We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Doggie Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp
Plantation Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Doggie Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed a night in cottage 19 with our yellow lab. Staff was friendly, everything worked as expected. Our lab enjoyed swimming and running on the beach. Has a "Keys" feel to it, yet a few miles down the street are major shopping centers with grocery stores and restaurants. We ate at Mulligan's and Caps outside with our lab. If you have a dog, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The cottages are very old and in need of a major face lift. They are fairly clean, but could be better. The bathrooms are so tiny, that there is literally room for ONE person only and there is no room on the sink area for toiletries. River Palms Cottages are definitely fine for those folks wanting a "fishing camp", as the location is right on the inlet. But for anyone just wanting a week getaway, this isn't a great destination. The beach is very small and needs to be cleaned (dead fish, dead leaves, some trash). The nightly/weekly charge was much too high for what you get. On the positive side, we felt comfortable leaving our door unlocked and sometimes open when we wandered down to the dock for a morning stroll. The owners are very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: If you want to be right on the "beach", choose cabin #5 (but only one burner on the stove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We are regular guests at the River Palm Cottages, and every time we return we are just so grateful to the owners for keeping this property just the way it is. The property is pretty and peaceful, located on the Indian River with lovely gardens. The cottages are simply comfortable, clean and stocked. The beds, sheets and towels are quality materials. The managers are incredibly friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Was traveling solo and happened upon this property. They were very accommodating. Stayed in three different rooms/cottages as I kept extending my stay but had no reservation. All were exceptionally clean. Quaint setting and within walking distance to all you need. Felt safe. Not your typical vacation accommodation. Can relax on the river beach, fish from the pier, sit by the pool all on property. Don't go here as I want to be able to get reservations for my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I sneak away to this hidden little gem from time to time. Large rooms and a really unusual "fish camp" setting make this the perfect get away. Our suite was large, everything was spotlessly clean and we never knew we had neighbors as the rooms are so quiet. This place is so different from any other vacation get away, it has the feel of the keys or another island location. It was/is the perfect place to fall in love.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweetest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our suite was very clean, well appointed and had a full kitchen and our bed was extremely comfortable. The riverfront views are beautiful and the tropical well-maintained grounds are lovely. The entire place has such a peaceful and relaxing feel, similar to the Keys. Being able to bring our dogs was a big plus. We so enjoyed sitting on the dock at night and on the beach during the day. There are nice restaurants in the area and the historic downtown area is charming. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived because many dog friendly places are below par, but River PAlms is everything we hoped for...and more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at River Palms in July 2011 with many other friends and couples, as two friends were getting married in the Jensen Beach area. This is the kind of place you'll definitely want to see pictures of to be sure it's what you had in mind (check on the website). Our place had two bedrooms, including a very spacious master suite which was awesome. It was a short walk to the dock and a little "beach" area where you could sit and relax. The decor was a little dated, but it kind of made it the funky Florida destination it was. The grounds were nice and the service from the front desk courteous. We really liked that the place was stocked with all the necessities you could think of (iron, hair dryers, pots, pans, etc). However, we were there for 3 nights and the staff did NOT come in to clean each day (they wait until the end of your stay). This was one major reason the cottages have one lower rating. If you're not looking for luxury, but a less traditional spot to call "home" while you bounce around FL - this could be an option for you.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeMinnieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jensen Beach
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
2.7 mi away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
3.2 mi away
Old Colorado Inn
Old Colorado Inn
#1 of 11 in Stuart
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Stuart
2.7 mi away
Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp

Property: River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp
Address: 2325 NE. Indian River Drive, Jensen Beach, FL 34957
Location: United States > Florida > Jensen Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jensen Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Palms Cottages and Fish Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palms Cottages And Fish Camp Hotel Jensen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing