We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but needs a good cleaning”
Review of Dune Dog Cafe

Dune Dog Cafe
Ranked #3 of 215 Restaurants in Jupiter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenacres, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food but needs a good cleaning”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

the food was good
we went there because the reviews on this web site were quite good
And yes, the food was good, hot dogs with new England buns which i have been unable to find since we left new England.
Hubby got fish. Lots of it and tasty
waitresses were all very nice and an interesting thing to me was, although it was quite busy, the help were all relaxed and very nice.
However
the place needs a good power washing cleaning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jusyt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    295
    80
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun local fare”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great stop after the beach. Indoor/outdoor Tiki bar setting. A varied selection of dog delights! Locally caught fish sandwiches, fried and grilled.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Ate there twice in 1 weekend. Dogs are wonderful as well as the salads. Great service too. Would recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miknlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not My Favorite Place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Been here a couple of times and had a very greasy, unappetizing meal both times. Prices are high too for greasy food. Outdoor seating is nice, which is why I gave it 2 stars instead of one. There are plenty of better places to eat in Jupiter than Dune Dog!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always wondered about Dune Dog, but now I know!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This restaurant is on a busy street and doesn't look like much - it is built open-air with only cloth awnings to protect it from the rain. Plus the name would give you the idea it is only a hot dog -burger place. I passed it a thousand times. It seemed almost always crowded, and I recently noticed the good reviews online.

We recently went twice, and loved it! It is not just burgers and hot dogs, there are some fabulous seafood items and soups and side dishes to try. They have great daily specials, and a lot of variety in their soups and appetizers also with ample to overly large portions meant for doggie bags.

It is crowded because of the great food, and also the great service. Five stars! On both visits we had friendly, caring and attentive wait staff helping us.

Here are the issues - 1. Parking is difficult at peak hours, and the wait could easily be over an hour for a table. 2. The seating is all benches with no backing, or stool - counter seating, but there are no regular chairs available. 3. The semi-outdoor design makes it hot, wet and or windy, depending on the weather's mood. There is no A/C although there are lots of fans.

If comfort is top of your list over food when dining out - this may not be the place - but I suggest you give it a try - the food really is superb!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dune Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dune Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing