We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for fresh fish!”
Review of Captain Charlie's Reef Grill - CLOSED

Captain Charlie's Reef Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Hazelwood, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Place for fresh fish!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been here countless times. Menu is hand printed each day because that is what they got fresh to serve today. I don't think I have ever looked at the standard menu when I have ordered. Good selections of wines and beers. If you want a mixed drink they don't have them. Sorry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    47
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Casual seafood dining, good food and won't break the bank. Just a short drive from Singer Island hotels.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelingonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Entered with lofty expectations, left with them fulfilled and a full belly”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Reef grill came highly recommended and met or exceeded my high expectations. Appearance of small mom and pop's joint with photos of trophy catches on the walls. The sesame tuna with Asian Alfredo angel hair was literally one of the tastiest meals I've had. They had a lengthy list of other fresh fish, wines, and desserts I would have loved to try but was just too full. To sum it up, if in the area would definitively stop by this establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felisconcolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
422 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Amazing shrimp!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Citrus Grilled Shrimp appetizer is amazing! It could be a small or light meal if you get a salad or soup with it. Really delicious! We also had the grilled salmon- yum! The peppered wahoo was a bit dry, but still good. Always great fish at this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best wedge salad EVER!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have visited this restaurant several times and have never had a bad meal. This seafood choices are vast, daily specials are great. A definite spot to enjoy great food and a wonderful friendly staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Charlie's Reef Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing