We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good experience, only just worth the price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Charlie's Reef Grill

Captain Charlie's Reef Grill
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Juno Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overall a good experience, only just worth the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Two locals recommended this restaurant to me, with a "If you like seafood you have to eat here". The place is not a dump at all. It looks like a cross between a bar and cafe and as a result has a great atmosphere. I was there on a Tuesday night at 7pm and the place was full, had to wait five minutes for a table. Service was quick, professional and very friendly. The menu was huge. There was a daily special sheet with maybe thirty items on it, most of it appetizers. However the prices were a little on the high side, maybe OK for the rich Juno folks but for us who live in the hood of a Carolina city, they were above average. I ordered an item from the main menu. The fish curry. It was excellent. I would not say outstanding, and probably just worth the price. It was a business meeting and felt that it was a reasonable choice, although my guest said I should have chosen the Food Shack as the chef who had mad this restaurant famous has started the Shack and it was a tad better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guestRelationsSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    151
    37
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home made fresh seafood dishes and desserts. My favorite restaraunt in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Casual atmosphere with a large menu including the freshest just caught fish. I make it a priority to go here when I'm on vacation in the area and I haven't been disappointed. I like to sit on the left side at the bar top to watch the cooks cook. It's not a trendy place which I like. Ps their desserts are all homemade including the ice cream. I just love their cobblers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsayCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant in the area, by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ambience: Unpretentious Service: Friendly & all are local folks. Creativity: Oh yes!! Menu changes daily. Value: Wow, an oyster slider for $4? A shrimp taco for $4? And oysters & shrimp that you actually want to eat!! Wait time: Unfortunately during "the season" there can be a long wait, however bar service is available while you wait. And off season? Let the locals reign!!
Love this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank supihonbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the restaurant that when we have out of town guests we always take them here and it never misses. The owner, Ross and his staff are consistent in the food and the service. The menu is extensive and you can order a main course or just do appetizers which is great for a big party and you want to try a variety of different dishes. They have a great wine list and leave room for their home made desserts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mklor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This used to be one of our favorites. No longer. The place is dirty, especially the counters. They keep a big container of coleslaw next to the counter without proper covering. Our fish smelled bad and was undercooked. The young hostess was unfriendly. We won't be coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LosSmiths_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Charlie's Reef Grill also viewed

 

Been to Captain Charlie's Reef Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing