We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WHAT I ORDERED”

Schooners Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 216 Restaurants in Jupiter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT I ORDERED”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went here with a party of seven to celebrate a friends birthday. The bartender did a great job and every drink she made was perfect. We next moved on to the dining room, greeted by a warm smile from our waitress. She quickly took our orders and they were out in a reasonable amount of time.The other six guests got what they ordered and seemed satisfied, but I had ordered hog snapper and if i had to guess they brought me terrible talipia. I've had hog snapper many times all over Florida as well as most of the caribbean so i know what it looks like and tastes like and what the texture shoud be. The waitress cheerfully took it back and brought me something else. i hope it was just an error in the kitchen and not one of the substitutions to a cheaper product that we read so much about any more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank originalstano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    113
    44
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a nice atmosphere and good food. Great prices for the neighborhood, too! Staff seemed a little unorganized though but it all came together..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JessicaToy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh food, prepared well”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I really like Schooners. The food is fresh and it has a big selection like raw bar, deep fried and seafood prepared many ways including grilled or blackened. I've had both of the soups on the menu and both were tasty. I wish they had better salads. They used to have a few salad specials but they havent lately just basic caesar, garden or spinach. Big plus is homemade dressings and desserts. The key lime pie is delish. They also have a low-key, outside happy hour. They had live music last time and drink specials too. The decor inside is just OK. They try to jazz it up but it lacks anything special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanlinesallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertson, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish--good for families”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner. Vast menu. I wouldn't get exotic here but if you stick to basic broiled or fried fish then you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJFEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey for what you get!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I love whole belly clams. I am not a fan of their batter/ coating and $23.00 for the dinner is about $7 more than MUCH better clams!
Near the water but not facing it.
My husband's baked Cod dinner was marginal for $22.
Many people seem to like this place. Appeals to 65 and up crowd.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kakirita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schooners Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing