We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This property was so nice, the views were amazing!! You can't beat being right on the beach and not to far from local restaurants, bars and shops. The staff was very friendly and honored an early check in as well as a late check out which was greatly appreciated. Overall I would recommend this hotel to families looking for a fun place to hang out on the beach or for the couple who just wants to get away for a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

The lobby is nice, however, the people working the desk are not. The lobby and their outside seating areas smell like gas due to their use of tiki lamps, and it doesn't seem to bother them, but it bothered me enough to have to go back to my room. The rooms are OK, the sliding door was so hard to open we almost got stuck outside on the balcony, the bottom drawer wouldn't close because it was stuck on the drawer above it and the rooms are on the small side. The cleaning staff disturbed us four times the day we were checking out. The room rate that Orbitz quotes is for a room looking over the parking lot. We asked for another room and after an additional cost they gave us a room, which we could see the ocean, but overlooked the roof. It felt like a Motel 6 and I do not recommend it. Enjoy yourself somewhere else. My suggestion is not to stay on Jacksonville Beach at all. It's kind of dumpy.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the rooms facing the parking lot or over the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann56432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If possible, I always prefer to stay at a property with an ocean view. There is only one Marriott property, other than the Ritz Carlton, in Jacksonville with an ocean view. We arrived at the hotel at 11:30pm tired from a long day of Christmas holiday traffic. There were limited options for dining, the local take out closed by mid night. The night desk service was helpful, and while she tried, could not increase options for late night dining.

However what I will always remember about this stay is the disruptive coughing through the night of the traveler next door; yes, I could hear him all night and the children when they woke in the morning. When I mentioned it to the front desk clerk at checkout, she said that it was because the room had adjoining doors and there was nothing they could do about it. While the sunrise over the Atlantic was beautiful, it could not compensate for sleep deprivation and we still had another full day of driving.

The hotel is located near US1 so we headed south for a scenic drive along the Florida shore.

Room Tip: Dont get a room that adjoins -- the acoustics can ruin your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. Spend the extra $ on the oceanfront room - I still don't understand why anyone would stay at a resort like this with a view of the parking lot. The beach is clean and gorgeous and looks/sounds amazing from the room. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained.

At night the hotel was extremely quiet (which meant everyone slept by 10pm), all we heard were the waves crashing into the shoreline. However, that slowly changed as people started waking up. We could hear conversations taking place in the rooms next to us and in the hallway - wasn't great for sleeping in. BUT...many hotels are like that so we understand. Best option is to leave your sliding door cracked while you sleep to make the waves drown out the talking!

Overall a nice stay. We would have liked lunch/dinner options...that would have made me rate it closer to 5. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront...only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, I was visiting family and they came over everyday we all sat around the lounge and the pool so friendly and spotless loved it my best holiday this year, They don't serve evening meals but a great breakfast is on offer. We just went to local bar for food at night.

Room Tip: the hotel was full so couldn't get sea view and the beach is stuning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lots of good stuff to say about this hotel. It was nice and clean, nicely decorated, great staff, and full service breakfast buffet. It's right on the ocean and worth paying the extra for an ocean front room. The pool area was really nice although i didn't spend much time there, and they have a really nice firepit for relaxing in the evening and listenting to the ocean. They have tempurpedic beds here. I know some people love them, I don't. That's the only thing I didn't like, but that's personal preference.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonnagallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments; and we look forward to having you stay again at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had an oceanfront room on the 5th floor and our balcony was like a ringside seat to watch the show. When the Navy's Blue Angels flew over and beside the hotel as part of the show's finale, well, it just couldn't get much better!

Beach hotels have always been among our favorites, and this one did not disappoint. The morning breakfast was just what we needed. They don't serve dinner, so we ordered delivery pizza from the Mellow Mushroom, one of Jacksonville's favorite pizza restaurants, which arrived in about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are accessed from an air conditioned hallway. Other oceanfront rooms are accesse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichmondRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,580 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,107 reviews
1.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
855 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#7 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 1st St N, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-7409 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range: $144 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront offers spacious and comfortable guest rooms for you to enjoy, along with the many amenities and proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel's location is just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes from some of the best shopping in the area. Jacksonville Beach, Florida is a great destination for business travelers and family vacationers. All types of guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty of the place from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you visit Jacksonville Beach, FL. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless Internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with an ocean view. Relax in our oceanfront heated outdoor pool and our whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental offers surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs, and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing