We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food and experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Loved this little spot. Wish we stumbled on Joe's earlier on our trip to see the Bowl game in Jacksonville. This restaurant has an amazing view as it sits right on ocean... quaint and casual island feel (which I love!)... incredibly nice staff---and pretty damn good food. Big up to Tara(?) our waitress... she was amazing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrustTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    180
    112
    61
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Sub par food at ridiculous prices. This place is a tourist trap, pure and simple. Our waitress was nice but we were her only table so it was easy. This restaurant tries to be very trendy with your place settings in a bucket and drinks in mason jar, but at their prices it should be silverware and linen tablecloth and candles. Expensive and tacky.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kanugrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Drink on the Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We took a beach trip and had a late lunch early dinner at Joe's. The place has some miles on it and I guess it is a beach regular.
Good bar area and drinks, so so food. good service

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAWGTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Waitress was excellent, food was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hostess seemed inconvenienced to have to seat us. Waitress was very good. Waiters and waitresses were very entertaining. Atmoshpere was pleasant. We didn't have crab during this visit but the food was good. Parking was ample and easy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BDgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not bad but other options are better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Overall ok for chain seafood. I had the seafood pot pie. It came with a lobster claw sticking out of it which was obviously previously frozen and a little fishy. Mason jar margarita allows you to keep the glass. Fish and chips made with pollock and had a good crispy batter. Cobbler a good choice for dessert.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing