We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Friendly”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean rooms and the balcony facing the beach was great. The pool was nice and clean. Access to the beach was easy. The parking is a bit of a mess, but so are all the hotels on the beach. The hotel is close to places to eat if you didn't want to eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: Beach view is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldlady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    341
    116
    43
    26
See reviews for
629
385
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

WOW..... this hotel is great! We had a fabulous weekend with family over Labor Day weekend. All the staff is great! Our grandkids enjoyed the pool and especially enjoyed the ocean. This is a wonderful place to bring families. The staff goes out of there way to put a smile on your face. We had lunch several times at the tiki bar outside that is right on the ocean. One of the bar staff (Ski) went above and beyond to take care of us. She even went and got the kids beach toys to play with. We saw her all weekend long and needless to say we fell in love with her! We cant wait to visit this hotel again. Thank you for making our weekend with our grandchildren so special!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
296 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We wanted to spend a week at a beach this summer but didn't want to go anywhere that is over commercialized and crowded. I narrowed down the possibilities to beaches near Jacksonville and started searching for hotels. After reading the many great reviews about the Hampton Inn Oceanfront in Jacksonville Beach, I decided Jacksonville Beach (and the Hampton Inn) would be our destination.

We were not disappointed. The hotel location is wonderful (right on the beach). The hotel itself is well-kept and has very trendy décor. The grounds are clean and pretty. Parking was never a problem for us. I read some reviews where the parking lot was characterized as "small" and other reviews gave the impression that the lot "across the street" was far from the hotel, but I want to say that there is ample parking adjacent to the hotel, but if full, the other lot is literally across the street and never seemed like it was at capacity (even on the 4th of July).

When making the reservation, I requested a room on the 6th floor with a full ocean view. Upon checking in, I asked if it was possible to grant my request and was told that indeed we would be able to have a 6th floor room with a full ocean view! Check-in was quick and efficient. The staff we encountered during our stay (and there were a lot of them) were always wishing us a good day or were inquiring about how our stay was going. The customer service at this Hampton Inn surpassed that of five star hotels where I have stayed. The housekeeping staff did a good job keeping our room clean except somehow they missed us one day, but when we returned to the room and saw that it wasn't cleaned, we contacted the front desk, and a member of the housekeeping staff was sent up to clean the room. The front desk was very apologetic and took $50 off our room charge for that day (I told them that was not necessary but they insisted it was).

Breakfast was different everyday and was very good. For lunch, we bought some groceries and kept drinks, lunch meat, fruit, and other items in the refrigerator. We packed our cooler with lunches each day, so the only time we had to pay for a meal was dinner each night which was nice to leave the hotel for a few hours. While there is a convenience store in the lobby where you can purchase drinks, ice cream bars, and other food; I suggest bringing snacks and drinks with you as they are very expensive in the lobby (2 small containers of ice cream were $13).

The hotel is in close proximity to several restaurants and is not far from St. Augustine, Jacksonville, or Ponte Vedra. East Coast Rentals in located on the north side of the Hampton Inn (on the beach). Mike and Michelle do a great job taking care of their customers. We paid for the whole week for 2 lounge chairs, an umbrella and a small table. The price is $5 less each day (was $30 the first day and $10 the last day). It was great to head out to the beach after 9:00 each morning to find our chairs and umbrella set up. He puts your name on the back of one of the chairs with a piece of duck tape. East Coast also rents bikes, surfboards, and more. They also offer one hour surfing lessons for $50 including the use of a surfboard.

The Pier and the "Boardwalk" were less than a mile from the hotel. The Pier is mainly a fishing Pier (there is a cost to go on the pier), and the "Boardwalk" is just a few shops, restaurants and bars grouped together between the beach and 1st street but their aren't any boards - - just cement sidewalks. We liked shopping at the Beachside as it was a big store with lots of hats, t-shirts, swim suits, and more! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Pier Cantina and Sandbar was a good place to eat (try to eat outside if the weather is decent).

In summary, we were very pleased with the Hampton Inn, which helped us enjoy a great vacation on the beach and are especially grateful to the staff for helping make our stay an enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a full ocean view. It costs a little more, but it is worth it! Also, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NebraskaTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed during the Labor Day weekend. We arrived almost two hours early and our room was ready. The room was clean and the ocean view from the balcony is beautiful. Everyone who worked for the hotel was extremely friendly and always very polite. The breakfast was hot and fresh and a great way to start the morning. The Tiki Bar comes in handy since it is close to the beach. Even during the busy weekend there was plenty of room to swim in the pool and the waterfall was a great addition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfromatlanta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence Twp., United States
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place for a vacation. Beautiful Pool and Spa. ON the Beach. Great for families and couples, or Business. Wonderful Breakfast Buffet, and the BEST coffee I've ever had. (Available 24/7). Close to EVERYTHING! A happy experience guaranteed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Based on other reviews on Tripadvisor, I booked a three night stay here. Believe what you read in the good reviews here. The staff goes out of their way to greet you every time they see you. The complimentary breakfast every morning is fresh, hot and features different breakfast meats and egg dishes every day. There is 24/7 coffee and tea service. Pool area is beautiful with water falls and ample seating, and includes a covered deck area where I enjoyed my morning coffee with an ocean view. The rooms are spotless and feature updated furnishings and bathrooms. I can't think of a negative thing to say about this place. I have stayed at other beachfront properties here and they do not compare. Even at checkout, I requested an 11:30 checkout and was asked if noon would be more convenient for me! This won't be my last time here!

Room Tip: The studio suite is very spacious and a great deal for the price. Just doesn't have much of a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very convenient location to Jacksonville University, the beach, shopping and the airport. The halls smell musty but it is a beach location. The rooms did not have a smell. Ask for a room with a pool or beach view. Parking lot view is not great but it was my choice not to switch to 2 doubles as this was the last King room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bmoremom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
769 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1515 N 1st Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-7309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy private access to the beach for breathtaking sunrises over the Atlantic Ocean. We also offer the largest swimming pool on the beach, a 120-foot heated pool and hot whirlpool grotto, featuring four waterfalls cascading from sculptured rock formations. Unwind in one of our spacious guest rooms and find everything you need for a comfortable stay. Surf the web with free high-speed internet access and enjoy a restful sleep in the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. For extra space and a touch of luxury, step up to one of the hotel's stylish suites, offering upgraded amenities such as a spacious work area with ergonomic desk chair. Catch up with work in the hotel’s fully equipped business center or make the most of your leisure time with a workout in the fitness center. The hotel offers a free hot breakfast buffet, Relax at the Tides Bar while enjoying one of your favorite libations or purchase lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Comfort Inn Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing