We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place service needs some work”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun place service needs some work”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Typical Joes which we love. This location was disappointing. The waitress was clueless. She brought salads, appetizers, and our meal at once. I was told Joes did not have salad dressing and she brought our table a bottle of malt vinegar lol. Funny when a customer knows more about what you serve then the waitress.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PolishPrincess216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    184
    116
    61
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great restaurant!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I love this restaurant ! Great food! lots of choices on menu , fun atmosphere , love prices and portions of food you get! drinks are well made!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
standish, mi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Joe's is always a fun place to stop. The food was good - we especially liked the clam strips. The waitresses line dance when not busy serving. There is outdoor & indoor seating available here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a little disappointed”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We decided to try Joe's after seeing all of the advertisements on TV. Maybe Father's day wasn't the best idea to try this restaurant. Originally we called around 2pm to ask about reservations and we were told they were booked but they would take 30 min call ahead ,but we needed to leave "right away". Well that wasn't possible so we declined the offer. Later we decided to venture that way to see how crowded they were. On our way there we again tried for a "30 min call ahead" and we were successful in obtaining a spot. When we got there we were greeted and told that the wait would be 30 mins.It actually was about 10.Well it was busy and loud but very upbeat. The staff will sing and dance periodically when prompted by certain songs. If you like quite, intimate spots,skip this place. The disappointing part was the food. We ordered the garlic mussels which was a big hit but 2 of the mussels were closed. When I asked about getting 2 opened ones I was told that they were ok to eat that way but we couldn't crack them open so they were wasted(strike 1).After our order was placed it took over an hour to get the food. The waiter was very apologetic but we saw people who ordered after us eating their food. Our order wasn't special, just what was on the menu. On my husband's order we were informed that they were out of whole lobsters but they would substitute 4 tails for the 2 lobsters. When his order came it looked very scrawny for 46.99.The potatoes and corn were left off so he had to wait for them(strike 2).Lastly we tried to order dessert and was told they were out of chocolate cake which was the base for 2 desserts. So we didn't get dessert(strike 3).The food tasted good but I'm not sure it was worth it.Would really have to think twice about going there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heide E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My family of six went to joes during a recent trip to Jacksonville FL. We went on a Thursday evening (which I suggest or if you go on a Friday or Saturday go EARLY) and had no wait. We were seated immediately. The only complaint was that our waiter was a little hard to track down and we had to stop him for refills he never offered on his own (I think he was a first time waiter)! Great value great food and very laid back atmosphere! My entire family enjoyed it. Order the shrimp trio (coconut shrimp, crab stuffed shrimp and grilled shrimp skewers) it was wonderful!!!! Joes also has a history of giving back, during the month of April they donated money to autism awareness (a cause that is neAr and dear to us, April is autism awareness month). I will continue to support a business that gives to good causes and isn't just in it for the almighty dollar!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gebradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing