We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great view and a great meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shucker's

Shucker's
Ranked #5 of 105 Restaurants in Jensen Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The "best on the beach" is located in the Island Beach Resort! The spicy, the sweet, the sublime. The flavor of Jensen Beach comes alive at Shuckers on the Beach. Savor deliciously inventive cuisine that takes the contemporary to the extraordinary. Bold flavors, inspired techniques and the freshest ingredients make every meal a culinary adventure. Enjoy signature seafood, steaks, pasta and salads, all prepared with finesse and flair. See and be seen at the lively bar and lounge, or take in the scene while dining amidst the breeze. For your entertainment, there is live music every Saturday and Sunday from 2:00 pm until 6:00 pm. Happy Hour Specials: Monday thru Friday - Bud, Bud Light, Miller Lite, Coors Light draft and bottles are $2.50. House wine & well drinks are $2.50. Sunday drink specials are all day as follows: $3.00 frozen Rum Runners. Bud, Bud Light, Miller Lite, Coors Light bottles are $2.50. Bud, Bud Light, Miller Lite, Coors Light drafts are $2.50.
Worcester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great view and a great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We always stop at Shucker's because it's one of the few restaurants on the Atlantic Ocean, plus they have great food. The oysters, tuna and conch chowder are always spot on. Plus, they have the normal fare for less enthusiastic eaters.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BabsGWhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    240
    101
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredonia, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Absolutely beautiful location, then again, I'm very biased towards beach front restaurants. That nice wooden deck, patio furniture, looking out over the water- it would be near impossible for me to give a place that fits such a description less than 3 stars.
I'm with a friend of mine who has been there once before. She recommended I have the conch chowder and the ceviche. I kind of listened to her. I ordered the conch fritters, shrimp cocktail, and the ceviche. The conch fritters are just okay, probably sub-par compared to most of the conch fritters I've had. Maybe they used more flour than necessary, not sure. The presentation on the shrimp was unbelievable, literally. Like, how did anybody that works in culinary let these out of the kitchen. The ceviche was fine, I don't really like ceviche that much, however, that's just personal preference, the dish had good presentation and tasted just like ceviche should.
It is just becoming progressively more apparent and upsetting that none of these waterfront (ocean, marina, bay, inter-coastal, etc.) in Florida offer locally grown and locally fished products. I'm the customer that would be more than happy to have a meal consisting of Florida Rock or Key West Pink Shrimp followed by a fresh caught and served snapper/grouper/mahi maybe stuffed with some spiny lobster stuffing. For some odd reason, frozen crap shipped in freezer bags is way more cost effective, and we as the consumer have become so naive to what fresh food should taste like, that we don't care we're purchasing the same frozen crap offered in the frozen food section at Winn-Dixie at a slight mark-up. Even when these restaurants offer the locally caught fish, it goes right from the loading zone to the walk-in freezer. These fish get upgraded to the Special of the day only when they are about to turn, and not sooner, so buyer beware.
Great service at the bar by the way. That was probably the saving grace. If I go back, it will be to enjoy a cocktail on the beach, maybe shoot craps on their calamari.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miaminumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“2nd Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've stopped here both times we visited the area. It's good and a fair value. We eat outside to enjoy the view. The food is good and the staff is very friendly. It's a solid place to enjoy a meal and a view.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Good selection for everyone. Service was great & food was good. Only a few feet from the ocean. The shrimp appetizer was tremendous. Will definetly return when in Jensen Beach again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmsht12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun place to hang out at on a rainy day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I spent a rainy Halloween hanging out listening to live music, eating great bar food,and watching the "trick or treater's" come and go.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shucker's also viewed

 

Been to Shucker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing