We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I gave a excellent rating based on our room. The 6 floor Executive Oceanfront Suite. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious with a nice long balcony. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Keep clean and neat. And the service was nice. Staff was friendly. The room was pricey but for a romantic relaxing weekend getaway it was nice. The hotel is in a seemingly quiet location. Surrounded mostly by residential/rental townhouses and apartments. We will be going back for another weekend getaway this year. I hope to have another positive review to write.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welcome2thegoodlife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 561 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a great place to go and stay on the beach with the family!! We only had two days to spend there but had a wonderful time!! Great staff too!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnytownlobstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I hate to say anything bad about any marriott and I try and be understanding if things don't always go right; but my extreme disappointment in this courtyard leaves me no choice. I agree with Floridagirl review that this place doesn't even try to manage. From the point of a Platinum Marriott member, this is my honest review, I don't expect to get upgraded all the time, although I usually do, I wouldn't expect an oceanfront; but not even a sliver oceanview. They gave me what I can surely say is their worse room. third floor room suposedly townview (NOT)- my balcony was equal to the roof of the main door overhang (you could probably climb it and into my room if you could get passed the huge palm tree blocking any light into my room and if I could see over that, the parking lot. The room was extremely dark and dreary; even my balcony was dark and dreary due to the foilage blocking it I travel extensively and have never been given the worse room in a hotel. I even told them if a decent room wasn't ready I would wait. No, that was my assigned room. I left the room as quickly as possible and took a walk on the beach. There seemed to be alot of oil and some sudzy matter floating in. ick. I'm not sure if always the case, but the red flag was up and the waves were huge. The pool is very nice, with a nice hot tub, but a bunch of little kids had taken it over as if it were there personal bathtub. I mentioned this to the staff, but nothing was done. I guess they don't care as the children seem to rule there. The pool bar is very nice, except they only offer four types of sandwiches, no salads. When I first checked in at 11ish, I saw people come in from what appeared to be the street and just sit down use the computers (set up near the front door) and leave again. It was quite obvious they weren't hotel guests. Its obvious that management isn't in tune to the comings and going of who belongs and who doesn't. Now to the worse part for this business traveler. In the afternoon when I did attempt to work, the internet was completely down. Wireless and wired. Management knew my frustration, yet again, but did nothing to soothe things over. Trust me I am so not a complainer, but I am a good customer of theirs and just expect more from a Marriott. (BTW, this was previously a Holiday Inn - maybe they kept that staff).
Funny thing, a few days prior to my arrival, just the other day, I get this nice email from the conceiger welcome me, their platinum member and even said they had a shuttle to take us to an irish pub. When I asked the front desk they said that was only in the summer. It was one demerit after another for me at this hotel. Although I was to stay for two nights, I only stayed one night and couldn't wait to leave.
Again, I saw a group of ladies sitting outside sharing some wine and I'm sure they will have an awesome time. So rather than blast this courtyard 100%, I just have to say, depending on what your venue is or what your level of expected service is it may work just fine for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trekker954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I normally stay in Downtown Jacksonville for business - the issue with many of those hotels is safety and high cost.

At the suggestion of a co-worker, I stayed at the Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront.

Nice place, lovely setting right on the beach. Clean rooms, large, and with a modern decor. Friendly staff. Under $100/night with parking and wireless included. Leave early (by 6:15 AM) if you plan to commute into Jacksonville to avoid the rush hour.

If I had to criticize, the room towels are a little small in size and the hotel has a restaurant which means there is no complimentary breakfast provided.

Suggestion, pony up the extra $30 / night for a beach front room to get a balcony view of the sun and beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My wife and me were looking for a nice beach front hotel when we found this one online. The price seemed quite high but we really wanted a beach front hotel and after looking over some of the other hotels this one seemed best. Overall the hotel looked very nice from outside, when we got to our room we were amazed. The room overlooked the ocean and the pool, you could hear the surf from our room. We stay in alot of hotels, about an average of at least 1 hotel a month, this room was the best we have ever stayed in. The bed was simply awesome, we forgot to ask but was some type of memory foam. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will go back again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_S_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We arrived Sept. 1 and stayed through Labor Day, checking out Sept 6. We had a room by the pool, and we could see the beach. Since the hotel is on the beach, it is built to hurrican standards, so the doors and walls are thick. We never heard anyone next to us, or at the pool! The families at the pool were very hands on with their children. No one was unruly. The staff was very helpful and very responsive. The bathroom door squeaked and w-d40 was applied in less than 5 minutes! The breakfast special of $11 for 2 people was wonderful. Fresh omlets made to order,lots of fresh fruit,eggs,bacon, sausage, etc. Excellent value. The maintenance staff did an amazing job on keeping the grounds clean and neat. You had to have your room key to access the pool and to return from the beach. No one held gates open for those that were not guests. If you had a car to park, you were given a permit. We always had a place to park, usually by the front door.On Sat. and Sun. afternoon there was a guitar player at the pool playing acoustic and electric guitar. He was great. The beach was beautiful too. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racing2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Jax beach is so over priced I find it hard to believe locals stay around their! The property is shared with the Fairdfield across the street! No Parking to be found, Pool over full at all times!! To many kids not being supervised. During the day the parking lot is full of "beachgoers" not hotel guests. A VERY POORLY MISMANAGED HOTEL. NOT WHAT TO EXPECT FROM MARRIOTT!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawk1tdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,543 reviews
1.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#7 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 N. First Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range: $177 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront offers spacious and comfortable guest rooms for you to enjoy, along with the many amenities and proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel's location is just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes from some of the best shopping in the area. Jacksonville Beach, Florida is a great destination for business travelers and family vacationers. All types of guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty of the place from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you visit Jacksonville Beach, FL. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless Internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with an ocean view. Relax in our oceanfront heated outdoor pool and our whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental offers surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs, and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing