from the Disney area. Their is absolutely nothing around, no shops, no restaurants or roads..just nature and it is a lovely afternoon away from everything Disney/Universal etc which we had enjoyed for a full week previous. I would advise you to take along water, sandwiches (they do have a bbq though), bug spray and sunglasses.
We had a 1 hour airboat tour with Captain Dennis who was very knowledgeable about the lake and everything that lives there. Apparently between 800-1,000 gators live on the lake. You are taken along the lake and swamps. You are given info about the lake, the trees, the animals etc We saw Bald Eagles, many species of birds, cattle, wild turkeys, and of course Gators! Dennis took us up close to them and we saw a few large gators just a few feet away. The lake is so peaceful when you stop, all you can hear is the birds and the splashing water. It gets very hot out there.
When we got back we had the opportunity to have quite a few photos taken holding a young gator which was a great experience. You aren't allowed to take your own pictures though and must buy either prints from them (which can work out around $20 for 3 or you can buy all your pictures on a usb stick for $25) which you are told goes towards the reserve there. We didn't mind paying this much as it is a once in a lifetime chance and the pictures are lovely.
We then had a look in the shop which had many gator related souvenirs including gator heads and a free small jar of gator teeth!!
We then had a look around the very well maintained nature reserve which had everything from zebras, spiders, snakes, lizards and of course gators! We were free to spend as much time as we wished.
We then took our transfer back to the hotel.
Overall it was a wonderful experience, both the boat ride and the gator handling. The staff are lovely and very informative. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lacost69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild F, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Florida Airboats, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review and photographs! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Captain Dennis and the rest of our staff. Remember to come visit us next time you are in the Orlando area.

Thanks again,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic airboat experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked a private one hour tour for the four of us. Captain Brent was excellent, very knowledgeable about the alligators, all the wild life and the eco systems of Lake Cypress. His ability to find the gators was great, got to see all sizes, the nesting areas and beauty of Lake Cypress. We were impressed with the ride, we all enjoyed the ability to get up close to the animals. The small boats are not enclosed so you get an excellent view of your surroundings. The grounds and facilities were very clean and well groomed. The staff very friendly and helpful, willingly to answer your questions. Loved the chance to hold an alligator. The animal enclosure and swamp walk were very well taken care of. The alligator enclosure provided an opportunity to see the large gators up close, that is as close as I would like to get to one. Would recommend the experience to anyone who is looking for an airboat ride.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GloryB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild F, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Florida Airboats, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Captain Brent and the rest of our Wild Florida staff! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the Orlando area.

Thanks Again!
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for all ages! Fun, educational, & very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited early afternoon and found the attraction to be very well maintained, clean, and well organized by the excellent staff. Our one hour airboat ride on Lake Cypress brought us very upclose to numerous 'gators, eagles, ibis, herons, some snakes, and many many ducks which would fly out in front of the airboat as we approached. Our boat captain was very friendly, informative, receptive to the variety of questions from our group and I think he taught everyone something about the alligators in the lake. The airboat wasn't as loud as I thought it would have been, and they do provide everyone with ear protectors. We saw several very large alligators from a distance of only a few feet, apparently they are able to distinguish with different sounds of the hunting airboats & the larger tour group airboats so we could come right up to them without them going under cover. When the smaller, faster hunting boats moved close to our location then the 'gators would take cover. Be sure to bring your camera for awesome photos / video during the airboat tour. During our visit we saw numerous eagles nesting and hunting around Lake Cypress, one flew alongside the airboat as we cruised along the shoreline in the shallow waters .... truly a majestic sight.

It was fun to purchase gator snacks to feed the alligators in the enclosed pond, but don't purchase any food to feed the alligators in the lake as that is forbidden. For some reason they don't want to teach the wild gators that people are a good source of food!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beenthereanddidthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild F, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Florida Airboats, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the air boat tour and our wildlife park. Make sure to come back and see us on your next trip to Orlando!

Thanks again,
Anna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Florida Airboats also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Wild Florida Airboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing