We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business or pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for business or pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lots of good stuff to say about this hotel. It was nice and clean, nicely decorated, great staff, and full service breakfast buffet. It's right on the ocean and worth paying the extra for an ocean front room. The pool area was really nice although i didn't spend much time there, and they have a really nice firepit for relaxing in the evening and listenting to the ocean. They have tempurpedic beds here. I know some people love them, I don't. That's the only thing I didn't like, but that's personal preference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonnagallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments; and we look forward to having you stay again at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    148
    47
    20
    10
See reviews for
164
125
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had an oceanfront room on the 5th floor and our balcony was like a ringside seat to watch the show. When the Navy's Blue Angels flew over and beside the hotel as part of the show's finale, well, it just couldn't get much better!

Beach hotels have always been among our favorites, and this one did not disappoint. The morning breakfast was just what we needed. They don't serve dinner, so we ordered delivery pizza from the Mellow Mushroom, one of Jacksonville's favorite pizza restaurants, which arrived in about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are accessed from an air conditioned hallway. Other oceanfront rooms are accesse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation Key
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Air show off the balcony, no 2 night min required, staff even managed to pull off a wedding in front of the Blue Angels Air Show. Made it all look normal and routine! Clean room, great view of the ocean, fridge, microwave in room. Great spot!

I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtraininjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Air show is always a huge drawl to stay at the beach. We understand they will be back in Jacksonville Beach in 2014. We look forward to seeing you back at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For several years my boyfriend and I make an annual Jax Beach visit in October and stay at One Ocean Resort (we stayed here when it was the Sea Turtle Inn too) but they were booked so we chose the Courtyard Mariott and we were not disappointed. This hotel does not have all the amenities that One Ocean offers but there are no added fees (parking, mini bar, resort fee). This hotel was so clean (kudos to the housekeeping department), the staff was friendly and professional, the pool bar stayed open rain or shine and it did rain 2 of the days we were there, and the breakfast buffet was good. Not to mention it is on the beach and we did have a room with a view. Great stay. Looks like next October.... we love you One Ocean ....but The Courtyard Mariott will probably see us again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elledee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We were thrilled to read you had such a great experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront. Thank you for taking the time to share all of your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We met here for a wedding and family reunion, and it was a great location! Loved that it was right on the beach. My uncle rented a separate room with a kitchen where we could gather for lunch and snacks and talking. The pool was lovely, and we enjoyed sitting around it and talking, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pursemustmatchshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments; we are look forward to having you stay with us again at the Courtyard by Marriott Oceanfront in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is average. but below average for a Marriott. No breakfast. No mini bar in room. Room towels are thin, but there is enough of then. Pillows are great.
Pool is nice. It is a older remolded builting. Which means thin walls.
Sunrise is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for the top 6 th floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MemaCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay. We welcome all feedback so that we can work on any issues to better serve our guests on a day to day basis. I did want to let you know that we do offer several different breakfast options including al a cart items all at a reasonable rate. We have also begun to stock a high quality towel due to comments we have been receiving from guest. I hope that when you return to the area we will have another opportunity to deliver those expectations and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthews,nc
Level Contributor
190 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I found the Marriot in Jacksonville to be one of the nicest beach resort hotel that I have ever stayed. The front desk was very frienly and helpful . The lounge was very accomindating for our group .
We also found the resturant breakfast was very good clean and had something for everyone.
We live about 400 miles away but want to go back. Are planning vacation there. rooms were clean and beds were very very comfortable. Love the pillows!
If I had to find a con about this hotel it would be that when we checked in the water was cut off until 4:oo about an hour for us. They had signs posted and said they were sorry but had to have some repairs and we understood.

Room Tip: rooms above pool might be a little loud , rooms over patio is best , all have nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeMatthews_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! Our staff takes great pride in our Oceanfront hotel and we strive to provide the best customer service to our guests. We again are sorry we had to turn off the water for a few hours, we unexpectedly found a leak and luckily were able to repair it before any major damage occurred. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott, and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 10 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 10 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
#6 of 10 in Jacksonville Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 10 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonvi...
#7 of 10 in Jacksonville Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Property: Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1617 1st St N, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-7409 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront)
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront has spacious and comfortable guestrooms for you to enjoy along with the many amenities and close proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes away from some of the best shopping in the area, Jacksonville Beach is a great destination for business travelers or the family vacationers. Guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you’re paying a visit to the Sands of Jacksonville Beach. Our hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with omelets cooked to order and an ocean view. Relax in the oceanfront heated outdoor pool and whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental has surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard
Jacksonville Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing