We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel by far !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel by far !”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Loved my stay here .. Hotel was very clean , room was very cozy with a nice ocean view . The front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area attractions . Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. I will definately go back to this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happybunny66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    232
    103
    52
    29
See reviews for
252
293
50
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I can't imagine owning a hotel that is kept to this low of a standard, I would be embarassed. I'd feel terribly if some tourist hoping to have a family vacation spent a week at this overpriced dump. Sure, the location is beachside at the heart of JAX beach, but that's about it. The room had mold growing on the bathroom ceiling, soggy carpets, and a strong mildew smell. I used to travel 200 days out of every year and have stayed in some god awful hotels, this ranks within my top ten worst. The entire room felt unclean and uncomfortable. If you have even mild allergies to mold, mildew or dust, you will inevitably be congested your entire stay. The only redeeming quality is the location, which is excellent, but the price is unbelievable for a total slum. I would be ashamed to operate an establishment in such a poor condition.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxycape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbaird3, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you TripAdvisor member roxcape for your most recent review. The management and staff are sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We as a company strive to communicate with our guests each day to see if there are any issues we can take care of to make their stay more enjoyable. If a guest does have an issue we certainly would want to hear from them and try and correct their concerns. Unfortunately, we did not hear from you concerning the dissatisfaction you had with your accommodations during your stay, which makes it difficult to correct any issues you had and to locate the room you mentioned in this review. We take all reviews seriously and do appreciate their time taken out of their schedule to write us their issues. Again, we appreciate your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We came on a late Saturday night in the middle of a Blues festival so the streets were lined with people wandering up and down. We parked in the free hotel parking and checked in. The room was roomy and beds comfortable. The bathroom was old but clean and everything worked. The hotel is on the broadwalk and right off the beach, 2 min walk.
The breakfast was OK. Rolls, coffee, hard-boiled eggs, make your own waffles :)
Might be a bit noisy on weekends for some as there is a restaurant with live music across the street, but we were not bothered.
We stayed for 3 nights and all the people who worked the desk were extremely helpful and hospitable. We enjoyed out stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowi11758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We came in to Jax Beach on a Wednesday evening during spring break (for GA) with no reservations. We got the last room available at Best Western; King bed Jacuzzi room w/ sofa bed --- with a City View. The room was very clean and a great size with a microwave, refrigerator and a large bar area just next to the in-room jacuzzi. We really wanted a ocean view so the next day we moved when one came available with no problem at all....smaller room but still had the microwave and refrigerator, but no jacuzzi.
The beds were extremely comfortable! It is so nice to go away on vacation and have a comfy bed! And the location is THE BEST on the entire strip. We kept our car parked and walked everywhere. There are numerous resturants and bars within a very short walking distance.
We are very happy we chose to stay at the Best Western. Melissa at the front desk was awesome and hard working....she made sure I was happy and taken care of! Thank you, Melissa!
We will definately return, but this time I hope it to be for more than three nights!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proud_Navy_Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Hotel location was great!! Right on the beach. I highly recommend beach view rooms. Room indeed was small by American standards. Microwave, fridge, free wifi were helpful. Breakfast area is small but breakfast choice was good, and you can always take it to your room if no table is available. Staff is superb, super friendly, and very helpful. We had to cut our vacation short due to weather, and they had no problem at all with that, and were very understanding. Would I stay there again? yes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCentral Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This was the second year in a row that we stayed at the Best Western Oceanfront, and this is the second year in a row that we were VERY satisfied with our stay there!!! We had the same room as we did last year, and it was just as clean, quiet, and comfortable this year!!!

The staff are all very friendly and always very pleasant!!! It was nice to see Susann at the front desk again this year! She made another restaurant recommendation for us again this year....Campeche Bay Mexican Restaurant just over a block away....she hasn't led us astray yet!

The beach is easily accessible from the hotel, and was not at all crowded while we were there. The hotel is a couple blocks off the main highway, so it is a low traffic area and quiet.

There are a couple of very good restaurants within a block.....Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub and Chicago Pizza & Sports Grille. Fionn MacCool's has some of the best Irish cuisine I've eaten, the prices are very reasonable, and the portions are huge!!! The thin-crust pizza at Chicago Pizza is great, and truly has that Chicago style and taste!

We will definitely be back at the Best Western Oceanfront again next year!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USA-in-a-Chevrolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Hotel is right on the beach, rooms are small, needs to be updated, pool is size of postage stamp and a big gungy at times. Breakfast is difficult as room is small and there is limited seating. Not bad selection.

Pricey for qua;ity of room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanacheryle1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
469 reviews
2.3 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oceanfront

Property: Best Western Oceanfront
Address: 305 1st Street North, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-6908 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Oceanfront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jacksonville Beach, the Best Western Oceanfront is surrounded by restaurants, shops and nightlife, as well as facing the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are convenient to Freebird Live concert venue and offer a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic Hospital with reservations at the front desk. Oceanfront rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Best Western Hotel Oceanfront
Best Western Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing