We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key Location for Beach and restaurant fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I just want to take this time to Thank the Best Western's Front Desk and Hotel for your great customer service ! I use to live in Jax beach and Moved to California and planned a trip Back to the beaches for my boyfriends birthday which he was never in Florida and loved it for his first time. We had a great time and experience from the moment we checked in ! It was Late and melissa McGowan took great care of us and was the most pleasant person to deal with after a very long day of travel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caliboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbaird3, Public Relations at Best Western Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2009

Thank you TripAdvisor from California for your recent review. Wow...The staff and management is pleased that we could make your stay in Jacksonville Beach a positive one. The staff is great in customer service and enjoy being able to make you feel comfortable through out your stay. Thanks you again for taking time to write your review and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 855 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2009

Just want to say my stay last week was great ! The hotel staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the area the maid service was awesome and the rooms were very nice and a great price . The hotel is very close to restaurants and all !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happybunny66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We requested the room with the whirlpool bath, expecting a nice romantic holiday and read the reviews before we booked it. Nothing prepared us for the noise on a Thursday night from the bar across the street. The constant screaming and shouting until just before 3.00 am was not acceptable. We had booked 3 nights, but left after one night. We complained at reception, (located adjacent to 3 tables used for breakfast) and was told that the weekends start Thursday nights, and it would just carry on. The receptionist said there was no other room available. We paid our bill, packed up and left. We did not have breakfast, as I did not fancy sitting by the reception desk eating breakfast. The pool should not be described as such, as it is in the car park, and looked dirty. The beach is very close, but with it comes the homeless, etc.
It was the noise from the bar across the street that really made this hotel intolerable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, Operations Manager at Best Western Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2009

We sincerely apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. Our hotel is a small hotel located within walking distance to many local establishments. Typically our location is not an issue in regards to noise and we will surely look into why it may have been on the Thursday of your stay. With only 50 rooms and because of our oceanfront location, we do have a lobby, breakfast area and pool that are sized according to the size of our property. Again, please accept our apologies and let me know if there is any way we can make this up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

The location is GREAT - you are within walking distance of the bars and restaurants ( The Brix, The Ritz, Snappers, Buckets, etc......)and several others. Snappers is lively and great for happy hour and is just across the street. You are right on the beach. Overall, this hotel is in a great location for everything. The rooms are standard - we had an oceanfront with balcony - great view, small balcony. The pool; however, is AWFUL. It is small, in the parking lot and we didn't ever use it. We had family staying at the Marriott oceanfront and used their pool if we wanted a pool, though their hotel was a lot further down and not within walking distance. Like I said, the beach was great and there are a lot of little bars, restaurants and surf/beach shops right across the street. The staff was courteous and there was internet access in the lobby. The continental breakfast was good ( more choices than I would have expected). I would not recommend walking on the beach at night.........kind of shady area.........we experienced some unusual individuals asking us for money for "alcoholic research"......lol.....Be safe at night and stay away from the beach walk area. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Was looking for a hotel on a beach within driving distance from Atlanta to celebrate a 20th wedding anniversary. Booked a king room with jacuzzi that did not overlook the beach or the parking lot. Didn't really matter to us. Big room, clean, non-smoking (entire hotel is), free wi-fi, flat screen tv, comfortable bed. Quick walk through the parking lot and you're on the beach. Small pool out front, good for cooling off after a day at the beach but not much more (sign said 10 person limit!) Staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, good breakfast selections (and plenty of it if you get there before 10:00). The hotel is located near some restaurants and nightclubs, so it got pretty loud on the weekend we were there, but a room closer to the beach (and away from the road) might have helped. Not much in the area for young children except for the beach. We would most definitely return for another weekend visit-thanks to the staff for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preacherguy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We are frequent travelers internationally and in the US and I can feel good about giving this place top rating. I live in the area and just needed a night by the ocean to "recharge my battery". This hotel is economical yet very clean, staff was super efficient and friendly, room was excellent and very soundproof against outside noise. Top floor, corner, view you could die for of the beach, pier, boardwalk, sunrise. Flat screen TV was great, internet access in the room. Bed was very comfortable, suite was very roomy. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyRuth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

It is simple - I travel a lot and this is a great place for a young couple - right on the boulevard, right by the beach. In the morning you can go for a run, rent bike, plenty of bars around.. Simply very good place, hotel, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michalnajman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
568 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oceanfront

Address: 305 1st St N, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-6908 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Oceanfront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range: $132 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jacksonville Beach, the Best Western Oceanfront is surrounded by restaurants, shops and nightlife, as well as facing the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are convenient to Freebird Live concert venue and offer a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic Hospital with reservations at the front desk. Oceanfront rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Best Western Hotel Oceanfront
Best Western Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing