We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return, excellent value and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return, excellent value and great location!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect place to vacation with the family or sneak away for a romantic weekend. The rooms are very clean and the staff were great. The Buffett breakfast was a nice surprise that we enjoyed. This resort is very close to shops and nice places to eat. We will be back next month!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFowler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear AFowler31, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We love the photo and look forward to seeing you next month. Thank you for your business and if I can ever be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely, Alex Reitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    166
    49
    23
    12
See reviews for
185
146
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Springs, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We are currently staying at the Courtyard and we have really enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is on the north end of the beach near a residential area so it's quieter but still fairly busy. We arrived on May 23rd around 1:00 PM and upon our arrival we were checked in very quickly and with no wait; Which was good because as the day progressed there was a line for check in. The parking lot has been crowded but that's to be expected on Memorial Day weekend. We were told that we could also park at the hotel across the street if we could not find parking. The hotel itself is nice. They have an updated lobby with a Starbucks counter and an interactive screen which shows you news, weather and POI in the area that allows you to print directions also. That's a nice feature for the techy crowd, which I belong too. There also a concierge service here. She's a very nice lady who recommended "the Seafood Company" for us to have dinner. While the food was tasty, the portions are very small and not worth what they charge in my opinion. There's direct access to the beach with a resort style pool, outside lounge area, and fire pit/torches which are lit nightly. I haven't sat on the outside deck near the pool but it's nice to see at night and has plenty of tables and space.

The only drawbacks I have at this particular time are these:
1. Our door does not have a floor seal on it. So light floods under the door at all times and anyone who walks by or sings or laughs or whatever can be heard very clearly and loudly which makes sleeping in or sleeping at all very difficult at times.
2. No complimentary breakfast which is not a deal breaker but desired nonetheless. They do offer food at the cafe/restaurant in the lobby however we have not purchased anything from there.
3. One major drawback is if you have an ocean view room, there is a section of the lower part of the building that the roof is painted a very bright teal, almost white. It reflects the sun very harshly towards the upper floors that make sitting on the balcony in the daytime almost impossible. It's blinding. A less reflective color would definitely be better where heat and light are concerned.

We're in room 434.

Room Tip: Anything ocean view. You can either stay over the pool or over the roof of the lower part of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Omar A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. I also do apologizes for the drawbacks you experienced while staying with us and appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve. I do want to let you know that we will begin renovating our rooms at the end of this year, at that time we will include addressing the door gaps. As for the exterior roof, this use to be a black roof but was painted an off white to conserve energy. We are currently scheduled to paint it within the year, at that time a difference color (less reflective color) will be considered. We strive to ensure that all of our customers truly enjoy our hotel and thank you for your business.
Thank you, Alex Reitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The property is lovely. The lobby, the beach and pool area are attractive and clean. The front desk staff, however, were neither helpful or welcoming. We were celebrating our anniversary and our daughter called from Ohio to request a celebratory wine and snack tray as a surprise. She was told that our reservation was cancelled. Of course she called me and questioned this. I had not cancelled the reservation so I called. I spoke with Ashley who was curt and would only say that the reservation was called by phone by "someone". I requested that the reservation be restored and she said she didn't do thus and I should go back on line and make another reservation if a room was available. I obviously pushed back and requested a manager. She put me on hold and came back in 60 seconds and told me the reservation was restored. When we checked in I asked about the possibility of an upgrade (note-not complimentary ) and was told "we just don't do that-you need to do that on line." I heard other guests make requests which we're not received we'll by the staff. The staff in the pool, bar, and restaurant were great. Very accomodating and great food and beverages.

Room Tip: Ocean view would be worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank helenk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Helenk19,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel. It’s great to hear the positive comments regarding the wait staff and food, especially since we just opened the Courtyard Bistro at the end of April. I am sorry for the mix up of your reservation and how it was handled by the front desk staff. While I am not exactly sure what happened, I believe you may have booked with a 3rd party site. This may have been why our staff informed you they were unable to adjust your reservation. If you would like to contact me at the hotel I would be more than happy to investigate further.

Thank you for your business.
Sincerely, Alex Reitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I added a few days to a work trip to stay at the beach. The hotel was right on the beach, the pool was clean and the staff at the pool bar was very friendly. The beach was beautiful and not crowded for the first official beach weekend. For the price of the room it would be nice if chairs for the beach were included. The room was clean and well maintained, the only drawback was the room was located right above the fire pit where people partied till late in the night so it was not a quite room.
The woman at the front concierge was very helpful and gave us a great suggestion for a seafood dinner that was not a chain restaurant. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: rooms with ocean view, make sure you are not over the lobby area or the bar noise will eliminate a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about the hotel. I apologize for the noise coming from the fire pit, we turn it off at 11pm nightly to avoid this. For future stays if it again is ever to loud, please contact the front desk so they investigate the situation.
Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you back in Sunny Jacksonville Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Located right on the beach, the hotel was very well kept and the entire staff was very pleasant, courteous and professional. The pool was clean and the outdoor fire pit was a great place to sit in the evening. Great vacation - strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Lori, It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for the taking the time to leave such a great review about the hotel. We look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Alex Reitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a very nice property on Jacksonville Beach. The rooms are clean and the staff very helpful. The breakfast option is worth doing, and can be cheaply added.
That said, Jacksonville beach is not close to being the nicest place in northern Florida. There are homeless folks wandering the beach, and though it is clean, it can be a bit unsettling.
There are much better vacation spots in Florida. This hotel makes the best of the situation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear jfp21,
I wanted to thank you for your recent stay at the Courtyard Oceanfront. I know the city and lifeguards are always working hard to keep the image of Jacksonville Beach as a family friend location. At times we have had homeless wondering the beach and in this situation, we ask that you contact the front desk so we can reach out to the city to address the issue. Thank you for your business.
Sincerely, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Rey, California (Formerly Sydney Australia)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

What a great place. Right on the beach and a trip made all the more pleasurable by the friendly and fantastic service from Kim at the bar. Kim headlined a wonderful staff who made everything a blast. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear BennyVe,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review about the staff and hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with Kim, she has been an excellent employee and really does an outstanding job. We have had the pleasure of having her work at the Courtyard since 2008. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you back in Jacksonville Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,499 reviews
1.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1617 N. First Street, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront offers spacious and comfortable guest rooms for you to enjoy, along with the many amenities and proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel's location is just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes from some of the best shopping in the area. Jacksonville Beach, Florida is a great destination for business travelers and family vacationers. All types of guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty of the place from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you visit Jacksonville Beach, FL. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless Internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with an ocean view. Relax in our oceanfront heated outdoor pool and our whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental offers surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs, and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing