We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really insulting”

Captain Charlie's Reef Grill
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Juno Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really insulting”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Waited for more than 1/2 hr for bar seat, finally asked and told we were listed as "already seated" then told we were next then told we were not and would have to wait further. Walked out. Very poorly handled.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    163
    40
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glad We Tried It”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our first night in Jupiter, my brother-in-law and sister-in-law took us to Captain Charlie's for an early dinner. We were very glad we got there early as it filled up very fast on Thursday night. The menu had a lot of specials and there was an early bird special, but you had to order the dishes with an asterisk and seemed very confusing. The waitress was very helpful and told us that the appetizers, of which there were many on special, were large enough for a meal. As the entrees seemed expensive to us, we were glad to hear that. My sister-in-law got the mussels and she said they were alright, but nothing special. My blackened dolphin fajitas were very good. I was warned that they were spicy, but they didn't seem too spicy for me - very flavorful, tho. My husband's salad and calamari were good. My brother-in-law was disappointed with his seafood paella which seemed more like a stew than paella. The house Cabernet was a good choice and the atmosphere was fun.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Town
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

a place where were were told to go by our friends and very happy we did. small place in a strip mall you would go right by it if you didn't know it was there, nice courteous staff and wonderful,wonderful food. we arrived early as we were told and it didn't open till 5pm. but we only waited for 15 minutes and the cars started coming in. they finished setting up and opened right at pm. glad e went early by 530 thy were packed. its suppose to be such a secret but the people know all abut it. the waitress told us they don't even advertise that it s all word of mouth,well the secrets out and what a great place. will go back next time I'm in flordia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marysher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, questionable service.”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Seafood Curry and Rock Shrimp were AWESOME! Key Lime Pie was just OK.

Really nice place. Busy at lunch. Food was excellent. Server seemed to be concentrating almost all of her attention on two, apparently quite wealthy, ladies next to us. She never came over to ask how we were doing and I had to flag her down to order dessert an get the check.

We would go back, but if she was our server, we would wait to get someone else.

Everyone else was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank 04xfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent and simple”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We frequent the Reef Grill a few times a hear. The food is fresh and simple. The atmosphere is simple and pedestrian and the value excellent. The menu is very expansive but we seem to stay with the traditional fresh fish. The wine list is fine and the prices are a very good value. If you are looking for fancy, this is not it. But for fresh seafood, you can't go wrong. To avoid the crowds, go late or go early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTEastlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Charlie's Reef Grill also viewed

 

Been to Captain Charlie's Reef Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing