We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Oceanfront
Nearby Hotels
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront(Jacksonville Beach)(Great Value!)
$191
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront(Jacksonville Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Beach(Jacksonville Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express(Jacksonville Beach)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Ocean Resort & Spa(Atlantic Beach)
$239
$213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveler rating
479
265
113
56
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
265
113
56
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancesmall hotelroom was cleancontinental breakfastwafflesocean viewbars and restaurantsgreat place to stayperfect locationthe breakfast areastaff was very friendlygreat roommayo clinicbwmelissabalconybeach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 943 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The lock off the parking lot accessed by the beach was missing. Anyone could open the door. I encountered a homeless couple on the stairs. Front desk was unconcerned and said the part was unavailable in the states and back ordered from China. The security chain on my room was broken - obvious it had been repaired in past my mismatched screws that did not hold. The air conditioner louvers were covered with black mold and it stopped altogether second night we were there. A dehumidifier was unbearable to run due to the loud noise. The balcony fits two chairs - one is unusable as the air conditioner discharges hot air onto it. We paid 550.00 for two nights...feel it was not worth it and we stay in lots of Best Westerns. Needs renovations to replace scarred furniture, unlocking bathroom doors,and noisy mechanical. The beach is the best feature and it had way to many homeless for my taste.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfont711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thank you for you comments. We had replied to your post prior, but it looks as if you removed it and resubmitted. Again we want to reiterate that we take all comments very seriously and are looking into the maintenance issues you highlighted. As mentioned before, the back door lock was replaced shortly after your visit.

Our last full renovation was just 3 years ago, but with heavy traffic, our furniture may get a scratch here or there. This is why we put granite tops on all of our furniture.

Please know that we are working to improve based on your review and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in our area. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I picked this hotel as it appeared to have better ratings than others. I did not get to hotel until late at night due to weather in ATL. My first negative impression was all of the bars in the area and nightlife there. Quite a few drunk teenagers around with loud music. Got checked in, but no parking was available. They arranged for me to park in one of the handicapped spots overnight.

Once in the room, it smelled damp and musty. AC was on, but it was struggling. Next morning I found part of the problem for the high humidity--dehumidifier was frozen over (low refrigerant). I reported to the front desk before we left for the day. Later when we got back we had no dehumidifier. Reported that issue and they were going to move dehumidifiers around to get one in there soon. Later that evening we finally had one and it was doing it's job (albeit quite noisy). While it was starting to dry things out. there was still the smell of mildew in the room (could still smell it in all of my clothes when I got home).

I was not happy about the overall security there. One of the main exit stairwells was completely open to the public. This meant anyone off the street could walk in and enter on any floor they wanted too. There was an electronic door lock, but it was non-functional and was mechanically not operational (the door would not even latch when closed).

Overall I think the room was a bit small, the balcony was tiny and the window was rather small as well. Mildew was the worst part of this stay along with the loud dehumidifier. Nice widescreen TV, fridge and microwave with laundry down the hall. While it was a bit of a party area around us, we heard nothing with all doors and windows closed. When I come back, I'll probably choose a different location.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront for view or get drier room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowboardjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Thank you for the comments.

We apologize that your stay wasn't up to your expectations and assure you that we are working hard to correct any issues you mentioned.

We hope that should you visit Jacksonville Beach again that you will give us another opportunity. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I just wanted to say that Angela and Melissa absolutely make your stay at the beach great! They have great personalities that every customer wishes they would encounter in the service industry. They both exhibit passion in their work and care for their guests. I travel here frequently and will ensure to continue to give my business to the Best Western Oceanfront because of these two individuals. When you stay in hotels 3-4 nights a week they all blend together, but when you encounter individuals that stand out... That you remember...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayorNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Thank you for your awesome comments. We pride ourselves on our service and we will make sure that Angela and Melissa are commended.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

this hotel is not good. Our room had a terrible smell of mould which could have come from the jacuzzi or mould around the windows. The breakfast area (just off reception) was very small with only three tables. The pool was also very small with only 2 sun beds. There was a lot of noise from the street until well after 2.30am. We left after only one night although we had paid for 4! this hotel needs a re-think if it is to atract tourists from abroad.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adobeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsGuy, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

We apologize for your last visit with us. We are a small hotel (51 rooms) and our lobby and pool are sized appropriately for it. As for our location, we wish we could remove the bars, but Jacksonville Beach has had a "boardwalk" atmosphere for over 60 years and unfortunately we don't see it changing any time soon.

Hope you reconsider the next time you visit Jacksonville Beach. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here to enjoy the beach before we departed for a cruise. The hotel was right on the beach and provided beach towels for us to use. The continental breakfast provided was "over the top" for the usual continental fare- Cereal, boiled eggs, donuts, bagels, grits, muffins, coffee, juices, fruit to choose from. The room was clean and the staff cordial. The room was attractive and appealing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews