We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Place. Great lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Cafe

Hurricane Cafe
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Juno Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cooking up a storm in the kitchen is what inspired the opening of Hurricane Cafe by chef and owner Scott Phillip. Serving the hungry and thirsty patrons of Juno Beach, FL for over 15 years, Hurricane Cafe provides a relaxing atmosphere where the food does all of the talking. Try the award winning Breakfast or Lunch Menu but don't forget about the outstanding dinner menu. Hurricane Cafe uses only the freshest ingredients prepared from scratch daily. With a passion for quality, cooking, and service, Chef Philip and his friendly and knowledgeable staff set the standard for American cuisine offering local beer and wine pairings for every meal. Open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, patrons can enjoy their favorite American cuisine with a twist. Love eggs Benedict for breakfast? Try it with the restaurant's savory Crab Cake. Take a break from the beach and pop in for lunch for the Blackened Dolphin Sandwich, Grouper Rachel or one of the many amazing Salads. There's no wonder Hurricane Café received Trip Advisors 'Certificate of Excellence' 2012 to 2016, Zagat Rated "Excellent 2004-2015" and voted "Best Breakfast 2010" and "Best Lunch Spot 2006." Stop by for the restaurant's sunset menu from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. for tasty entrees like Shrimp Scampi, Fish & Chips, or Sautéed Shrimp with Sweet Coconut Sauce. The dinner menu is loaded with big plates to keep you satisfied through the night, including dishes like homemade New England Clam Chowder and Sweet Chili Roasted Salmon or Yankee Pot Roast. Find your Fresh Catch of the day at Hurricane Cafe today. Call (561) 630-2012 visit online to see the full menu and daily specials at
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cool Place. Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great lunch outdoors. Food, service (and dessert) were all better than expected. I had the dolphin with beans and rice, and then took a piece of Orange Cake for the road. Good stuff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChangingPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefScottPhilip, Owner at Hurricane Cafe, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your lunch on the patio and I'm happy we exceeded your expectations. The Orange Cake is awesome but the only problem with it is that you have to share sometimes. The next time you're in Juno Beach, we'd love to see you again!

Take care,
Scott Philip
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    120
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca raton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A TRUE WINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

we found this restaurant because we stayed at the Holiday Inn Exspress one night. The clerk at the front desk suggested it and we could not have had a better meal. We now travel about 20 miles to come and enjoy breakfast lunch or dinner at the Café. We are always greeted like loyal customers and the service is as good as the food. They have specials for lunch and dinner which is very nice and very well priced.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefScottPhilip, Owner at Hurricane Cafe, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
You ARE loyal customers, Nancy! Thank you for the wonderful review. It's not everyday someone travels 20 miles just to eat at our restaurant — thanks for the continued support, and we're so glad that front desk clerk recommended us.

Come back and see us again soon!

Best wishes,
Scott Philip
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

4.5 visit - food really awesome. Husband had bunless Veggie Burger. I had grilled vegetable salad; both very tasty. Waitress gave great recommendations and service until bill time. Would have given a 5 star. Visit was way after lunch rush.

Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefScottPhilip, Owner at Hurricane Cafe, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I'm very pleased to hear how impressed you and your husband were with your visit, Kim, though I'm sorry about the break down at the end of your meal. We always strive to provide excellent food and service at all times, but it sounds like my staff got caught up in the change over after lunch. I apologize for the issues and will work on improving our service standards. Thanks for your great review, and I hope you make it back to see us again soon.

All the best,
Scott Philip
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM BEACH GARDENS
Level Contributor
206 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've been here for lunch, on many occasions, and have always enjoyed the food, and great waitstaff. We decided to try it for dinner. We went with another couple and all had one of the best meals ever. My Snapper Veracruz was perfectly prepared and large enough to bring some home. The wine list is limited, but adequate for the casual dinner. We sat outside on a perfect evening, which clearly added to the positive mood. The Hurricane Cafe is casual, and actually has a diner look and vibe, so it may not be everyone's idea of a dinner spot. However, if you're looking for great food, good service and value...it's hard to beat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ROGER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefScottPhilip, Owner at Hurricane Cafe, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Glad you finally made it out for dinner, Roger! Thank you so much for the great review. I'm thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed dinner so much. Since we are a causal restaurant, people do tend to overlook us for dinner but I agree, I think our dinner menu is as good as any of the fancy places and a much better value.

I really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again for dinner soon.

All the best,
Scott Philip
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Claim to make everything from scratch?? We had microwaved biscuits?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you pride yourself in making items from scratch....and you as a restaurant ask for extra time to prepare from scratch...why are the biscuits microwaved? Yes, you want to serve hot biscuits...but don't microwave them until they are shrivelled and tough...we were there the moment they opened...so why microwaved biscuits? The sausage gravy had a strange taste...as did the bone-in-ham. The chicken fried steak had country gravy/sausage gravy instead of white gravy...just seemed strange. Average at best. We will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grayceey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefScottPhilip, Owner at Hurricane Cafe, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Grayceey,
I apologize for your visit with us. This is not a typical experience at the Hurricane. I really appreciate your feedback, this is the only way we can get better. I do need to make a correction, we state MOST everything is made from scratch. There are about 15% of the items we do purchase, mostly desserts and some generic items that do not make sense for us to make on property. We bake our biscuits about 6:30 in the morning but this sounds like my staff was using the previous day biscuits, which is totally unacceptable.

We do work very hard to make sure our customers are well taken care of and we will replace or correct anything that is not up to our standards, our yours. As far as the Bone-in Ham, it is a Virginia Style cured Ham which can be little salty, so we also offer a Honey Ham also which has a milder flavor. I grew up with country gravy, so that is probably a regional preference, such as grits in the south or the difference between hash browns or homefries. But whatever is on the menu, the food needs to be prepared properly and we did not accomplish that for you. Again, I apologize and hope you will give us another chance.

Thank you for your review,

Scott Philip, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hurricane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing